We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is our third time here and we arevstaying for three weeks!

My 11 year old son and I just LOVE this place. The hotel is luxurious, the grounds like paradise and the people so warm and friendly! Everyone knows us and we feel so at home. We are always upgraded and end up with a HUGE suite with executive facilities!

My son makes friends with all the people who work at the E kids club and he goes off with them. Richard, the amazing manager of the kids club assigns staff to him and I don't even see him during the day! That leaves me free to sunbathe and catch up on all the books I don't get a chance to read at home!

Unlike many other countries, the people here are genuinely very nice. They don't pretend to be nice with e expectation of a huge tip at the end of it!

Yes, the shopping is rubbish in the hotel but if you venture out you will find that, despite their wealth, the shopping in Brunei is REALLY bad! I don't understand why this is the case but I have been to every mall and can't believe how bad it is!

The restaurants at The Empire are good, espe ially Spaghettini. If you have access to the executive floor then you have of choice of having breakfast in the main buffet restaurant or upstairs where there is a smaller buffet and waiters take your egg orders. There is also afternoon tea from 3-6 and cocktails with little bites between 6.00-7.30. These are all included in the package!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel either to families with younger children (teenagers may get bored) and of course honeymooners! It's a real gem and has so much to offer in so many ways!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade-if they can, they will definitely oblige!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear LondonGeorgia,

Thank you for taking your time to give a positive comment about our hotel and to share the wonderful experience you had with us recently.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed every moment spent here, and especially with your kids feeling comfortable and safe spending time with our friendly staff. We’re also glad you like our food particularly at Spaghettini and the breakfast provided at the E Club Lounge.

We thank you again for such feedback and we look forward to welcome you back again!

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi bin Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

This very nice hotel is like a castle. And their is a recent for that; it was build by one of the princes as a "guest house". The budget most have been unlimited - it ended up costing more than 1 billion USD! When you get inside you understand why; it has so much Italian marble and luxury.
This was subsequently turned into a hotel. We enjoyed "high tea" in the afternoon - you should consider that as well. They have a fantastic swimming pool and a nice cinema as well. Number of different restaurants. You will really enjoy this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is no doubt about the venue, its purely stunning and just right for a quiet get away. If you are looking for action and excitement this wont be the place for you.

The general facilities are in great shape, however the rooms have abviously seen better days. Pool and golfing course are stunning. Unfortunately the quality of food and service is not up to what I expect from a 5 start place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear MKger,
Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club. Here in Brunei, we thank you for your kind words about how amazing our property and facilities are.

We regret to hear that our food quality is not up to its standard. Our service team are truly dedicated in making sure that all guests’ experience is beyond expectations. Rest assure that we take all guests’ comments seriously and all feedbacks are reviewed and taken action accordingly by respective departments.

Thank you again for your time in giving us feedback and we hope to see you back again at our hotel!

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pros: luxurious, restful, lovely grounds, good service, decent breakfast, clean, comfortable, great bed.
Cons: requires transportation if wish to go out, service charge added to bill, no free Internet, limited choice of restaurants on site.
Overall great place for R & R if wish to just relax, play golf and stay mainly on site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Jason C,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club!
Thank you for your kind feedback and comments and we are pleased to hear that you
had overall felt relaxed and enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to have you back again and stay with us!

Thank you

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Service (besides the huge place) is what this place is all about. It is a huge place..with service being on the top of the list. My room was on the ground floor and the bedroom itself was well proportioned, the bathroom I have to say was huge ! at least the size of the bedroom. Nice touch is that they do provide a free non alcoholic mini bar. The bed itself was wonderful and comfortable with and this is the weird thing..a space either side of the bed of at least 600mm.
If you wanted to go to the clubhouse you had to get a buggy from the front of the hotel and it was called as and when required. There where times (I assume at peak times) when you do have to wait around for the buggy which in all honesty can be a bit off putting as it does get quite hot outside and standing around waiting is not the best thing in the world.
The pool areas outside looked wonderful, with a beech like affect, didn't take a dip though as it was too blustery but the overall landscape did look inviting.
Overall a great hotel experience and fantastic service from each member of staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear onetrubrit,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club! Thank you for your comments and appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed most of the facilities provided at the hotel. We are currently improving the buggy service within the hotel by introducing buggy shuttle service and hope that this will eliminate the long waits for our guests.

Thank you again for giving such nice comments on our property and the guest service and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in Lagoon suite for 5 nights. Moderate interior with bad flush and drain in bathroom. Terrible food and service in restaurant. I had to order couple cups of coffee simply 4 times for breakfast. Absolutely nothing to buy in shopping area.

Room Tip: no idea. not too much expectation may help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PLASTIK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear PLASTIK73,

Thank you for your brief feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had encountered bad experiences while staying with us.

Rest assured that all comments are being shared with the relevant departments and we strive to improve our quality service.

Shops are not available around the hotel however there’s public bus transportation which can conveniently takes you around town for only B$1 per trip.

Once again, thank you and we do hope you will consider coming back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My Brunei husband and I stayed here after the Brunei leg of our wedding celebrations. While the service was admittedly poor, and staff not very attentive, we had a lovely three night stay in one of the rooms overlooking the South China Sea.

While the hotel is located in a rather isolated area, a twenty minute drive from Bandar, this is part of its charm. It is an oasis of calm, somewhere to retreat and relax.

The hotel was just beautiful, pure luxury. Our room was very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the sea. I also had quite possible the best massage of my life at the spa. We also had a great time by the pool and on the beach area - probably the only spot in Brunei where it is safe to sunbathe and swim in the sea.

I would say the food is overpriced for its quality, although I was very happy with the new Chinese restaurant.

We hope to stay here again on our next visit to Brunei.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anak-Kucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Anak Kucing,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club! Thank you for your comments and we appreciate every feedback received as this will help us improve in service quality and standards.

The hotel is a little farther from town however there is a public bus that you can hop on to for just B$1 per person. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spa massages and the wonderful food spread at Li Gong restaurant. Our resort’s beach is indeed beautiful and secluded, perfect getaway for families and honeymooners too!

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you

Best Regards,

Haji Jaidi Haji Abd Sani
Acting General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,184 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
293 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
172 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
145 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: $188 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing