We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schoone Oordt Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveler rating
1,000
89
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
89
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteafternoon teagarden routeattention to detaileggs benedictcape townone nightbeautiful conservatoryhigh teaon arrivalturn down servicecountry housebaked applefamily cottagesconeswelcome drinka hot water bottle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This was our third visit to Schoone Oordt and we were hugely impressed by this charming guest house on our first visit, on our third visit we can say that it has surpassed our very high expectations. It is a beautiful and graciously run establishment with a warm hands- on approach from the owners, Alison and Richard, who greeted us like old friends.

Our room was furnished with charm and sophistication but with close attention paid to comfort, from crisp custom white monogrammed linen, to bath products produced locally, to a jar of home made biscuits and a delicious welcome cheese platter.

We will undoubtedly return yet again to experience this delightful Swellendam retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandlynnCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Swellendam is the ideal stopover point if travelling from Capetown to Plettenburg, nicely half way. We eventually decided on Schoone Oordt Country House, mainly based on these reviews, and stayed for one night. And what we found was exactly what other reviewers have described - a lovely house, and a warm welcome. Everything clean, tidy and well organised. So why did we leave knowing that if we ever stopped off in Swellendam again, it would not be at the Schoone Oordt?
We had booked a standard room. When we arrived we were told we had been given the honeymoon suite. Only one problem, Alison told us. It appears she has a disagreement with her husband on whether there should be a TV in the honeymoon suite, she says no and he says yes. So far he was won the battle as there is a socket fitted for the TV, but she has won the war in that there is no TV plugged in to the socket. So whilst every other room has TV, the honemoon suite does not. We are not honeymooners, and neither are we addicted to TV. But guests should have the choice.
And then we were told that breakfast would be muesli, followed by poached pear in yoghurt, followed by a stir-fried vegetable omelette. And I began to get a definite feel of being regimented in to a particular healthy lifestile - no TV and no cholesterol to start the day. I know had we asked for a change to a standard room Alison would have obliged. I suspect she might even have stretched to a couple of fried eggs. But thats not the point. Once again, we were given no choice. Apart from the option to say fine, or rock the boat. The more pleasant option for all concerned is to say fine, and not return.
As for the room itself, it was large, clean and comfortable.
So we left refreshed and fed. But I have to admit I was looking forward to a large unhealthy english breakfast as we drove out....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidO'Connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Stayed at Schoone Oordt Country House for 1 night on our way from Garden Route to Cape Town airport and it was such a lovely way to end our fantastic holiday in South Africa. The couple running the hotel are absolutely lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We relaxed by the swimming pool all afternoon whilst being served great South African beer & drinks - lush! The room we stayed in was lovely with a large bathroom and a really comfortable bed. The home-made biscuits in the room were a great touch!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria099London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Guest houses in S Africa are of a high standard and we stayed in 8 in 14 nights. They were all very good but the Schoone Oordt is in a class of its own. It is every bit as good as it looks on its website. I am a fussy drawers and have travelled a bit and I have never stayed anywhere so pristine clean. The place oozes class and sophisticated style with top notch fixtures and fittings throughout. No signature strengths compensating for the odd weakness...attention has been paid to every single detail, right down to the cutlery. Excellent hosts. Want to go back. This is the first Trip Advisor comment I have felt compelled to make!
Sarah and Rob, England

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The wonderful Alison greeted us on arrival at this beautiful venue. She greets you as a friend rather than an anonymous guest.

Our biggest mistake was booking here for one night only. I could easily have relaxed by the pool for a few days!

We booked the honeymoon suite which is beautifully decorated and appointed. There is a large 4-poster bed, sitting area and very large bathroom with a two sinks, a modern large shower and a separate roll-top bath. Fantastic toiletries provided too. I also have a real thing about the quality of bed linen and the bed linen used here is amongst the best I have experienced at any accommodation. You will lay in that huge bed at night (with fan and airconditioning in the hot weather) under that crisp linen and have an amazing night sleep.

Nothing seemed too much trouble. When we arrived we were taken to our room and given complimentary drinks and cheese platter which we ate on our private decked area in front of our room. We were on honeymoon too and a chilled bottle of champagne with rose petals greeted us as we entered the room - a lovely touch. I needed to iron a shirt and so asked for an ironing board. No problem - they ironed it for me! We had not even thought about where to eat dinner. Again - no problem - Alison had booked somewhere for us which we could go to or not - no pressure at all - and so much easier than us worrying about where to go. Our hire car was also pretty dirty from our travels. When we woke up for breakfast, it had magically been washed!

Breakfast too was a real treat in the large and airy conservatory. In South Africa you get a lot of quite heavy breakfasts (not that I am complaining about that!) but Alison went to some trouble to come up with a breakfast menu that was original and delicious.

We will certainly go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews