We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably beautiful, with attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

On a recent road trip up the N2, we found ourselves in the quaint little town of Swellendam. We opted for Schoone Oordt as we had heard about it through friends who had stayed there before.

The property itself is just breathtaking, and from the minute you arrive, the personal service kicks in the minute you step out of your car. Greeted with a warm welcome smile and escorted into the lounge area of the restaurant, you are offered a complimentary drink and cheese plate - how unexpected, but very welcomed.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and every little thing thought of - from beautiful smelling shampoos and conditioners to throat lozengers and ear buds.

The food is sublime in the restaurant, to international standards.

I would highly recommend this country estate to locals and international visitors alike!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

All the personnel were friendly and made us feel welcome. Excellent food and lovely atmosphere. The room was private, spacious and well cared for. Attention to small detail made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We had a lovely weekend and will definitely go back when we have the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elrika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sadly we had only booked one night but as soon as we arrived we wished we had chosen to stay longer. Swellendam is a lovely country town and Schoone Oordt was a fantastic find on the internet. Vander and Sonette were most welcoming in a friendly, laidback kind of way. The room was full of character and comfortable in every way. I have never seen a bed made with such precision, perfectly laundered linen. The bathroom was a delight and local toiletries were a nice touch. The pool area in the garden was beautiful, just wish we had longer to enjoy it. We had dinner at the hotel which was superb, great food served by delightful staff in a lovely conservatory setting. Breakfast was equally as good. Having read other reports we have now solved the mystery of how our car got cleaned along the way. Another example of extraordinary lengths the staff went to to make our stay so pleasant but all carried out in a professional, no-fuss manner. When we return to inevitably cold, wet Britain this is the type of place we will wish we can return to more often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Rob
A huge and heartfelt thank you for your generous review of our little Swellendam hotel. Your words fill our soul. Thank you. We SO look forward to visiting with you again... Keep dry and warm until then.
With love from the Schoone Oordt Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May, the service was excellent, the food absolutely fabulous and the scenery fantastic. It is a historical property that was restored to perfection. I did trail/street running around the area, running through the nature reserve and through the streets of the village - excellent experience. the management team was excellent, prepared sumptuous meals and were very friendly. the rooms were very good. congratulations to Sonette and her husband for an excellent job.

Room Tip: If you are a jogger, try running through the nature reserve. There is also a good golf course close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonMeteloLiquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. It is more like a small boutique hotel than a guest house. The house is beautiful and has been marvellously restored by Alison and Richard. The rooms are set in the garden and are wonderful with so much attention to detail and extremely comfortable. Sadly we only stayed 1 night and what a superb night that was thanks to Alison's warm welcome. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent and the service was very good. Alison was training 2 new waitresses and they were lovely, Alison's attention to detail of their training was such a pleasure to see and I am sure the girls will have a great future working here. The chef came for a chat after our meal this again shows how exceptional the place is run. We cannot reccommend this highly enough and thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Rubies
Thank you ever so much for your stunning review and for mentioning me by name in such a kind and lovely way! You honestly made my day and confirmed all over again why I truly love what I do. Sesley-Ann & Shanice are turning out to be little waitressing stars and they look forward to showing off their skills on your next visit.
Until then, with love
Alison and the Schoone Oordt Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is quite simply one of the best boutique hotels that I've visited. Aside the lovely spacious garden room, the beautifully restored house and the excellent breakfast (The best I've eaten in South Africa), the service is first class. My wife and I stayed for one night and could not have been more impressed. During our breakfast the staff noticed that one of our car tyres had gone flat overnight, helpful in itself, but we did not expect that by the time we'd finished our breakfast the wheel would have been changed and the car ready to go!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorcster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located in the center of the old part of town, to view the interior is worth the stay, the service is excellent, like other good hotel in South Africa, they take the time to wash your car in the morning. They also take the time to serve you cocktail and snack by the pool at he end of the afternoon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
368 reviews
24.7 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
275 reviews
2 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
656 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $194 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing