We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway for Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oude Wellington Estate
Ranked #7 of 23 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A charming combination of past and present in a perfect setting with direct contact to a hands-on owner. Clean, good food, excellent wine and brandy making on site and ample hiking and cycling opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you liked it and enjoyed your stay "all around"

With kind regards

Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Oude Wellington Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beautiful authentic winery just outside the town of Wellington. The whole is very atmospheric, it really feels like staying on the farm. There are 2 dogs, Shakira and Angel and both are very sweet and enthusiastic. The restaurant is located on sit, but is separate from the Estate. The food there is good. Nothing to complain about, but it is simple. The rooms are very authentic, matching the atmosphere. Yet the rooms have modern amenities such as air conditioning and underfloor heating! Do you really have the atmosphere of the ancient wine region then you've come to your place, Stellenbosch and surroundings are very 'posh'. Do you want more luxury, then you should not be here

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for your effort to write a comment and give us the feedback that we need to improve or encourage the direction we are heading to. The diversity of comments and impressions in all of the trip advisors contributions will hopefully guide readers. I feel that your comments are particular descriptive and help full to future guests. We like your grading as authentic and not posh.
At present we are busy to upgrade the restaurant with more adventurous food.
Thank you for your time and your kind words.
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent a night at Oude Wellington Estate, and wished we had a whole week there. It is absolutely charming, an old Cape Dutch style cluster of houses and outbuildings situated in the most tranquil of settings. The horses graze peacefully on the meadow in front of the house, and you can just feel the stress fading away as you enjoy your meal and engage with the friendly staff and the owner. The wine and brandy produced on the estate is delicious and we obviously brought home plenty :-). We will definitely stay at Oude Wellington again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for your kind words. It is for guests like yourselfs that makes one enjoy the business so much more. Critical comments to keep us on our toes are important, but so is a kind word from time So thank you and welcome again any time
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had we paid under R600 for the room, we would have been largely satisfied with the room. It did not have a double bed as requested - for a couples night away I want to be able to sleep comfortably with my husband. Cheap toiletries in cheap dispensers that didn't work. Terrible service - the owner was patronising and unapologetic when I mentioned the twin beds. We sat outside for over half-an-hour before anyone approached us about breakfast, despite making our presence known. Eventually we were served by a scruffy, charmless young woman. It wasn't worth the wait either - smallest rashers of bacon I have ever seen, poor quality bread etc. We did not go expecting a slick, modern venue but rather something old, cozy and charming. It did not live up to expectations at all. The owners need to visit other establishments that charge the same rates so that they understand the market better. EIther pull your socks up or drop your rates!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for writing your impressions about Oude Wellington. We have taken note and immediately followed up on the points you made. The dispensers in the bathrooms are made of heavy duty solid acrylic glass chosen purposely over glass for safety reasons and are indeed functioning flawlessly. We buy our amenities from Pure Tranquility Hotel Guest Amenities and chose the upmarket Terra Firma range, well known for quality in the industry. The owner Sally is personally advising us. We prefer the dispensers over individually wrapped little packages (but have them on request) to keep packaging waste to a minimum.
At breakfast time you came right after a large family so your hot order took a bit longer, but meanwhile the buffet with 3 choices of bread, cold cut meats, 3 choices of cheeses and a variety of cereals and juices was on offer as well.
I could not be of much help for the rooms you had been placed in as, although you had booked early you got the last two rooms. The already mentioned large family had booked even earlier and had all the rooms with double beds and happened to be in front of you again at the breakfast. We are certainly not skimpy with food. If you like more feel free to order as much as you like.
It is our policy to try to make you a happy guest and if it didn't work the first time then maybe the next time. So please be our guest again free of charge and we promise to live up to your expectations.
With kind regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Satisfactory stay was had , beautiful setting and surroundings, unfortuanately it was a bit far from the Bien Donne Agric show we where attending and the meetings we had.
The food was good and well prepared ,rooms where neat and tidy however the hotel needs to look at getting showers installed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for your review. Bienne Donne is indeed in Paarl and we are on the other side of Wellington which make it quite a journey to get there. Allthough Paarl and Wellington are connected as one larger urban area it is still quite a drive from one end to the other. Phone ahead to avoid disappointment and we will direct you to where you would like to travel from here. Remains to say thank you for staying and I am glad you liked your stay nevertheless and could enjoy the country side.
Have a nice day
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a lovely time during our stay and would stay over again for sure! The restaurant, our room, the surroundings, service, breakfast, everything was just perfect. Beautiful venue with a breathraking view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 733SusanB733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about Oude Wellington. We enjoyed your company too.
With kind regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed as a family of 6 for 2 days. The lady whom assisted with the bookings was very helpful in making extra effort with regards to our sleeping arrangements. The rooms were clean, well kept with lovely white, welcoming linen. Lovely pool area, breakfast included. Rooms had necessary amenities such as towels, hair dryer, bar fridge, tv. The noise does come through from next door a bit. Very peaceful, quiet setting amongst some vineyards. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank MayvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for staying on Oude Wellington. You were guests we enjoyed having.
We are looking forward seeing you again
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.5 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 23 in Wellington
224 reviews
23.2 mi away
19th Hole Golf Villa
19th Hole Golf Villa
#2 of 17 in Worcester
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 23 in Wellington
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
5 Mountains Lodge
5 Mountains Lodge
#8 of 23 in Wellington
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lady Loch Country House
Lady Loch Country House
#4 of 23 in Wellington
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Wellington Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Wellington Estate

Address: Bainskloof, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $69 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Wellington Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Wellington is a Boutique Wine and Brandy Estate. Imagine Cape Dutch thatched buildings with thick walls and terracotta hand-formed tiles. Modern amenities like air-conditioning combined with rustique wood and Victorian style bathrooms. Free standing bathtubs with lion claw feet and flat-screen TV, DVD. Bath-robes, horse riding, walks, nature, wine tastings and an ala carte restaurant. Only 50 Minutes away from most attractions like the 2 oceans, Table mountain, Franshoek, Stellenbosch. Oude Wellington is truly in the centre of the winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oude Wellington Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing