We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstone Country House
Ranked #2 of 22 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar Es Salaam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just returned to Bovlei valley Retreat for the 4th time and had yet another amazing stay. Yes they have made some changes by adding a brand new guest lounge and rim flow pool, with the most amazing views - the mountain, vineyard, horse paddock all stretched out in front. The manor house is now for the family private use.
We didn’t want to move from the pool area with extra comfy sunbeds, a warm and very welcoming large pool and that view.
The new lounge gives a modern touch and best of all different treats throughout the day like gooey chocolate cake at 3pm and help yourself wine and nibbly bits at 6pm.
The dining is a short walk around the paddock and vineyard to the winery restaurant, we sat amongst the wine tanks and enjoyed a buffet breakfast at the table and a huge full English, sadly we were too full to enjoy lunch but we did have dinner, a 3 course affair, which we pre ordered in the morning, there was a choice of 2 starters, mains and dessert.
We will be coming back next year but I hear it will soon be called Dunstone Country house as they are incorporating the Dunstone brand throughout.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view pool choose Iris or Lavender, if you want more privacy and bigger bed go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heikeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
131
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been coming to Bovlei for years and every year it gets better, loved the changes to the lounge and pool – stunning view and very well designed, it’s just fits in perfectly like it should have always been there.
Eating at the restaurant was a different experience from the old manor house stoep but equally as good, same smiling waitresses and good food. However we preferred our alternative dinner – a picnic hamper delivered to our patio which we enjoyed as the sun set, lots of yummy treats and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently had our first winelands trip in over 10 years; stumbled upon Bovlei almost by accident. It really is a small piece of paradise. the valley is amazing nd the guest lounge views are to die for. amazing pool, great food. rooms are wonderful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Thank you to Lee and Abbi for a magic time in the Cape Winelands in February this year. A weekend of relaxation at the Bovlei Valley Retreat was just what the doctor ordered! Abbi runs a tight ship and nothing was too much to ask. The food was wonderful and the wines excellent (especially the Dunstone). The service was excellent with loads of thoughtful touches. Really great value made this weekend even better. Thank you agin to Lee and Abbi for a peaceful and relaxing weekend in beautiful surroundings with great company. I certainly will be back! Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Loved it, been before and love it, this year also loved it. Yes it’s looking a bit different, but better. The new lounge has a superior view across the vineyard, valley and green mountain; everything has been thought of from the plumbed-in fridge with ice on tap, afternoon tea with delicious cakes, a fridge full of wine and craft beers and sodas, wine tasting at sunset, the list could go on. The new pool: it’s just amazing. It was so relaxing to just sit and read and soak up the sun which covers the pool all day. The pool is only 1.2m in depth so no diving but great for swimming and walking about in.
We took a spin in the golf cart to the restaurant but could of walked as it’s really not far at all! Lovely breakfast, it was fun sitting amongst the wine tanks and chatting to Neil the wine maker about how they make the wine, but breakfast brought to our room in a picnic basket was also a delight.
The changes add a touch of class and adventure and a more interesting experience, we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay a few days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in Lavender Room which had its own garden. This is a lovely place to stay. Abbi and Lee have worked hard to provide an amazing holiday experience for their guests. There is a new pool and guests lounge which overlooks the vineyard and mountains. Nice touches are afternoon tea and cake and wine tasting every day.... All included. The staff are all helpful and give an excellent service. Meals are at the estate's Dunstone restaurant in the vineyard. My husband said the steak he had on our first night was the best he had ever tasted. It will be difficult to leave.We will book for next year!

Room Tip: Lavender room is a lovely room.... Pictures of all rooms are on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BovleiValleyRetreat, Owner at Dunstone Country House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Gill it was so great to you both staying with us, looking forwarding to seeing you next year, wishing you a great holiday in SA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed before and yes they are having some changes but to the better.
The new pool is amazing with fantastic views over the valley.
A new lounge area also has the same great views and nice comfy sofa's to relax in.
The Stone Kitchen now serves all the meals - its a short stroll but a golf buggy is available if its too far!
Very nice staff - friendly and smiley faces.
The Stone House had a new chef - only been working for 3 days but hopefully he will stay as the food was excellent.
They just need to market it better and advertise as the first night only 2 rooms were taken in the guest house so only 2 tables were full then we were the only guests so had the restaurant to ourselves. Having to pool to ourselves was great but being the only people eating at night its felt empty with no atmosphere.
Still a great place to stay and unwind!

Room Tip: Not telling you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BovleiValleyRetreat, Owner at Dunstone Country House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your review, it was great having you with us,

Yes the restaurant is sometimes quiet but we are advertising and hoping it will soon be busier.
We are now also offering an alternative dinner – a picnic hamper delivered to your room or the guest lounge filled with chef goodies, and estate wine. The hamper is great if you are the only guests eating and don’t want to dine alone.

Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
7.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Sauvignon Country Lodge
Sauvignon Country Lodge
#5 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oude Wellington Estate
Oude Wellington Estate
#7 of 22 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstone Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstone Country House

Property: Dunstone Country House
Address: Bovlei Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunstone Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquillity await at this luxurious and romantic wine and fruit estate, set in the heart of the Cape Winelands, South Africa. Dunstone Country House lies at the foot of the historic Bainskloof pass, Wellington, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Escape the big city and accommodation of Cape Town, and enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful town of Wellington.

Dunstone Country House is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek.

Situated at the foothills of the mountains, down a dirt gravel road, amazing views and the sound of nature welcome you. Want to escape to a place with no traffic or town noise then this is the place for you.

Dunstone Country House: Five beautifully-appointed guest suites are the original Dunstone guest rooms; they are housed in the converted stables and a stable farm cottage. The rooms delight guests with stunning views of the mountains, vines and the farm. From your private entrance and veranda, enter a little home-away-from-home, with all modern comforts and all the extra touches for which Dunstone has become renowned. These enjoy the comfort of a beautiful guest lounge overlooking the mountains and vineyards with wrap around views and an infinity pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains beyond.

Dunstone Manor: A new addition to the Estate is the recently acquired, original manor house. A stately three bedroom house on the southern rise of the farm, set amongst lush gardens, towering shady oak trees, and vineyards. This beautiful property has an air of tranquillity, making it the perfect retreat. The property can either be rented as a private house sleeping 6 – 8 persons on a B&B or self-catering basis, or as individual guest suites on a B&B basis. The three individually decorated bedroom are housed on the first floor and offer beautiful views over the gardens, vineyard and mountains. Downstairs is a gracious guest lounge which opens out on to a pretty stoep with its own sun drenched pool.

The Cottages: Guava cottage is a self-catering cottage amongst the guava orchard, it boasts its own Viognier vineyard outside the front door. Guava has 2 king-sized bedrooms, a private garden and private heated swimming pool. Guava can also be taken on a B&B basis. Vine Cottage is a new addition on the southern slope of the Estate. Originally stables, it is tastefully converted into a pretty one-bedroom cottage, a very private escape for 2. Guests at Vine cottage have access to all facilities at the Country House, on a B&B option. Facilities: In addition to the facilities listed below, we also offer off street vine shaded parking; free wifi; DSTV hotel package; a fully licensed family Bistro restaurant; winery, cellar tours and wine tasting. We have 10 hectares of beautiful far to explore, including vineyards and fruit orchards.

In-Room: All rooms have air-Conditioning with cooling and heating mode; fine cotton linen; goose down duvets and pillows; en-suite bathroom; high quality towels & bath robes; luxury amenities; hairdryer; large bar fridge with honesty bar, and snacks and tea tray with homemade lavender cookies. Rooms also boast safe, iPod player, flat screen television with DSTV hotel package, DVD Player with USB port, and an in-house DVD library is also available.

Dunstone Country House facilities include: beautiful guest lounge overlooking vineyards and mountains, with honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities; 10m infinity swimming pool with luxury loungers; landscaped gardens including a herb garden, roses and lavender.

Dunstone Manor facilities include: A beautiful guest lounge leading out onto a sun drenched swimming pool; vine covered stoep and seating area; fully equipped kitchen and honesty bar; braai facilities.

Cottage facilities include: Guava - fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, private garden, private heated 6*4m pool. Vine - private veranda and garden,

Area Information: Dunstone Estate is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek.

TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Dinners from R250 pp | B&B Rates include breakfast, wine tasting and afternoon tea

... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunstone Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing