We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oude Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oude Wellington Estate
Ranked #7 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a very pleasant and restful place with highly original and enjoyable cuisine. The service in the restaurant was especially charming. The varied accommodations also impart a degree of flexibility

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 681Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for your stay and the time you spend on Oude Wellington. It was a pleasure to have you here and the staff send their regards.
Have a wonderful Christmas and a successful healthy new year ahaed
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door we felt, so welcome! The guest house is very relaxing and nice, our room was beautiful. The breakfast, was very good. The owener was friendly and give as a lot of information.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rudi & Monika U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guests
It was a pleasure to have had you and thank you for writing this nice comment about us. The team is pleased and happy to have their work and effort appreciated.
With our best regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A lovely rustic peaceful ambiance experienced at Oude Wellington. Very comfortable, clean & airy accommodation with a stunning bathroom! Breakfast was served by a welcoming & cheerful Lady Edith and fresh & scrumptious!
The Restaurant was a gastronomic treat with unbelievable choices... the best yet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Butch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write a note about Oude Wellington. I will pass on the compliments to the restaurant and the whole team that cares for our guests.
With kind regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

overall it was very good, except for no TV for a while. it was fixed much later.
the limited channels that were available, were not impressive.
I love your beautiful antique rooms! will stay there again when I visit Wellington.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. We are having endless problems with Top TV. As a digital service provider they are supposed to provide a 24/7 availability, but the decoders often just switch themselves of and it takes annoying long time to have the service reconnected after many security questions and computerized answering systems. It is of course not the guests problem and we apologize for the inconvenience. Over and above that TopTV reduced the channel choice to only 26 channels the service is indeed not impressive. If these kind of problems continue we will migrate to DSTV, which we presently offer additionally in the lounge area to also provide for the rugby fans. So next time you come we hopefully have more and better TV choices available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

No TV spoiled my weekend. Was planning on spending the predicted cold morning in bed watching the Springboks in New Zealand. Not to be. The owner switches off the TV when he leaves (June apparently). So thumbs down for false advertising. Had to leave early to find place in town to watch rugby.
Restaurant food and service excellent as usual, even though we were the only customers

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guest
my sincere apologies. I am fully guilty of that. I had downgraded the DSTV's premium channel during winter. The rooms now have Top-TV with own decoders and in the lounge an additional DSTV on a big-screen TV. I hope the rugby fans will accept my apologies and return. I will supply a six-pack of Castle to support the effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

on arrival the room smelt closed up-it should of been aired out first (though there was a last minute change of room, even though I had advised we were friends and not a couple). We also felt there was no clear indication of how things worked i.e. when would we get our complimentary wine, how the champagne tasting would work (we don't drink brandy and were offered a champagne tasting) then there was only 1 type of champagne which came from our rooms fridge... There was no wine price list. Our hosts were very friendly and hospitable however.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for your review and the honest statement. One gets routined with checking in guests and sometimes forgets that each person needs to know all what is available and on offer. Thank you for reminding us. We will make an effort to explain better in future. Our wines are all but sold out, which it should before next years harvest. Being a small producer we only have one MCC and three potstill brandies. Your stay was a bit derailed by last minute room change, which was therefore not freshened up and a limited choice of complimentary tasting choices. Can we make it up to you by inviting you to a more extensive wine tasting with wines of our area? Please let us know well in advance when you are coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was indeed a very pleasant stay at Olde Wellington. Tried their pot still brandy - Fabulous!!! Great to see the heritage still in tact. Wish we had more time to explore. The hostess and children were charming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your very positive review. Of course we love good compliments. It makes a good day better and motivates the team to do their best to make all our guest welcome and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
6.0 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 24 in Wellington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diemersfontein Country House
Diemersfontein Country House
#5 of 24 in Wellington
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
5 Mountains Lodge
5 Mountains Lodge
#10 of 24 in Wellington
47 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
#4 of 24 in Wellington
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Wellington Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Wellington Estate

Address: Bainskloof Road R301/303, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $66 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Wellington Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Wellington is a Boutique Wine and Brandy Estate. Imagine Cape Dutch thatched buildings with thick walls and terracotta hand-formed tiles. Modern amenities like air-conditioning combined with rustique wood and Victorian style bathrooms. Free standing bathtubs with lion claw feet and flat-screen TV, DVD. Bath-robes, horse riding, walks, nature, wine tastings and an ala carte restaurant. Only 50 Minutes away from most attractions like the 2 oceans, Table mountain, Franshoek, Stellenbosch. Oude Wellington is truly in the centre of the winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oude Wellington Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing