We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard hotel with ok restaurant, but no atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jeruton Hotel Sdn Bhd
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room was fine, though I was there for 4 nights and it wasn't cleaned til I asked them to do it on day 3. It is also 20km from the city centre, so unless you want to spend a fortune on taxis, the only place to eat is the hotel's restaurant, which isn't bad, but pretty soulless.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Wilfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've stayed in some pretty grotty places over the years and probably would have sucked it up and stayed here more than just the one night if there were fridges in the rooms. There is a strict no smoking/no drinking policy stated at the front desk and clearly the no drinking one was enforced by removing the fridges from the spots in the rooms where they clearly used to hide. There really isn't a terrible amount to do in Brunei at night and a few cold drinks taken into the country LEGALLY via duty free helps me through the nights. In a fit of sanctimonious rule-applying, this owners of this hotel have clearly said that they do not want any expat business. I had planned to stay for 9 nights, but checked out after one.

The good:

-The ladies at the front desk were lovely.
- Bed was comfortable enough and the sheets alright.
- Reasonably quiet and ample parking (don't even think about staying here without a car)
- Wifi worked, just.

The bad:

- My room was sprayed with air-freshener when I was approaching, once that wore off it was a bit stale.
- Bathroom floor was slippery, like someone took duck fat and just rubbed the floor down. Clearly hadn't seen a hot mop for a while.
- Hot water? No hot water for you!
- No drinking water supplied at all by hotel that I could find and clearly no glasses or cups/kettle or any of the other amenities one sort of expects at any hotel in Asia.
- Shower very poorly constructed so the water escapes the shower area and spills into the bathroom proper. But the floor was filthy, so maybe that was a design decision.
- Drain cover in bathroom missing so there is a 10 cm diameter hole in the floor.
- Saw roaches, not the big guys, but if you see just one when the lights are on there are sure to be about 1,000 others in the walls.

Yes, it is only B$40 per night but there are other places that welcome the expat business and are certainly in better locations (ie. Traders Inn).

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge in it, then look elsewhere when they say there aren't any with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a perfect choice if you are travel on budget. Hotel is cosy and clean. Parking spot available right in front of the hotel. Cafe is there too. The Jerudong beach is just 10 minutes away. Shopping mall is near.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RUBY21084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cheap and descent room if you're looking for one. Location is not so good since it is quite far from the nearest shopping. Small retail shops are nearby but you still need a car. Free wifi in the lobby, 1st and 2nd floor but only good if you're room is close to the centre of the building. There is no room service or elevator so you have to carry your own stuffs up the winding staircase.

Limited parking space for guest and there is no security to watch over the place. Overall this is what your expect from a cheap hotel. I would call it a Motel or Inn instead of hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Joe_Fuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

If u are short on cash n have friend who could drive u around town.This is d hotel for u.nothing much to offer just clean n tidy room n a restaurant which is ok at the lobby.Avoid it if u need taxi coz taxi fare will kill u in Brunei.otherwise nice cheap hotel B$58 per nite!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel sanitation was quite good, but the condition of amenities and supplies were in average scale. Food offered were considered as okay, not too bad. Room got many problems of electricity and water supplies.

Room Tip: check the room before officially entering and using the room, in case of electric problem or water s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RileyPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The room rate start at B$38 (twin sharing) and B$48.

Price exclude breakfast & no coffee making facilities in the room, but we could ask for hot water from their restaurant for free to boil instant noodle & coffee.

Free wifi, passphrase to ask from front office.

The hotel has no lift.

Friendly staffs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nooren07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
4.6 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#10 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
106 reviews
5.7 mi away
Venice Lodge
Venice Lodge
#5 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
15 reviews
7.8 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#17 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeruton Hotel Sdn Bhd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeruton Hotel Sdn Bhd

Address: Unit 1-12, Block C, Spg 396, Lot 6905 | Jln. Jerudong, Mukim Sengkurong, Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: $25 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeruton Hotel is a cosy boutique hotel in Brunei. We have altogether 96 clean, warm and comfortable rooms in a three level building. We offer top- notch stay at budget price. Each room has free Wi-Fi Internet access, split air conditioning, channel TV, shower facility and more. Choose from six different types of rooms. Our friendliness, good value services and cozy nature are the reason why guests return to us always. Jeruton Hotel is close to the famous amusement park named Jerudong Park, natural park Shahbandar and JPMC Medical Centre. By car Jeruton Hotel is only 16 minutes or 20km away from the airport and 20 minutes or 22 km away from city center Bandar Seri Begawan. Our two restaurants Jeruton Lounge (that serve local and Indonesian cuisine) and Munch Cafe N' Grill (that serve Indian and Western food) are also great meeting place to dine in serving delicious food in great friendly atmosphere. Come and try our yummy dishes at affordable prices today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jeruton Hotel Sdn Bhd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing