We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK - here for CNY - it's full and they are struggling to cope.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's OK - here for CNY - it's full and they are struggling to cope.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Here 2 rooms for in-laws and ourselves. Waited 2 hrs for room to be ready, no linen apparently. Then room was filled with smoke odour. Complained and after another 2 hrs got upgraded to adjoing rooms in the main building. This is great, but still struggling to get a light lunch, or decent dinner for the kids. Pool bar takes only cash(!) - sorry nowhere to put it in my trunks! Referred to as the banana bar, but no bananas there today for banana themed drinks.

In the restaurants tables everywhere are reserved, but no-one in them. Facilities all wonderful, decently looked after, staff (even management) are woeful! Especially considering that a night here is not cheap.

Simon

Room Tip: Complain - get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgl3sjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear dgl3sjm,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel and Country Club! Thank you very much for your review and comments about our property in 'The Abode of Peace'- it is exactly this that helps us to continuously improve and do better and we thoroughly appreciate your role in this!

We regret to hear some of your disappointing encounters during your arrival. Our team are dedicated in delivering memorable stay for all guests and therefore, it is important to us that we share your comments made, particularly about the smoke odor, the selection of food at restaurants for kids and the pool bar area; to the departments concern.

Nevertheless, we hope that you can still consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you

Best Regards,
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    313
    87
    26
    24
See reviews for
260
276
71
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Empire Hotel is without a doubt the best hotel in Brunei. From its palatial rooms, lobby (basically everything) right down to the Asprey-branded silverware and wide selection of activities, the Empire Hotel is a true jewel,

Location-wise, it is in Jerudong which is about a 20 minute drive from the center of BSB. It overlooks the sea which is a great setting for those looking for an escape from the madness of the city.

I entered the lobby and was awed by their floor to ceiling windows that must have been 4-floors high.

We were booked in their ocean double room which was located in another building. The room itself is very spacious, at 65 sq meters. The bathroom came with a tub and two sinks. Oddly enough, the room TV was still the tube type though this was not an issue. Generally speaking, the room did not wow us over like the lobby, but it was above average.

The hotel's buffer breakfast consisted of a large spread. All the standard breakfast items are there including sausages, pastries, fruits, salads, even dimsum as well as a selection of local breakfast items. It was held in one of the floors that overlooked the several-floor-high-windows in the main hall.

For me, the main highlight of the hotel though was not the room nor the breakfast buffet. It was rather the facilities. I stayed for one night so I wasn't able to explore everything. But what I saw was enough to impress. There are a couple of swimming pools, artificial lagoons where guests can do a bit of kayaking, classes which guests could take, bowling alleys, tennis/badminton courts and so much more. The "resort" area was so large that we didn't manage to cover the entire area during our stay. One of the oddities was a pool bar specially adapted to the Islamic rules in Brunei that served only juices, coffee or tea.

All this added up to a wonderful stay. My only regret is that I did not stay a bit longer. My suggestion is to stay here when in Brunei when you have at least 2 nights to spare,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ACCHua,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club and thank you for your kind comments about our hotel! The architecture of our hotel is indeed one of a kind and one surely needs to see it, to believe it.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and breakfast and the overall stay, although we hope that you will plan a longer stay with us in the future to experience other facilities and activities we have for our guests.

Thank you again and see you soon!

Best Regards,
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This has got to be the best possible hotel in Brunei.

Grand lobby, perfect facing for everyday sunset. If money's not a problem, go for the main building rooms, it's walking distance to the perfect swimming pool. Otherwise, if you happen to be staying at the Lagoon / Seaview buildings, then you can catch the buggy ride but sometimes you've got to wait for some 5-15mins. Could be the same time as walking over as well.

Breakfast used to be better but I find the fare to be a little less impressive nowadays.

Room Tip: Main building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear SporeSamseng,

Warm Greetings from Brunei! Thank you and we are pleased to hear your comments about our hotel.

The scale of this resort is indeed massive and it does take a while to go from one place to another. We take note on the comment made about our breakfast, as we continuously strive to improve our food quality.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to see you stay with us again.

The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Brunei. It's a real indulgence in glitz; built to demonstrate some of the opulence of Brunei.
It seems eerily empty at times, and you can walk the corridors without seeing a soul.
Note that apart from the on-site restaurants and a couple of boutique shops, there are absolutely no places to buy snacks, non-restaurant food, fruit, toiletries etc. The closest place is a 2.5km walk to the Jerudong village. There are however, some interesting walks along the shore and through parkland in the hotel grounds.
Apart from that, it has a restful, luxury vibe, and the rooms are huge and well-equipped - making for a guaranteed relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room with a sea view (the 'lake view' rooms don't provide t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Linus101,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel and Country Club! Thank you very much for your review and comments about our property in 'The Abode of Peace'- it is exactly this that helps us to continuously improve and do better and we thoroughly appreciate your role in this!

We are located a tad far from the town but you can take a ride from the public bus that comes around every day which is only B$1 per trip and stop points are mainly the commercial centers with supermarkets available.

We hope to see you come back and stay with us again.

Thank you
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This resort has the 'wow' factor. They don't build buildings like this anymore. We stayed here for 5 nights and and were more than happy. Rooms are large- 9ft ceilings & bathroom nearly the same size as main with separate shower room & toilet&bidet room, fullsized bath & double basins/vanity all in marble. The bed was king sized & quite comfortable. There are about 4 different room categories, this is how I would rate them - 1.west atrium, 2. east atrium, 3. seaveiw, 4. waterfall, 5. Nth&Sth Lagoon. Being in the Lagoon building, we had a small 51inch T.V and the fridge was not cold enough but other than that I cant't complain. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from and the Chinese restaurant was enjoyable. The pools are great, but the Riverpool & Kids pools were not in use due to renovations. As mentioned by others, the resort did seem empty at times and I think this is due to the fact that it caters more for conferences/functions rather than tourists which is a shame. In the Country club all activities have a fee, even table tennis! This is a very expensive resort i.e.coke $6.00 but if you have your own snacks/drinks, its manageable. We just enjoyed going for walks around the resort & the kids loved exploring the beach. Would recommend this hotel as it s just so unique/majestic.

Room Tip: The high tea is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear 747travel,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our property, we think it's a spectacular hotel and the surroundings are really quite unlike any other! We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and you and your family were particularly pleased with our breakfast and Li Gong Chinese restaurant.

We take note of your comment made about the fridge in the Lagoon building and will ensure this matter will be looked into. As for the TV, we are gradually revamping each room categories at the hotel. We had completed renovation with Deluxe, Suites and Villas earlier last year and will move forward to Ocean and Superior rooms very soon.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you stay with us again.

Thank you
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Empire Hotel is THE place to stay in Brunei. The hotel is large, grand and over the top. There’s not a lot to see or do in Brunei, so luckily the hotel, spa and pool can keep you entertained. It’s a good place for some nice pampering.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear PeanutButters,
Thank you for so much for your kind words about our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you liked our resort.

There's endless activities and facilities to explore at our hotel and we hope you will be able to experience these when you visit us again in the future!

Thank you
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Just too bad, could only stay for a night at this magnificent resort. The buffet breakfast was so so, if not for the zest to explore the resort, i would have had a problem paying for the room rate levied. the beach chairs eere empty of guests, probably its a weekday and any saner tourist to this part of the world would have opted to visit Bali, Phuket, Langkawi, Cebu, Koh Samui, Pahlawan, Lombok, even Pattaya for some added mischief. Ah, Brunei so pristine, pure and calm. Definitely the place to unwind in Bandar Sri Bengawan in Brunei. Located about 30 minutes away from downtown & 20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingwton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Wingwton,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club!

Thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel and Country Club soon.

Thank you
The Management
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,106 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
268 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
162 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing