We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstone Country House
Ranked #2 of 22 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Two night escape”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The usual 45 minute drive from Cape Town stretched into a two hour drive, due to heavy traffic. I finally reached Bovlei Valley Retreat after marveling at the glowing mountains while the sun set. I was warmly greeted and welcomed by Elzanne, who escorted me to the Honeysuckle room. The room was very clean, spacious, with a welcome bowl of fruit, lovely bathrobe, good bathroom amenities and a coffee making facility. Although I was late to enjoy the afternoon tea and goodies, Elzanne served fresh homemade scones with cream and coffee in the suite. The location is very quiet and you are guaranteed a peaceful sleep. Dinner in front of the fireplace was excellent - good food, wine and company. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your experience a good one. Free Internet access is available only in the dining room area. Looking forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Honeysuckle room is very spacious and closest to the manor house where breakfast and dinners are ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
131
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Described as a retreat we certainly felt it was as we drove home after a days outing to this wonderfull valley with superb views,

We stayed in the Honeysuckle room wich was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with the lavender touches others have mentioned. As you walk out of your cottage you can smell lavender even though the main lavender fields were over when we visited.

The whole ambience is relaxed with a homely feel. Dinners are a leisurely affair of home cooking taken on the stoep or in the kitchen/dining room if cool.

All in all a relaxing break in a wonderfull valley.

Room Tip: Guests staying in the Lavender room have to walk across the garden area of the Honeysuckle room maki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was our 4th location of our trip in the winelands. And after a disappointment at another location we were really curious about Bovlei. But it literally over performed our expectations. Beautiful location, nicely decorated, nice breakfast (only no fresh oj on day 1), nice lunches/pool snacks like toasted sandwiches and salads, and a very tasteful 3 course dinner. Of course wines from the house around 1800 - like 'happy hour' and great service of tea around 1600 (one day with passion fruit tart and one day with scones/cream/jam). Lovely. I will definitely come back and stay a bit longer, as this was a tranquil place in the beautiful area of Wellington, not so far from Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaatjeKaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

What a nice place.

We stayed in the Lavender room which was fantastic. Superby views across the valley. Sprigs of Lavender everywhere in the room which gave us a very peaceful rest.
Had two meals in retreat which were nice. Ate at the Stone Kitchen for lunch which was very good.
Staff are very friendly and also the service was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one nigh at Bovlei Valley Retreat. The location is super, being surround by mountains and vineyards. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Lavender Cottage, and little sprigs of lavender were placed all over. The cottage was well equipped and the bed was very comfortable.

We ate at the Stone Kitchen at the nearby Dunstone winery (which is part of the property). The food was good, the chef's skill and attention were evident. Unfortunately the service is poor, the waitress made many basic mistakes (mixing up wines, not asking how the food was, not bringing the bill when requested, the list goes on...). Hopefully this will be addressed as the food deserves better service.

Tip: The Bovlei Valley Retreat is not associated with the Bovlei winery.

Room Tip: The Lavender cottage has beautiful, uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here in November and weren't disappointed. If you want to get away from it all then this is the place to go...it was wonderfully tranquil. We were really impressed by the service provided by all the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the food and wine..all superb. So good, that we've booked to stay again in January with friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vectra352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Really awesome; service was impecable; atmosphere wonderful. We cannot thank Abby, Rozanne and staff enough. My wife said "it is like being in our own house... just better".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexOAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
7.2 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Val Du Charron Wine & Olive Estate Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Sauvignon Country Lodge
Sauvignon Country Lodge
#5 of 22 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oude Wellington Estate
Oude Wellington Estate
#7 of 22 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstone Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstone Country House

Property: Dunstone Country House
Address: Bovlei Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunstone Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and tranquillity await at this luxurious and romantic wine and fruit estate, set in the heart of the Cape Winelands, South Africa. Dunstone Country House lies at the foot of the historic Bainskloof pass, Wellington, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Escape the big city and accommodation of Cape Town, and enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful town of Wellington.

Dunstone Country House is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek.

Situated at the foothills of the mountains, down a dirt gravel road, amazing views and the sound of nature welcome you. Want to escape to a place with no traffic or town noise then this is the place for you.

Dunstone Country House: Five beautifully-appointed guest suites are the original Dunstone guest rooms; they are housed in the converted stables and a stable farm cottage. The rooms delight guests with stunning views of the mountains, vines and the farm. From your private entrance and veranda, enter a little home-away-from-home, with all modern comforts and all the extra touches for which Dunstone has become renowned. These enjoy the comfort of a beautiful guest lounge overlooking the mountains and vineyards with wrap around views and an infinity pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains beyond.

Dunstone Manor: A new addition to the Estate is the recently acquired, original manor house. A stately three bedroom house on the southern rise of the farm, set amongst lush gardens, towering shady oak trees, and vineyards. This beautiful property has an air of tranquillity, making it the perfect retreat. The property can either be rented as a private house sleeping 6 – 8 persons on a B&B or self-catering basis, or as individual guest suites on a B&B basis. The three individually decorated bedroom are housed on the first floor and offer beautiful views over the gardens, vineyard and mountains. Downstairs is a gracious guest lounge which opens out on to a pretty stoep with its own sun drenched pool.

The Cottages: Guava cottage is a self-catering cottage amongst the guava orchard, it boasts its own Viognier vineyard outside the front door. Guava has 2 king-sized bedrooms, a private garden and private heated swimming pool. Guava can also be taken on a B&B basis. Vine Cottage is a new addition on the southern slope of the Estate. Originally stables, it is tastefully converted into a pretty one-bedroom cottage, a very private escape for 2. Guests at Vine cottage have access to all facilities at the Country House, on a B&B option. Facilities: In addition to the facilities listed below, we also offer off street vine shaded parking; free wifi; DSTV hotel package; a fully licensed family Bistro restaurant; winery, cellar tours and wine tasting. We have 10 hectares of beautiful far to explore, including vineyards and fruit orchards.

In-Room: All rooms have air-Conditioning with cooling and heating mode; fine cotton linen; goose down duvets and pillows; en-suite bathroom; high quality towels & bath robes; luxury amenities; hairdryer; large bar fridge with honesty bar, and snacks and tea tray with homemade lavender cookies. Rooms also boast safe, iPod player, flat screen television with DSTV hotel package, DVD Player with USB port, and an in-house DVD library is also available.

Dunstone Country House facilities include: beautiful guest lounge overlooking vineyards and mountains, with honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities; 10m infinity swimming pool with luxury loungers; landscaped gardens including a herb garden, roses and lavender.

Dunstone Manor facilities include: A beautiful guest lounge leading out onto a sun drenched swimming pool; vine covered stoep and seating area; fully equipped kitchen and honesty bar; braai facilities.

Cottage facilities include: Guava - fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, private garden, private heated 6*4m pool. Vine - private veranda and garden,

Area Information: Dunstone Estate is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek.

TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Dinners from R250 pp | B&B Rates include breakfast, wine tasting and afternoon tea

... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dunstone Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing