We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored Victorian boutique hotel with exquisite service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored Victorian boutique hotel with exquisite service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't make the same mistake that we did and only stay for 1 night at this lovingly restored Victorian hotel in Swellendam (a perfect stop over between Cape Town and Plettennberg Bay). This place has a real sense of purpose - from the selection of some of the most beautiful objects of furniture to the immersion in the local community to the dedication to sustainability. But most of all Alison and her team understand the most fundamental thing about being a hotelier - service. The attention to detail is simply outstanding.  You will leave relaxed, revived and ready to rock!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Oh Helen, thank you for SUCH a gracious and beautiful review. We so loved getting to know you and eagerly await your next visit!
With love from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
185
668
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very friendly and personal place definitely worth visiting in the Garden Route - go, if you are into romantic properties! Enjoy a lovely breakfast menu (starter and main) which is renewed every single day. In addition you've got Alison's fantastic homemade granola, fresh fruit and the usual bits and bobs. Surprisingly enough our car was cleaned every morning!
There's a beautiful pool on the property - so should you not feel like hiking - or be returning from one of the area's beautiful nature reserves - hang out there... and wait for the delicious dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited South Africa for my 50th birthday. Stayed at the Schoone Oordt on our way between Cape and Garden route. We should have ended our trip there and enjoy relaxing in the wonderful place. This is a place to relax and enjoy epicurean lifestyle.
Alison and the Schoone Oordt team made us feel right at home from stepping our of the car. The hosting, food, wine and the house were just perfect !
Now back in the snow, we reflect on these memorable moment and already plan our return.
Thanks to the Schoone Oordt team for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Everything about this place was absolutely fabulous! When we arrived, we couldn't have felt more welcome. We got scones and brownies with locally produced jam (from the berry farm - you should go there and try the chilli jam- jummy!) and goat cheese. Allison is a very good host and showed us the lovely room. Everything is just right here, Alison and her husband put a lot of effort in renovating the place and paid a lot of attention in the details. And the breakfast, also amazing. I think it's the most beautiful place we have even been...GO!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly - all staff and the owners throughout our stay - we felt at home

The food is fresh and tasty abd there's so much to eat (diet goes in hold while you stay here!) with delicious afternoon tea served at 4 overlooking the gardens and wonderful breakfast with daily changed menu all inclusive
We ate the first night as bank holiday for Mandibas funeral meant most local eateries were closed - it was delicious and one of the best meals of our trip

The garden cottage was spacious enough however would have benefitted from a mirror close to a hairdryer plug and some chairs to sit on inside the room - otherwise great bathroom / bed / linen / toiletries / kitchen facilities

Definitely recommended - Alison and the team are super and our boys appreciated the tips for Cape Town too

We will definitely return nxt time on the garden route

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsFamilyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had just 1night here , (you do not need more )! The hostess was not very welcoming and made the whole experience very difficult and strange from the beginning. The house is very nice and you can see a lot of effort has gone into it but the lack of service really let our visit down . The chef was good .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
After a lovely run of beautiful reviews, we are SO saddened to read this one. We pride ourselves specifically on our service, our food and our attention to detail and to hear that we disappointed you is awful. We deeply apologise and would honestly love the opportunity to make it up to you.

With love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A few short years ago,Swellendam was primarily a "pit stop" on the N2 motorway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the famous Garden Route of South Africa.
Travellers would divert off the N2 and rest and refresh at the many coffee shops on the main street and quickly resume their journey.
What a change in Swellendam today!!
The town has now become a destination in its own right, and the range of top quality accommodation,fine restaurants,excellent cafes, coffee shops,and artisan outlets make a night stop,or longer,most inviting.
My wife and I decided on an overnight stay after reading the very high ratings which Trip Advisor reviewers gave to The Schoone Oordt Hotel.
We were not disappointed,and rather than repeat all of the plaudits which this charming Hotel has already received,I will sum it up by saying that it was beyond our expectations.
Alison and Richard Walker have lovingly restored the main house to a splendid reincarnation of it's glory days and the accommodation and cuisine are world class.
A special thank you to our Waiter, Sydney,who although nervous as he was just starting in his new job,was so efficient and friendly that he added greatly to the enjoyment of our dinner.
A truly special place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing