We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5 Mountains Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
5 Mountains Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Wellington B&B and Inns
Claremont, Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Enjoyed a great value for money stay at this very comfortable accommodation.
The Bovlei Valley in Wellington is an affordable alternative to the more famous Cape Wine Regions such as Stellenbosch and Fransschoek. However, the natural beauty of the area, the quality of its vineyards and the standard of many of the local restaurants won't maske yopu feel you have missed out!

The staff were friendly and attentive. My wife enjoyed an outstanding massage at the spa and breakfasts were more than adequate. The piste-de-resistance however was the MOST comfortable bed I have slept in away from home!

Oude Wellington Restaurant just around the corner is well worth a visit for high quality hearty cuisine. Bosman Vineyard nearby is the world's number one producer of ethical wines and is also one of the most personal wine tasting experiences I have enjoyed in this part of the world (advanced booking essential). Both come highly recommended!

Would I stay again. Most definitely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuynai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolerothery, General Manager at 5 Mountains Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at 5 Mountains Lodge & Spa and also, that you enjoyed your time in Wellington! It certainly is a town that has much to offer and we hope more and more people will coming through to visit us as an interesting and exclusive alternative to the busy Stellenbosch and Franschoek regions. We have some fantastic, award-winning wine farms on our doorstep so our guests can combine a peaceful and relaxing spa stay with some indulgent wine farms and local restaurants! Thanks again for the great review! Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked two nights at the lodge (Thursday and Friday). We booked in late afternoon and was mildly received by reception and shown to our room by (I think) a therapist. The room was okay but did not live up to its 4 star grading. Here and there were signs of wearing. The biggest gripe was that the sheets were full of stains. And one of the bed lamps did not work. The flat screen TV was very small, but the beds were comfortable. The ancient aircon was switched on, and the room was well heated. We were the only guests in the lodge and no dinner was served. The next morning breakfast was served in the dining room, and was quite pleasant. Coffee was very good and there were some fresh fruit as well as a hot breakfast. There were more guests on the Friday evening, but the set menu looked very uninspiring, so we opted for a restaurant. We did not experience the spa. All in all it was allright, but we missed hospitality and detail. We will not rush back quickly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolerothery, General Manager at 5 Mountains Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear HeinOos

Many apologies for your disappointing experience during your recent stay at 5 Mountains Lodge. Apologies also for the delay in responding; I have been away overseas.

We are a very small business and all the staff are involved in various aspects of client management whether it be therapy, reception, check-ins and general guest care. We do train all our therapists to look after our guests from check-in to check-out and on this instance, the therapist in question, must have been off form. Please let me assure you that this is by no means the norm and apologies again if you felt the welcome was not up to scratch. We have reviewed our training with the staff and like to think this will not happen again.

We have also discovered that our spa clients are lying on the bedding after treatments which creates a problem with regard to the staining of the sheets. I can, again, assure you that all our linen is washed thoroughly, but the massage oils cause the staining and is proving difficult to remove.

We will be purchasing brand new linen, throughout the entire guest house, in the imminent future and will be advising our clients against lying directly on the linen after treatments to minimise the risk of staining going forward.

I hope that you may visit our guest house again in the future so you can experience how good our normal service is!

Kind regards

Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had booked through a special deal and sadly won't be back in a hurry.
Our dates somehow got mixed up and two days before I phoned just to confirm, was told we should have been here a week previously. Fortunately I had email confirmation and to their credit, they did allow us to choose an alternative night.
Treatments were lovely and the cottages beautifully decorated, but needing some attention, in places. Paint peeling off the walls, very slippery interior floors, etc.
The breakfast room was leaking quite badly in the rain and we had to move tables twice to avoid the water. Staff were not around and we had to go looking for them to get coffee pots refilled and find out about the hot food.......they seemed a little absent.
A beautiful setting and we loved exploring the town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank africanbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A peaceful and tranquil setting in a great wine area of South Africa. Excellent bungalow accommodation.
Only used restaurant for breakfast which was good and plentiful.
The spa was good and the staff knew what they were doing .
Beautiful surroundings and very close to other vineyards. Als near to othe attractions.

Room Tip: All cottages seemed equal in decoration just some bigger than others .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited the spa of this facility and was very impressed. Very tranquil setting, well sign posted. Service was excellent and they were able to help me for a wax treatment on short notice. The therapist was very friendly and did a job "well done".

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MayvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Lodge. The room was lovely, spacious and private. We enjoyed the outside jaccuzi and the breakfast was superb. All the staff were very friendly and warm towards us. We both had a neck and back massage that was very relaxing. Thank you very much for the warm welcome that we received. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place with friendly staff. The facilities are in good shape. The only thing missing was the water in the swimming pool which would have been enjoyable on a hot day. Good experience overall though!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank koenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.6 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oude Wellington Estate
Oude Wellington Estate
#7 of 22 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sauvignon Country Lodge
Sauvignon Country Lodge
#5 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunstone Country House
Dunstone Country House
#2 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Ons Stee
B&B Ons Stee
#11 of 22 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Mountains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Mountains Lodge

Property: 5 Mountains Lodge
Address: Bain's Kloof Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Hotel Class:4 star — 5 Mountains Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Mountains Lodge is Nestled in the foothills of the historical Bain's Kloof Pass, Wellington in the heart of the Winelands Region and only 45 minutes from the hum drum of Cape Town city life. As the Pass leads you out of town, it brings you to 5 Mountains Lodge. When you come through our secured entrance gate you discover the hidden Gem in an oasis of peace and tranquillity. Relax by the pool, enjoying a glass of local wine, take a plunge in our 6 seater Jacuzzi or simply allow the stresses and strains of everyday life to disappear in our 4 seater Sauna or Steam Room. We offer a variety of delicious Homemade cuisine available from dawn to dusk and why not sip on a cool delicious glass for wine to accompany your meal. Our 5 individual Garden Cottages, are sympathetically decorated with a Provence style elegance and each having its own veranda with spectacular views either over the working vineyard or the well maintained manicured gardens. We are Pet friendly for your small/medium sized canine friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing