We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place like a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Dedale Country House
Ranked #1 of 23 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our second time at Grand De Dale and hopefully not our last. The location is beautifull, the rooms are fantastic, the service and the food is excellent. We enjoyed every moment of our stay there.
Without restriction of any kind we can recommend this luxury and lovely place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Grand Dedale Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

As we all know the word luxury is very much overused, particularly in the hotel sector. So buyer beware.
Not so at Grand Dedale country house in the stunning vineyard and mountain scenery near Wellington a two hour drive from Capetown, South Africa. This is what true luxury is all about.
We've just had a magnificent week there in the comfort and sophisticated interiors of this (definitely) five star establishment.
Angelo and Tina who have a lifetime in the hospitality business and certainly have the service ethic run it with a dedicated local staff. The whole operation works like clockwork.
Dinner service was leisurely at times but we weren't going anywhere anyway, were we?
And the carpet in our room needed a good shampoo but that is just to be too picky.
We have booked for next year.

Room Tip: When you can drag yourself away from the hotel have Dinner at Twist a short drive away. Really adven...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first stop from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and it set a very high standard!
Tina and Angelo welcomed us and showed us to our fantastic room just off the reception area. The room and bathroom were very well appointed although it was odd having no door between them.

The pool area was glorious as was the pool. The lounge area was quiet and exclusive. Tea was fine but less extensive than we'd expected. It didn't matter as dinner was terrific. Our waiter, Brighton, was excellent.

Angelo was very helpful on our departure morning, recommending routes and places to stop as we continued our journey.

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to pool and reception. And that's what we got.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_and_Judy_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

There are so many wonderful places to stay in this World, that we rarely return to the same place, but Grand Dedale is one of the very few exceptions. It is beautifully located, and superbly run by husband and wife team Angelo and Tina, who strike the right balance between informal hospitality and efficient service. The house has been charmingly renovated and furnished, and the surrounding wine estate provides space to amble along river walks or wander through the vineyards. It is a peaceful and refreshing experience. Breakfasts are superb. I am hoping that Angelo will enhance the wine list with a more wines from other estates, though the Doolhof Malbec is certainly worth a try. This February we paid our second visit to Grand Dedale, and it will be hard for us to return to the Cape Winelands without going back yet again.

Room Tip: The only downside here is that a couple of the rooms have 'doorless' bathrooms, which is a f...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Dedale 2 days.
The personel was very friendly en the owners were very nice and helpfull.
If you want to have a great experience with good food and wine this is the place to be.
J.Smits & M.Vissers, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitsvissers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this nice and luxury lodge: Beautiful room, perfect service, excellent food and of course very good wines of their own winery. Nice and large swimming pool.
Very good value for money. 100 % satisfaction! We certainly wil go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDMDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a real treat to stay at the Grand Dedale country house. The stay was delightful and very comfortable. All our meals were lovely presented and delicious. We stayed in one of the luxury rooms which were very tastfully decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janinec338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
19.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
11.2 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
493 reviews
8.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 23 in Wellington
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
4.0 mi away
Au d'Hex Estate
Au d'Hex Estate
#9 of 23 in Wellington
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dedale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dedale Country House

Address: The Bovlei | Doolhof Wine Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $170 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Dedale Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Manor House on Doolhof Wine Estate has recently been restored to its former Cape Dutch elegance and houses six luxurious en-suite bedrooms and one free standing cottage. Spacious entertainment areas and landscaped gardens with a 15 meter pool guarantee relaxation. The 380 hectares of land are ideal for outdoor activities. Wine tasting, restaurant, function and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Dedale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dedale Country House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing