We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Farm Stall & Restaurant a stop and experience their culinary delights”

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are now permanently closed.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had heard about the great food and service provided by Jeanne and Steven well before we turned off the N2 on our way to Swellendam and made sure we arrived well before closing time. Literally just a few hundred metres off the N2, Stormsvlei Farm Stall and Restaurant is an oasis of calm, and an ideal spot in the sun for brunch, lunch or afternoon tea. We headed out the back to enjoy the garden and ordered an Overberg Ale to accompany the Springbok Burger (not always on the menu but if you see it then you have to order it!) which was cooked just perfectly. The hand cut chips and the red onion marmalade (also for sale in the Farm Stall) were nice touches. Not wanting to leave, we ordered dessert and coffees, which was roasted locally in Robertson and delivered at just the right temperature and texture. After lingering as long as we could we took a look through the Farm Stall and purchased a lovely bottle of wine and some of the Steven's Kitchen Red Onion Marmalade for a gift before heading towards Swellendam along the scenic route (recommended by Jeanne). We're glad we took her advice as the wildlife nearby was abundant and made the slight detour worthwhile. Next time we're in the area we will be stopping by and have already recommended friends of ours visit when they travel to South Africa later in the year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Glen
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here. The Springbok burgers have certainly proven very popular on our menu.
We are proud to serve quality locally sourced products, our coffee just one of them.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to South Africa and that you will return soon.
Thank you for referring your friends, we look forward to welcome them.
Kind regards
Steven & Jeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've yet to schedule my travels so that I can enjoy lunch at Stormsvlei, but Steven's delicious home-made products in the deli will have to do in the meantime. My favourites are the plum jam, oat muesli and bran rusks. And Jeanne is always ready for a chat about happenings on the local farming and arts and crafts front and make a good cup of coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Amelia
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is always great to hear that people enjoy the products we sell in our Farm Stall. Hopefully one of these days you will be able to join us for lunch.
Just to also let you know, there will be a Country Art Fair in Stormsvlei on Sunday, 28 October. Hope to see you here.
Kind regards
Jeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

fresh simple food cooked with love and care ....simple relaxed warm and friendly .....beautiful garden to boot with lovely trees. well worth stopping off here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 773AmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Steven & Jeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

You can have tea and scones by the fire or a full meal at a table. I really enjoyed the leek soup and sticky toffee pudding. My boyfriend loved the pork belly. We will be going out of our way to return. One request: more vegetarian options please.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank redlefgnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear redlefgnid,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Stormsvlei Farmstall and restaurant. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meals. We always take any feedback seriously.
In the winter months rather than closing for long periods of time like a lot of restaurants in the area we prefer to open, running a slightly smaller menu than in the busier summer months. Also unlike several restaurants we always have a couple of vegetarian options, our soup is always suitable for vegetarians as is our quiche of the day. We enjoy catering for vegetarians and we would be happy to organise a couple of options should you wish to call ahead next time you may visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Steven & Jeanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I find ways and excuses to head out towards the garden route or route 62 or anywhere that goes past Stormsvlei, just so I can stop in at The Stormsvlei Farm Stall and Restaurant.
The atmosphere and food is a mix of old world hospitality and charm with a modern twist of yumminess at good prices. I have been here a few times and it just gets better. They had Springbok burgers as a special this time and my son and I had them, they were awesome. The Girls had leak and potato soup and boy what a portion they got with thick cuts of bread buttered just right. It was a great lunch for a cold wet afternoon. If you are ever heading on the N2 and you are passing by Stromsvlei stop and visit these guys, you will not be sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Blake A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your visit to Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant. We appreciate all input from our customers and feel greatly rewarded when we know we have made a person's visit pleasurable. It is also enjoyable for me as an Englishman to use products such as Springbok and incorporate them in to our menu. The burgers were actually very popular. We are so glad you enjoyed them and look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Steven & Jeanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing