We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B experiences anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Sycamore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B experiences anywhere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife Nancy and I visited here in May 2014. It is a place to stay more than one night. It starts by an warm greeting from the host who is resides here with her husband. They are not, however, the owners. We were greeted with scones and cappuccinos, but tea would have been standard if desired. As the name indicates, this community reflects the Dutch period of colonization. The breakfast had three courses with eggs cooked to order and a nice selection of fruit and pastries. It is a leisurely experience that should not be rushed. Our room was one of several units attached to the main house. They provided turn down service with hot water bottles in the bed to keep your feet warm. It was a bit chilly late in May there. It is considered a safe area and we walked a few blocks to an excellent dinner establishment without feeling the need to take a cab. This was a rarity in South Africa. This was simply a wonderful experience and is worth paying a bit more than the typical B&B in South Africa along the Garden Route.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
193
673
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Sadly my wife and I stayed here only one night. The property is beautiful, but what makes it perfect is the warm and friendly welcome we received. We loved the gardens and our room was delightful; as it was a cold night we lit a fire. The decor of the bedroom is very tasteful and the bathroom had a full size tub and separate shower. We were invited to drinks in the main house prior to dinner outside - it was like catching up with old friends.

The next day we enjoyed a delicious breakfast whilst our car was being washed ready for the next stage of our trip.

A lovely stay and we thoroughly recommend Schoone Oordt Country House. Our only complaint is that it will take us over 16 hours travelling by plane and car for our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West University Place, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent one night here and wished it would have been more. Upon our arrival on a chilly So. Africa winter night our room had a lovely fire that kept us warm. Our hostess helped unload the car, brought us some drinks and left us to settle into our large room.

Breakfast was three courses with drinks, breads, a cold buffet and a hot menu. Our waiter had never met an American and so we were pleased by his enthusiasm for meeting guests from a new locale. All in, the staff was delightful. the room was large and stocked with coffee, teas, and biscuits. The water (if you are wondering) from the tap is fine. The bathroom has one of the largest soaking tubs I have seen with oils (burning) and bath salts.

The grounds were fun. There is an unheated pool and circular yard; there are little walkways here and there, and a garden in the back.

and...if you love dogs there is a large husky that we spent at least an hour playing with. We so missed our dog; this was an exceptional treat to find a sweet large dog here. We would go back for the lodging, but the dog sealed the deal!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that has an outdoor veranda. they are private and very quiet. The room by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Schoone Oordt is everything that a country hotel should be; comfortable, warm, characterful and hosted by highly attentive yet unassuming staff who give you just the right amount of attention. The love that the owners have poured into this renovation of an old Victorian classic is evident everywhere and their attention to detail is unfaltering. We were lucky enough to enjoy the light, airy and well heated honeymoon suite for 2 nights and ate dinner in the conservatory on one of them. The chef is highly skilled and offers a wonderfully uncomplicated yet modern interpretation of country cooking. We ate out the second night in a very good restaurant nearby but missed the comfort of the huge lounge and fireplace so much that we went back early to enjoy dessert in front of the fire place. If you are either too foolish or too unlucky to eat dinner at Schoone Oordt then you can still enjoy their extraordinary breakfasts, catered with the same flair and finesse as dinner. Any enquiry placed at reception is always greeted with both information and an offer to arrange things on your behalf and the positioning of the property is within walking distance of most of the town's historic sites and local eateries. We struggled to leave this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1mz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for this truly exceptional review. You've managed to capture the essence of Schoone Oordt so perfectly and your kind words have made us very proud and very happy. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you in September. With love from the entire Schoone Oordt Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Richard and I chose to hold our wedding reception at the beautiful Schoone Oordt. It's quite difficult to describe just how special Schoone Oordt is. With just 6 weeks to plan this wedding Sonette, Alison and Wander made it all seem so effortless. Wander - Your food is the stuff dreams are made of, I have no words. The honeymoon suite was phenomenal, the attention to detail was incredible. Truly best night of my life. We have so many happy memories. Thank you for being so helpful, patient, passionate, unpretentious and sincere, it was an absolute pleasure to deal with you and we would do it all over again in a heartbeat! We will be back very soon xx

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite wins, hands down, private veranda and the sounds of the stream passing by are a defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerosene83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Oh Kerry, thank you, thank you for this very special review. You warmed our hearts and made us very happy on reading it this morning. We wish the two of you many many years of love and laughter together and so look forward to sharing an anniversary at Schoone Oordt with you :)
With love from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The attention to detail in this beautiful 5 star Guest House is faultless. Staff and management are very efficient and friendly. This establishment is within walking distance of historical sites of Swellendam. I can certainly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the moment you drive through the gates to the minute you leave, the staff at Schoone Oordt make you feel like you are the only guests there.

Brilliant service, highly recommended. The Breakfast was absolutely delicious, we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing