We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the rest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Dedale Country House
Ranked #1 of 25 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a lovely place! We loved everything about itThe beautiful decorated house, the fantastic veranda, the horses, nature and 5 star treatment made it the best hotel we ever visited in S.A. Only thing we didn't like was leaving so soon...Thank you to all who made our stay so great. See you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are just so beautiful but next time we will definately stay in the rooms in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Brenda,

thank you for your review and kind words.
Firstly we must apology for the late response but we discovered that our page was duplicated and we have missed some reviews; Trip Advisor were quick to respond to our issue and we now have only one Grand Dédale Country House.
We are glad that you rated us the best hotel ever visited in South Africa and we are happy to announce that last September we were awarded the Lilizela Tourism Award as the best 5* Country House in the Country.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 308 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

A two night, three day breakaway in the Cape's winter. Although our hosts were happy to tell us about places to go etc(and there is a great deal), all we wanted to do was relax, take in the pure clean air and recharge our batteries. The attention to detail was amazing from the room, to the food, to the conversations. Our hosts were unobtrusive, but at hand when needed. a leisurely walk along the river bank followed by some reading whilst sipping wine is not to be scoffed at.Wine tasting at the Doolhof winery on the premises and a light lunch(excellent salads) prepared us for a culinary delight in the evening.
And if your a hiking or mountain bike enthusiast- wow.
Thank you Angelo & Tina

Room Tip: The Anne Barnard room was allocated to us but I don't think it is relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 153AFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear T and M,

thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad that you managed to achieve what you set out to do, just relax, take in all the goods that our unspoiled valley offers and recharge your battery.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards from the Grand Dédale Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I treated ourselves to a weekend away and couldn't have chosen a better guesthouse. The rooms were exceptionally appointed with no TV's and limited cell phone coverage which was great! Dinners were a 3 course event with cheese to finish and canapé's and bubbly to start. Lovely walks and mountain biking trails around the farm.

Room Tip: Rather don't pick the loft rooms if you are particularly tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are very glad that you have enjoyed the weekend with us. New TGCSA standards for 5 stars Country Houses however requires plasma TV in the rooms as of October and therefore on your next visit we would have added an this facility in every bedroom. The style of the room will not be spoiled or altered though as the plasma screens will be hidden inside vintage cabinets matching the individual style of each room.

Kindest regards from the Grand Dédale Country House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a blissful two nights in this secluded, peaceful and luxurious piece of Cape heaven. Off the usual tourist routes but authentically winelands! Five well earned stars, attention to detail and incredible, understated service in a stunning setting and beautifully appointed boutique country house. Don't expect anything touristy, but do expect absolute indulgence of all your senses and a completely stress free pampering!

Definitely be returning, especially given the incredible winter specials!

Thanks to Angelo, Tina and Brighton for a truly special experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renée J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and I was glad to read that you both felt absolutely indulgenced and that our pampering did not create any stress during your short visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Team at Grand Dédale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a place. Great setting and accommodation with exceptional service. Food is exceptional and the wine tasting was very memorable. Wish we could have stayed longer. Wellington is not great but this destination is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 151franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedale, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality. We are actively involved with the Wellington Tourism office and we hope that on your next visit you will find the town a bit more interesting. For some tips you might want to read our "15 things to in Wellington" suggestions http://www.granddedale.com/winelands-accommodation/activities/15-things-to-do-in-wellington.php

Kindest regards from the Cape Winelands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I were there for our anniversary and felt pampered from beginning to end. What a luxurious place. The food was excellent and plentiful. The setting is tranquil and restful. We took a lovely walk along the river and in the Labyrinth. A wine tasting was included in our stay and we were most impressed.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and the spa is by arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDedale, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we hope we don't have to wait until your next anniversary to spoil and pamper you. Any occasion is a good excuse to escape to our valley.

Kindest regards from the Cape Winelands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

WE had the very good fortune of staying at Grand Dedale this past Saturday for a friends birthday - WOW - absolutely stunning. The staff were amazing, the setting, the food - the stunning rooms...the only problem I had was that I couldnt stay longer (: Well done and thank you for sharing your peice of paradise with us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniellaOosthuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
8.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
2.1 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#2 of 25 in Wellington
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lady Loch Country House
Lady Loch Country House
#4 of 25 in Wellington
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
5 Mountains Lodge
5 Mountains Lodge
#11 of 25 in Wellington
47 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Ons Stee
B&B Ons Stee
#12 of 25 in Wellington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dedale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dedale Country House

Address: The Bovlei | Doolhof Wine Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $227 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Dedale Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Manor House on Doolhof Wine Estate has recently been restored to its former Cape Dutch elegance and houses six luxurious en-suite bedrooms and one free standing cottage. Spacious entertainment areas and landscaped gardens with a 15 meter pool guarantee relaxation. The 380 hectares of land are ideal for outdoor activities. Wine tasting, restaurant, function and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Dedale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dedale Country House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing