We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect gem en route to Cape Town”

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are now permanently closed.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect gem en route to Cape Town”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On our 6 hour drive back to Cape Town we stumbled across this lovely gem. Beautiful simple food perfect for our lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was driving past enroute to George just before Christmas and needing breakfast decided to stop. The ambiance on the patio looking out on the verdant gardens was so peaceful, the food excellent and the service cheerful. We so enjoyed our almost two hour rest and breakfast stop that we decided to stop again on our way back to Cape Town a week later, for lunch, which was equally good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Gillian
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to hear that someone enjoyed their experience so much that they returned for another visit.
We are pleased that you enjoyed both our breakfast & lunch on the different days that you visited us.
All the best for 2013 and we look forward to welcome you back to Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant again soon.
Kind regards
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food but moody front of house”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have visited the farm stall in its various incarnations over the years.

While the food is delicious, the service and the attitude of the front-of-house leaves a lot to be desired. During various encounters, the front-of-house was very moody and unwelcoming.

I took overseas guests to the little village of Stormsvlei a few months ago and we wanted to lunch at the farm stall. Having just arrived at Cape Town International, their first encounter with South African hospitality was shocking and rude. Good food is no ticket to be rude to restaurant patrons. Strangest paradox between good food indicating a desire to please patrons and rude service chasing away the same.

The off-sales next to the main entrance are reminiscent of an era thankfully long gone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for the review, which also seems to be a paradox to the other reviews here which acknowledge our help and friendliness. We do try and get it right all the time but seem to have fallen short on your visit. It was a exceptional day when the restaurant wasn't open and a craft fair drew a thousand people to Stormsvlei, therefore we were not operating under normal circumstances. I am pleased that you think the food in general is good when you have visited in the past, but saddened that this is the first time we have not achieved a four or five star review. I would also recommend anyone planning a special trip out or lunch with us ring and make reservation. Especially for Sundays.

Anyone is welcome at Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant and the same can be said for customers at the Off Sales. The only thing that seems to be reminiscent of an era long gone is the reviews comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite retro”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was recommended this place, heard it was retro. Although the dessert was fantastic, the entrees are a bit dull. The "retro" feel is not retro at all (I think of retro as new celebrating the old), but rather just cleaned up 60s wood-paneling. Good luck you two, you're in a difficult place. You are worthy of a bigger town!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JennJennUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear JennJennUSA,

Thanks very much for visiting us and taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad you liked your dessert.

I'm sorry Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant didn't live up to your expectation of being" Retro " but we've never marketed ourselves as that and whoever advised you otherwise has only conveyed their opinion of what they took away from there visit here.

We hope you enjoyed your time in SA and wish you all the best.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Hidden gem”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We read about Stormsvlei on tripadvisor and thought it was worth a try. When we arrived outside at 845 on Sunday morning (opening @ 9) we were a bit dubious. But were we pleasantly surprised once the doors opened and we were lead to the beautiful garden at the back. How tranquil! The breakfast was truly delicious! Fresh bread, farm butter homemade preserves! Great cuppacino! A definite must if you're in the area!

Helpful?
3 Thank Eliska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Eliska B,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving a review of Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant. Jeanne and I are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing