We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diemersfontein Country House
Ranked #6 of 23 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“almost charming”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The estate is beautiful and situated close to Cape Town and various other wine farms. We stayed in the "bridal suite" which was supposed to be the most spacious and most luxurious. The room was large and richly decorated but not at all well maintained. The carpets were very dirty and the previous guest's shoes were left next to the side table! There was also hair on the vanity which gave me the idea they were NOT BIG ON CLEANING!

The "gourmet" restaurant has a limited menu and average food. The estate has some lovely wines and is definitely worth visiting for wine tasting. I would however not recommend you spend the night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiavG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeidreT, Public Relations Manager at Diemersfontein Country House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear 'Almost Charming'

Thank you for your review of the Diemersfontein Country House, I appreciate your comments. I am very concerned about the poor state in which you found your room, and I confirm that I will have a strong discussion with the head of our housekeeping team as to why the room was not in the best condition to welcome you. In addition, I have tasked the maintenance team to urgently work on the maintenance of the room you mention, as well as to go through the rest of the rooms on the property so that such an incident does not happen again the in future.

With regards to Seasons Restaurant, we shared your concerns about the limited menu, and have in the past month made the following positive changes:
The Restaurant has had a complete look/decor make over
It will be under new management as of 1 June, and the new chef/manager coming on board is already working with our team on a new and exciting menu.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Diemersfontein again in the future.

Kind Regards
Deidre Taylor
Marketing Manager
Diemersfontein Wine & Country Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    53
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
90
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Thankyou to David Sonnenberg and his wonderful staff for a delightful two night stay. We stepped back in time in our bedroom in Manor House into a forgotten but still gracious and elegant era. We could feel the warmth of the past and present owners in this amazing home. How generous to open your home to other people to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Manor House if you enjoy elegance and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in a garden room at the rear of the property on their winter deal which worked out at £55 pp for two nights. For this price it is excellent value. The wine is lovely and staff are great. We ate on site and found that the menu is a little limited as it is the same for lunch and dinner and is not very big. Having said that the food that was produced was excellent and we loved all the meals we had. Breakfast is great and lovely sitting outside overlooking the valley. The grounds are lovely but the pool is a little off putting at first as althougth the water is clear and obviously fresh the bottom of the pool is green, from the trees and vegetation dropping bits in, staying at other places that have a similar pool surrounding, their pools were still spotless. I left with the felling that the vineyard is still mainly geared up for people visiting for a few hours to taste the wine and have a spot of lunch. A little work needed to emulate Franschoek accomodations but a good start and well on the way. Taking all of this into account we loved our stay and would reccomend going if you are fan of their excellent wines

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here with two girl friends from college last week on our way to safari. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the staff was incredibly sweet and efficient. We checked in 15 minutes before the tasting room closed, and without our asking they kept it open an additional half hour so we could sample all the wines. (Wine tasting comes free for overnight guests). Our favorite was “For the Birds” it was a delicious white wine and I’m kicking myself for not buying a bottle. The rooms are cute and air conditioned. As another reviewer said, the breakfast is amazing. It’s a full English breakfast and you can sit on the patio enjoying the view of the vineyard…simply divine. I traveled with two college friends and would stay here again. They won “Best Wedding Venue” in 2007 and given the scenery I believe it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here after a wedding in Wellington, checked in VERY late (about 02:30), but still had no problem, all the staff knew we were comming and showed us to our room.

Only 1 bad thing, we had twin beds on a very slippery wooden floor, so it kept slipping apart, but I am sure you can ask for a double bed instead.

Breakfast is included in the price and it is worth staying for, but the best for last: The views is what makes this place woth it, amazing wine farm setting!!

Room Tip: Any room to the right of the Main house...view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viljoen_Chris-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Friendly and helpfull staff at the restaurant who produced excellent meals. We found the accommodation in Room 2 at the manor house not quite up to the 4star rating the guesthouse displays. Our first night no milk( in any form) or sugar in the room. Toilet paper was not supplemented on day 2 and the guest shower light was not working. The washbasin also had unsightly cracks, not befitting a 4* rating.Room could do with a new decent duvet. Window above the door leading onto the passage could not close or be covered, affording no privacy.
Lighting a fire in the fireplace in the lounge smoked out the entire lounge area .

Room Tip: Not room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentzhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed here over Christmas because we loved the pinotage. Our first (garden) room was very run down and there were lots of animals running around in the ceiling. First thing we did on Christmas day was move rooms. Still in the garden and still badly in need of investment but no evidence of animals. It's such a shame because it's a lovely spot and we enjoyed the restaurant and the people were lovely. The pool was unusable while we were there as the filters had broken. the facilities (ie the pool etc) are also shared with people who live in the houses that have been built on the site. There are much better places to stay in South Africa, but do enjoy the pinotage

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reef-bore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
4.1 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
4.9 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
3.4 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 23 in Wellington
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lady Loch Country House
Lady Loch Country House
#4 of 23 in Wellington
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Au d'Hex Estate
Au d'Hex Estate
#9 of 23 in Wellington
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diemersfontein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diemersfontein Country House

Property: Diemersfontein Country House
Address: Thokozani at Diemersfontein | Jan van Riebeck Drive, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diemersfontein Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star guest house in the heart of the Boland Wine area. Diemersfontein Country House is the perfect location for visiting local wineries and enjoying the beauty and tranquility that the Cape Winelands has to offer. Guests can enjoy at great meal at the restaurant, or a long walk in the vineyards followed by a wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Diemersfontein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing