We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful part of our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at Schoone Oordt for one night on our honeymoon before hitting the garden route.
We were given the honeymoon suite which was beautiful (more of a cottage than a suite!) A four post bed and huge bathroom, comfortable furnishing with a moden feel.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner and as on honeymoon we were presented with a bottle of sparkling wine and yummy cheese platter to enjoy while we settled in.
There is a very nice garden area to stretch out on by the pool and the hotel is walking distance from a nature reserve which is lovely to have a stroll around.
Breakfast was fabulous, cereal and yoghurt to start followed by a hot breakfast, which that day was caramelized banana on french toast with bacon.
I would really recommend this place to anyone passing though the area and wished we had been staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Schoone Oordt Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

We have stayed in Schoone Oord for the first time. We had a warm welcome and the highest the service level from Alison and Richard and the whole team.
The rooms are decorated in style with very good beds.
The 3 course breakfast from Alison is the very very best we have ever had, and we do make a lot of trips all over the world. Everything you eat and drink is fresh.
And every day during breakfast our car was cleaned.

We will definitely come back and advise everybody who passes by Swellemdam to stay in the Schoone oord County House, you will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel_Wenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Beautiful guest house with wonderful service and great breakfast. Our ten year old particularly enjoyed the pool and Alison's recommendation for dinner at the Cape Rose was one of the best meals we've ever had. Anywhere. Would definitely recommend to anyone passing through this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This is a charming property in Swellendam. The old House is beautiful, as is the overall property.

Everyone very friendly and made us feel right at home. The breakfast room and breakfasts were fantastic! Service was equally good, they even were kind enough to wash our car for us.

Would definitely recommend Schoone Oordt and suggest to stay for 2 nights.

This was part of our 4 stop South African stay. All of the B&Bs (Capetown, Franschoek, Plett, and Swellendam) were sourced from tripadvisor, and we were very happy with the overall result.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieNjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This B&B is worthy of every accolade you will find on their website and several more. From the unique and outstanding breakfasts to the complimentary morning car wash this Country House has it all. What makes for a successful B&B is those who run it. In this case the owners, Alison and Richard, are the glue and the inspiration that make it all happen. Their obvious passion for service, quality, and hospitality comes through from the moment you are greeted to the moment you leave. Nothing is too much trouble and all dealings are conducted with warmth and attention to detail. Our six year old daughter was welcomed as part of the family and we loved the fact that Alison and Richard welcome children and go out of their way to make them have as wonderful an experience as us adults. We will stay here again and again. Thank You!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The guy I sat next to on the flight to Cape Town said this was the best place to stay in Swellendam. He may have been biased as it turned out he is best mates with the owners - but I have to say that ANYwhere would have to work hard to top Schoone Oordt -and I found it quite by accident on TripAdvisor. It is fantastic - and absolutely the best of all the seven places we stayed on our trip. Friendly, welcoming, relaxed and very much a family home, but with a professional edge that just makes you feel that bit special. What is truly awesome is Alison & Richard's attention to detail; restoring this beautiful house as immaculately as they've done must have cost a fortune but their commitment to top quality oozes from every corner. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which is simply lovely - homemade biscuits on the bar, luxurious towels and robes, gorgeous bed linens - really can't fault it (and I have faulted some of the others!!). Alison's breakfasts are already legendary and utterly irresistible, and we had our very dirty car washed both mornings! I hadn't realised how much there is to see within kicking distance of Swellendam so this is a great base for 2 or 3 days - we stayed 2 nights and wished we'd stayed longer. Alison will recommend trips and activities, and you should also trust her judgement on restaurants - we did, and weren't disappointed. Definitely one to go back to - even if I still can't work out how to pronounce it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

The other reviews really say it all, but this hotel (which is really more of a large B&B) really is a class act. It is set in a beautiful location in a small town between the Garden Route and the Winelands, and everything from the service to the grounds to the guest house itself are lovely. It is not the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in, however it has a ton of charm and is very well decorated. The bathroom in the room was great. The owner, Alison, is wonderful and friendly and is eager to help with anything you might need. And she cooks an excellent breakfast in the morning. Also, as other reviewers point out, they even wash your car in the morning before you leave the hotel, which is unusually good service. The town in which the hotel is located, Swellendam, is not really a destination in and of itself (although it is very pretty), however it could be used as a central location to see Hermanus, the Winelands, or the Karoo (if you're willing to drive an hour or so each way every day). Alternatively, the hotel certainly is excellent for a one night stop to break up a drive between the Garden Route and the Winelands. All in all, this is a fantastic hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who had a need/interest in staying in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $164 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing