We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bienne Donne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oude Wellington Estate
Ranked #7 of 25 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Satisfactory stay was had , beautiful setting and surroundings, unfortuanately it was a bit far from the Bien Donne Agric show we where attending and the meetings we had.
The food was good and well prepared ,rooms where neat and tidy however the hotel needs to look at getting showers installed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for your review. Bienne Donne is indeed in Paarl and we are on the other side of Wellington which make it quite a journey to get there. Allthough Paarl and Wellington are connected as one larger urban area it is still quite a drive from one end to the other. Phone ahead to avoid disappointment and we will direct you to where you would like to travel from here. Remains to say thank you for staying and I am glad you liked your stay nevertheless and could enjoy the country side.
Have a nice day
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a lovely time during our stay and would stay over again for sure! The restaurant, our room, the surroundings, service, breakfast, everything was just perfect. Beautiful venue with a breathraking view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 733SusanB733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about Oude Wellington. We enjoyed your company too.
With kind regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed as a family of 6 for 2 days. The lady whom assisted with the bookings was very helpful in making extra effort with regards to our sleeping arrangements. The rooms were clean, well kept with lovely white, welcoming linen. Lovely pool area, breakfast included. Rooms had necessary amenities such as towels, hair dryer, bar fridge, tv. The noise does come through from next door a bit. Very peaceful, quiet setting amongst some vineyards. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank MayvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you for staying on Oude Wellington. You were guests we enjoyed having.
We are looking forward seeing you again
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

my stay at the hotel was brief, 1 night, 2 days... we left in a great hurry on the Sunday, didnt bother to have breakfast. the owners were not interested in us during our stay, they had 2 middle sized dogs attacking ourselves and our children, needless to say we couldnt enjoy the surroundings at all, we were trapped in our room for most of the weekend, too scared to walk and enjoy nature. not once during our Saturday relaxing at the pool, did anyone offer us drinks, or snacks...etc. the owners and the restaurant operate seperately...was dreadfull !!!! the man-owner was so miserable, not greeting and really quite rude. Our weekend there was a huge mistake....very very bad...!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rawena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guest
It is always helpful to hear what makes guests happy or unhappy while staying. So thank you first and foremost for being frank and telling what you did not like so other guests get to profit from your experience. My sincere apologies if I came across as unfriendly and not caring it is neither my character or is my intention. We are a working wine farm and while we harvest and produce I probably was less attentive then you rightfully expected.
The three female dogs are Angel a black old Labrador who likes barking, a young crossbreed German Shepard named Shakira who would rather lick you to “death” then harm you and a cute little Husky puppy by the name of Crystal. All of them love barking and rushing towards people. Crystal loves to play and has needle sharp puppy teeth though. Dogs are a part of farm live and are multitasking as watchdog – lapdog – doorstopper and welcome committee. All three are friendly and after having sniffed your presence will walk with you, love to be cuddled and be given attention. In the evening though they are on high alert and rush at any “intruder” until they recognize the guests, this you may felt threatening or causing you concern for your child. When noticing your child being afraid of the dogs the receptionist Edith locked them upstairs from evening till after breakfast time so your little girl did not need to be frightened. We accompanied your child to the breakfast room and back to comfort her even more, despite the dogs not being there.
I don’t know what else to do to prevent the dogs from doing “their job”. My farm has dogs, birds, cats, peacocks and horses and I do apologise on their behalf and wish you could forgive them for having spoiled your weekend.
The restaurant is indeed a separate business. The swimming pool is only meters away from it for ordering snacks or drinks to be served at the pool, The staff would not bother you unasked while you are at the pool reading or sunbathing.
Please return for a better experience on the house and I promise our dogs at their best behaviour. I will personally show you our distilling and wine making with a free wine tasting at the end.
Yours friendly Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a fabulous stay my husband and I had at this beautiful spot. The wine, food, scenery and hospitality were top notch. If you are traveling to the area and want time to enjoy the beauty of this region, please check this B&B out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your kind words and having enjoyed your stay with us.
With kind regards

Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had little sleep, on account of the television in the next room (occupied by the owner) being audible for much of the night, not to mention the lonely peacock, and wedding party.
The pool was unusable after the wedding party, due to some high jinks. Absolutely the opposite of what we needed after arriving on the long-haulflight from the UK.

Room Tip: Check there is not a wedding party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

I only today detected the possibility of an answer to guests positive and negative comments about oude Wellingtond. Here is what I wrote after hearing the guests did not enjoy their stay.

Thank you for the forwarding of the guests e-mail. I do remember the family. They stayed in room 1 which shares a rather thin wall to my own bedroom. Unfortunately on the same day we had a group of young guests attending a wedding at a neighbouring farm and they were not easy to keep quiet. I had to intervene a few times after dark and move them to a further away area to not disturb more guests. We apologized to the guests the next morning, but not having had a good night sleep they were not very happy. Again my sincerest apologies as I am to blame for the TV. I was up most of that night not feeling well besides having to deal with the other crowd. I don't hear the peacocks, guinea fowls and Hadidas anymore and may have become less sensitive to the noise they make.

My sincere apologies for the misfortune and if it is any consolidation I would reimburse the second night to compensate for their sleepless night in Wellington.

With kind regards

Rolf Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Friendly staff, the rooms were very clean and charming, there is a lovely pool area (much needed in the heat of Wellington!) and especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the mornings! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudewellington, Owner at Oude Wellington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you very much for recommending oude Wellington and having enjoyed your stay. My staff was very pleased to receive some recognition for all their effort.

With kind regards
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
2.8 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 25 in Wellington
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#2 of 25 in Wellington
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lady Loch Country House
Lady Loch Country House
#4 of 25 in Wellington
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
5 Mountains Lodge
5 Mountains Lodge
#11 of 25 in Wellington
47 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Ons Stee
B&B Ons Stee
#12 of 25 in Wellington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Wellington Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Wellington Estate

Address: Bainskloof Road R301/303, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $73 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Wellington Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Wellington is a Boutique Wine and Brandy Estate. Imagine Cape Dutch thatched buildings with thick walls and terracotta hand-formed tiles. Modern amenities like air-conditioning combined with rustique wood and Victorian style bathrooms. Free standing bathtubs with lion claw feet and flat-screen TV, DVD. Bath-robes, horse riding, walks, nature, wine tastings and an ala carte restaurant. Only 50 Minutes away from most attractions like the 2 oceans, Table mountain, Franshoek, Stellenbosch. Oude Wellington is truly in the centre of the winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Oude Wellington Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing