We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in picturesque Swellendam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in picturesque Swellendam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms, the hotel and grounds are all so beautifully maintained. The staff were really helpful and personable, taking the time to recommend restaurants and activities to make our stay perfect.

The food was also really excellent so a good spot for dinner even if you aren't staying. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Han2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
184
661
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

A wonderful country hotel, that offers such personal service, and luxurious comfort, you feel like royalty. We had a truly fantastic stay, one night was not enough. The homebaked spread for tea and breakfast are just delicious and one of the many examples of what makes this place so special. Do yourself a huge favour and stay there next time you pass by Swellendam, you will be so grateful you did. We will definitely be back. And our children can't wait to see Shadow, the resident dog, who was quite happy to have them shower him in love. From start to finish, this hotel is an absolute treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Best hotel we stayed in during a two week holiday. Attention to detail marks this hotel apart from others, both in the standard of the rooms and the level of service. An interesting old building with beautiful touches. You need to stay more than one night here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

An exceptional stay. The warmth of the welcome and the attention to detail shown (for instance the hot water bottle popped into my wife's side of the bed without asking!) were very special. We made the mistake of only booking for one night and it wasn't enough.

Alison and all her staff are so enthusiastic and charming that it was a real pleasure to stay here and to learn a little of their stories. They are creating something quite special at Schoone Oordt which is worth going out of your way for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had only one night at Schoone en route to Knysna from Cape Town, and wished we could have stayed so much longer. It is undoubtedly one of the best places we have ever stayed. Fabulous room, the warmest welcome, unexpected and delicious tea (including easter eggs for the children and my husband!) after a long drive, blissfully comfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom equipped with the most wonderful pampering products. Alison and her brilliant team went out of their way to make us all feel welcome (including our 6 and 4 year old children and didn't flinch when felt tip ended up on the tablecloth, but produced some Schoone colouring pads for them!). Dinner was delicious and we especially appreciated the healthy meal specially made for our children, but probably best of all was breakfast - a sensation! Really can't recommend this wonderful place highly enough. To complete the magical stay we stopped at the Faerie sanctuary on our way out - crazy, but our two children loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms look like they'd be lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240AbbieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent one night at Schoone Oordt while travelling through the Garden Route. This little hotel exceeded our expectations BY FAR! From Fideney's warm welcome on arrival (and constant attention thereafter) to the complimentary afternoon high tea, the beautiful conservatory, the excellent breakfast and dinner, not to mention a complimentary upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite - everything was perfect. The room was so comfortable and finding a hot-water bottle in our bed when we returned from dinner, together with a bottle of champagne waiting to be popped and chocolates on the bedside table, just added to a stunning experience! Would love to return on day ....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Schooner Oordt is a lovely restored hotel whose owners spent a great deal of time and money to make this place a very charming and welcome place to stay. We stayed here for one night on our way back to Cape Town from Ado Elephant Park. We were lucky enough to be greeted by the owner, Alison. We had a great conversation with her during our dinner where we talked about restoring this house as well as the culture of South Africa. She also spent time with us at breakfast and wished us a fond farewell. The rooms were very nice, large, comfortable and equipped with organic bath amenities. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and I was surprised and amazed at the quality of the food which was very upscale for a farming town - nice job to the chef, Obi. Also the staff (meaning Findley), was especially helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to stay in the Swellendam area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Lynda

Thank you so much for this stunning review! We read it out to our team (especially Obi and Fidiney) to beaming smiles and happy happy hearts. Your kindness encourages us all and we thank you for that.

We look forward to visiting with you again.

With love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing