We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and understated boutique luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstone Country House
Ranked #3 of 24 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was beautiful, the service incredible and the whole stay just wonderful. I loved that they thought of the details and treated all the guest as you would a valued guest in your home. The breakfast was amazing and given the quality of food, I wish we'd had the foresight to book dinner which needs to be reserved 24hrs ahead.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that have more privacy and small patios - Lavender and Honeysuckle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 238 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

simply amazing. It is in the most wonderful location - surrounded by mountains and vineyards. the team are so warm and freindly. nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. we will be back again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 4 years ago and although the rooms have changed (for the better after their upgrade), everything else was thankfully just as I remembered.
The rooms that we stayed in, Jasmine, is in the old stable block. There is plenty of room and they are to a very high standard. Comfortable beds, excellent linen quality, powerful shower and a bath, air conditioning, modern TV with a good choice of channels, large fridge. There is also free wifi available at the reception area
There is wine there for you to taste, from their own Dunstone wines, every evening. We had dinner there as it is a little isolated. It was good but not excellent, but good value for the price of R195 each.
Breakfasts are fabulous, buffet and cooked available. I can still taste those chocolate croissants! It is also a beautiful setting on the terrace
There is a very nice pool in the gardens with sun loungers. A great place to relax after a day's wine tasting. There are lots of great wineries just down the road and some excellent wineries within 20 minute drive.
The highlight for me though was afternoon tea served with cakes. Make sure you are back in time.
This is a great place to spend a few days relaxing and the views from the garden are stunning. There is a nice walk for a couple of hours detailed in the room. We didn't have time, but maybe next time?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Where do I begin? WOW! I believe this is the first time that I can honestly say the Bovlei Valley Retreat in general, and Mariska (the Manager) specifically, were 5 stars above my expectations. There is no detail left undone; and when coupled with the views and the people working there the word “Retreat” in the name is the correct description.

Two couples traveling, so we stayed in the Cottage. A private home with two bedrooms and two private bathrooms each with doors opening out to the patio with the private pool.

We arrived late due to flight delays. Mariska had tried to contact us via email; but we had no wireless service on the ride from Cape Town. She wanted to ask us what time she should have dinner ready for us. Now normally that would not have been a question; but as timing would have it we were the ONLY ones there for 2 nights! So she wanted it to be ready when we were! Wow………..it doesn’t get better than that. Since we arrived much too late for a dinner; she showed us to our cottage and proceeded to prepare fresh cheeses, fruits, and cold cuts for us; along with 2 bottles of their wine! You can only imagine how pleasant that was dining al fresco around the pool and watching the sun go down.

This property is so peaceful. I highly recommend it. It is a hidden gem I think because it was so easy to get the booking and once there I was surprised it wasn’t sold out. I think it will sell out as more and more people read these reviews. It is right on the “wine road” and we were able to travel around an entire day for tastings and lunch. (Did I mention that Mariska prepares breakfast for you each morning and it comes with your room rate?) The second night we were there (knowing we were the only guests on the property) we stopped at a grocery store in Stellenbosch and made our own dinner in the full kitchen in the cottage. Had it been chillier we could have had a fire in the fireplace.

I should mention that you may think the property is owned by Mariska because she certainly treats it like it is her own; but a young family purchased it in 2002 and I will say they have certainly hired well!

I know I can’t really paint an accurate picture; but I can say you should stay here. It is affordable, beautiful, peaceful and private. There is always a sweet scent of fresh lavender lingering in the air from the lavender grown there.

Please feel free to email me with any questions you may have.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoe0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just spent two nights at Bovlei in the Lavender room. Our experience from start to end was of genuine friendship with every possible luxury made available. Their eye for detail was excellent. We ate at Bovlei both nights and certainly couldn't criticise the standard of cuisine. Went on the dam walk, which should have taken around one hour but somehow we managed to extend it to two! Certainly got to know the surrounding vineyards.

There was absolutely nothing we could fault. A perfect gem of a place.

Due to commitments in Cape Town we were unable to extend our stay for another night but this will certainly be a place that we will recommend and revisit.

Room Tip: Lavender is very quiet and has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The usual 45 minute drive from Cape Town stretched into a two hour drive, due to heavy traffic. I finally reached Bovlei Valley Retreat after marveling at the glowing mountains while the sun set. I was warmly greeted and welcomed by Elzanne, who escorted me to the Honeysuckle room. The room was very clean, spacious, with a welcome bowl of fruit, lovely bathrobe, good bathroom amenities and a coffee making facility. Although I was late to enjoy the afternoon tea and goodies, Elzanne served fresh homemade scones with cream and coffee in the suite. The location is very quiet and you are guaranteed a peaceful sleep. Dinner in front of the fireplace was excellent - good food, wine and company. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your experience a good one. Free Internet access is available only in the dining room area. Looking forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Honeysuckle room is very spacious and closest to the manor house where breakfast and dinners are ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Described as a retreat we certainly felt it was as we drove home after a days outing to this wonderfull valley with superb views,

We stayed in the Honeysuckle room wich was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with the lavender touches others have mentioned. As you walk out of your cottage you can smell lavender even though the main lavender fields were over when we visited.

The whole ambience is relaxed with a homely feel. Dinners are a leisurely affair of home cooking taken on the stoep or in the kitchen/dining room if cool.

All in all a relaxing break in a wonderfull valley.

Room Tip: Guests staying in the Lavender room have to walk across the garden area of the Honeysuckle room maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
7.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
1 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
294 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
Lady Loch Country House & SPA
#4 of 24 in Wellington
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Diemersfontein Country House
Diemersfontein Country House
#5 of 24 in Wellington
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstone Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstone Country House

Address: Bovlei Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $137 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunstone Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquillity await at this luxurious and romantic wine and fruit estate, set in the heart of the Cape Winelands, South Africa. Dunstone Country House lies at the foot of the historic Bainskloof pass, Wellington, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Escape the big city and accommodation of Cape Town, and enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful town of Wellington. Dunstone Country House is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Situated at the foothills of the mountains, down a dirt gravel road, amazing views and the sound of nature welcome you. Want to escape to a place with no traffic or town noise then this is the place for you. Dunstone Country House: Five beautifully-appointed guest suites are the original Dunstone guest rooms; they are housed in the converted stables and a stable farm cottage. The rooms delight guests with stunning views of the mountains, vines and the farm. From your private entrance and veranda, enter a little home-away-from-home, with all modern comforts and all the extra touches for which Dunstone has become renowned. These enjoy the comfort of a beautiful guest lounge overlooking the mountains and vineyards with wrap around views and an infinity pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains beyond. Dunstone Manor: A new addition to the Estate is the recently acquired, original manor house. A stately three bedroom house on the southern rise of the farm, set amongst lush gardens, towering shady oak trees, and vineyards. This beautiful property has an air of tranquillity, making it the perfect retreat. The property can either be rented as a private house sleeping 6 – 8 persons on a B&B or self-catering basis, or as individual guest suites on a B&B basis. The three individually decorated bedroom are housed on the first floor and offer beautiful views over the gardens, vineyard and mountains. Downstairs is a gracious guest lounge which opens out on to a pretty stoep with its own sun drenched pool. The Cottages: Guava cottage is a self-catering cottage amongst the guava orchard, it boasts its own Viognier vineyard outside the front door. Guava has 2 king-sized bedrooms, a private garden and private heated swimming pool. Guava can also be taken on a B&B basis. Vine Cottage is a new addition on the southern slope of the Estate. Originally stables, it is tastefully converted into a pretty one-bedroom cottage, a very private escape for 2. Guests at Vine cottage have access to all facilities at the Country House, on a B&B option. Facilities: In addition to the facilities listed below, we also offer off street vine shaded parking; free wifi; DSTV hotel package; a fully licensed family Bistro restaurant; winery, cellar tours and wine tasting. We have 10 hectares of beautiful far to explore, including vineyards and fruit orchards. In-Room: All rooms have air-Conditioning with cooling and heating mode; fine cotton linen; goose down duvets and pillows; en-suite bathroom; high quality towels & bath robes; luxury amenities; hairdryer; large bar fridge with honesty bar, and snacks and tea tray with homemade lavender cookies. Rooms also boast safe, iPod player, flat screen television with DSTV hotel package, DVD Player with USB port, and an in-house DVD library is also available. Dunstone Country House facilities include: beautiful guest lounge overlooking vineyards and mountains, with honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities; 10m infinity swimming pool with luxury loungers; landscaped gardens including a herb garden, roses and lavender. Dunstone Manor facilities include: A beautiful guest lounge leading out onto a sun drenched swimming pool; vine covered stoep and seating area; fully equipped kitchen and honesty bar; braai facilities. Cottage facilities include: Guava - fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, private garden, private heated 6*4m pool. Vine - private veranda and garden, Area Information: Dunstone Estate is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Dinners from R250 pp | B&B Rates include breakfast, wine tasting and afternoon tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunstone Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing