We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We spent one night here as part of our honeymoon. The honeymoon suite is beautiful (what a bathroom!), plus Alison's breakfast is superb. The whole experience was just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLTBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Schoone Oordt Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 999 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights of our honeymoon in Schoone Oordt and we couldn't have found a better place as a half-way point in our drive from Cape Town to Wilderness. Even before we arrived we were impressed as the owners had upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which made our stay even more special. To be greeted by cold beers and a picnic hamper lunch with complimentary champagne was the perfect start to our stay. Alison and Richard have thought of everything to make their guests feel at home and Alison's breakfasts are reason enough to return. The guesthouse itself is a collection of little cottages in the beautiful gardens and our huge suite was beautifully appointed with a four poster bed, walk in double shower and the biggest bath tub I've ever seen. Alison had helped my husband plan my 30th birthday before we left the UK and she even phoned the restaurant we were heading to to arrange rose petals on our table for when we arrived, we really couldn't have asked for more (they even had our car cleaned each morning - I can't think of any other hotel where this has been part of the service!) Schoone Oordt is in a great location with some fabulous restaurants just a few minutes walk away, our only regret is not having longer to stay as there is so much to see and do in the beautiful surrounding countryside. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

A massive thank you to both Alison and Richard for a wonderful stay. My wife and I booked one night on the basis of the reviews on this site and therefore had high hopes when we arrived. I decided to book the honeymoon suite given it was our 2nd wedding anniversary on the eve of our stay. The accommodations were absolutely gorgeous. Richard has a love for antique furniture and has done all the work himself on the property (which is amazing). The property is finished with amazing attention to detail and is a credit to Richard who is clearly working hard at it to finish the last of the rooms on this amazing estate.

The breakfast was to die for and Alison is an amazing hostess. We were made to feel extremely comfortable, were delivered a bottle of bubbly and cheese platter whilst we were lazing by the pool and our car was washed and ready to go by the time we were up on the morning of our departure.

Given the straight run of 5 star reviews on here you can see that this is a consistent approach they are taking and as such we wish Alison and Richard continued success with something they are clearly good at and enjoy.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were on our honeymoon and we had a wonderful experience!
A beautiful suite in this spectacular setting!
I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler22267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Schoone Oordt is perfectly located in the 'best part of town', and within a couple of minutes walking distance from some excellent restaurants. We were very well looked after by the lovely and friendly owners, who went out of their way to make sure we had an excellent stay. They were also really helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do around Swellendam. They also arranged for a well-qualified babysitter to look after our 2 year old toddler one evening. It's definitely the place to stay in Swellendam!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

superb on every level. Best breakfasts, ever! (And I'm a fussy foody). Wonderful generous hospitality. Extremely comfortable, beautifully restored, all fabulous. THankyou to you and all your staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karine-oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Wonderful warm welcome from Alison and Richard, and compared to some places we have stayed this is also entirely genuine. The house and gardens have been beautifully restored and set in the shaodw of the Langeburg mountains make for a stunning setting. Our stay was made all the more special by a number of lovely touches; such as the unexpected bonus of being given the honeymoon suite, even though we had booked alternative room, the homemade biscuits, and best of all was our car being washed after it had accumulated 2 weeks worth of dirt. We hope to return and spend longer relaxing there one day after our all too brief stay

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredberrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $162 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing