We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good a place as any to get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Dedale Country House
Ranked #1 of 23 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good a place as any to get away from it all”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Grand Dedale for two nights midweek in February - we booked hoping that we had found somewhere that was going to be the perfect place in the Winelands to unwind, and we couldn't believe our luck. Especially when we had the place to ourselves for the first night!

The guesthouse has been impeccably decorated, with particuar attention to detail in the rooms. The outside space, including the pool, is all in keeping with the beautiful decor.

The service was excellent, and the meals were another of the long list of highlights. I suppose I might have expected a slightly longer winelist - most of what's available are the Doolhof wines - but we enjoyed what we had with our dinner, all very well recommended by the staff.

Where Grand Dedale stands out I think is in having set themselves up a little off the beaten track (though still not difficult to find) - you can stay in similarly luxurious hotels in places like Franschoek (and pay a helluva lot more for the privilege), but I can't imagine anywhere can match the tranquility out there on the Doolhof Estate. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Grand Dedale - for what you get, it is incredibly good value; perhaps not ideal for young kids, but for those of us who'd managed to leave the kids with grandparents for a rare break, it was everything we wanted and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the downstairs suites are stunning and spacious, but so long as you don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
214
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We returned to Grand Dedale for 9 nights this January (having stayed for 6 the same time last year) and had another fantastic stay. The guest house was just as good as we remembered and it totally lived up to our memories and expectations second time around. We hardly left the house for the entire 9 days but we could never have bored of the fantastic food and lazy days in the sun! Thanks again to Tina, Angelo and all the team for making us feel so welcome. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great and very spacious. Suites are downstairs but you won't be disappointed with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Probably the most impressive renovation of a small country house we've experienced - anywhere. Decoratively, every detail has been considered and executed to perfection, and it takes no time to become aware that the warmth and efficiency of service is equally outstanding. The place looks so good, it could initially feel slightly intimidating, but the friendliness of Angelo, Tina and the staff immediately dispels any such feeling.

Our room (Lady Anne) was well-equipped and spotless. And the food at each of the meals was excellent.

Few places warrant an unqualified recommendation, but Grand Dedale is one!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This property is picture perfect with elegant tasteful interiors which could happily grace an upmarket glossy magazine specialising in the latest in good design. The chairs, tables, curtains – all the furnishings – many in delicate pastel shades were simply sumptuous. Grand Dedale is, without doubt, exquisite with immaculate white décor – a whiter shade of pale – and indeed, very beautiful but beauty can often come with a price tag to match.

The property is situated at the end of a fertile valley a few miles outside Wellington on the Doolhof wine estate and is approached along a 4km gravel road. We stayed in a loft room (The Groenberg) which was a long and rather narrow room. The room had an atmospheric thatch roof but with little direct natural daylight. Oddly, the main window looked out on the inside of the property across to another thatched roof – an opportunity missed I thought because, if the window had been built on the other side – then there would have been an outstanding view of the mountains.

Dining at Grand Dedale is without doubt an enjoyable experience - very gracious and very relaxed eating at tables set on the open air veranda. The cost of dinner was not unreasonable at 700 Rand for 2 plus wine. However, the cost of our loft room was 3000 Rand for 2 per night which I thought was somewhat overpriced. Nevertheless the hotel delivered a restful and tranquil experience.

However, if you want to treat yourself for a few days and be utterly spoilt and pampered in quiet elegant surroundings – then this peaceful haven could be for you. If your budget can take it – for 3750 Rand a night – I’d suggest a room on the ground floor of the main house (called elegant living on the website) for maximum pampering.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Its hard to find fault with Grand Dedale and it was truly 5* standard.

We received a warm welcome by Tina and Angelo, who, along with their team, offered fantastic hospitality throughout. Despite having to endure a heatwave and temperatures in their 40's, the whole environment was incredibly relaxing, although admittedly (and surprisingly) we were the only guests there at the time.

The property is extremely well designed (refurbed in '09 and the owner is an interior designer), smart, classy and clean, yet very comfortable. We stayed in the loft, in a superior room. It was incredibly spacious and comfortable and more so than appears on the website and a very relaxing lounging area upstairs as well.

The food was delicious, with a new set dinner menu every evening and which was preceded by canapes and a glass of champagne on the veranda. There are endless options for breakfast...it was just hard not to eat them all! For lunch there was a very nice small selection available. Then afternoon tea was accompanied by some mouthwatering cakes.

There's plenty to in the area and they have lots of suggestions but we went for the lazy option and did very little, other than to venture out for the stunning sunsets over the valley (15mins drive away), along with the nearby walks along the river and round the vineyard. Complimentary wine tasting is also available to guests. We didn't this, choosing instead to enjoy the wines at dinner and both recommendations were delicious.

All in all a great find and well worth the visit if you want to escape for a couple of days. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Since decades we travel SA and saw many 5* hotels and guest houses. The Grand Dedale deserves all 5 stars and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Angelo and Tina have been able to create a very special athmosphere by combining the charme of an old Cape Dutch Manour House with the elegance of the Mediterranean area. All rooms are furnished and decorated with loving attention to detail. The staff is professionally trained and very friendly. The cuisine is creative and using manly fresh local products. Many reasons to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africabaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I loved every minute of our stay and where especially impressed with Tina and Angelo. The service was outstanding and focussed on the smallest details. The Location is perfect and it's ideal to get away from the main stream tourism! I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safarionline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
19.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.4 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
20.0 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
24.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#3 of 23 in Wellington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dedale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dedale Country House

Property: Grand Dedale Country House
Address: The Bovlei | Doolhof Wine Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Dedale Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Manor House on Doolhof Wine Estate has recently been restored to its former Cape Dutch elegance and houses six luxurious en-suite bedrooms and one free standing cottage. Spacious entertainment areas and landscaped gardens with a 15 meter pool guarantee relaxation. The 380 hectares of land are ideal for outdoor activities. Wine tasting, restaurant, function and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Dedale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dedale Country House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing