We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed one night at Schoone Oordt Country House, but would happily stay there again. It is in a good location, just on the edge of the historic part of Swellendam. Our room (and bathroom) were huge and had an open fire, which was lovely. They also put a hot water bottle in our bed after dinner, which was a nice touch. It's the only place I've been that serves a 3 course breakfast! It was very nice food and all the staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
185
668
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Schoone Oordt and were made to feel so welcome by Sonette and Wander. The family cottage, set in the garden nicely apart from the old main house, was perfect for the 3 of us, and our 12 yo son loved having his own space in the loft. The bathroom was lovely with all sorts of bathtime goodies. The cottage also has a mini-kitchen and a nice verandah for the summer months.

Breakfast is a 5 star event at SO, served in a relaxed style in the airy conservatory. I had forgotten to mention on arrival that I have to eat gluten free as a coeliac, but chef Wander was unperturbed and quickly made me some fantastic GF 'flapjacks' (aka American style pancakes). The buffet had everything you could wish for and more, and we were introduced to the wonders of vanilla rooibos tea. They are starting to serve evening meals soon, which should be a real treat.

Swellendam is a nice relaxed town superbly set against the backdrop of the Overberg mountains, and has many historic buildings - the main house at Schoone Oordt dates back to 1853. It also has unexpectedly good restaurants - we had excellent meals at both La Sosta and Field & Fork (full reviews elsewhere), and great gourmet sandwiches from the excellent Tredici deli next to the N2.

Swellendam and Schoone Oordt provide a great base to explore the Overberg. We visited the excellent De Hoop reserve on the coast, a great place for Southern Right Whale, and the very pleasant Bontebok National Park just a few clicks from Swellendam (Bontebok are endearing, endangered, endemic antelope only found in the Cape). Great area generally for wildlife viewing and birding.

Thanks to everyone at Schoone Oordt for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lizz

What a stunning stunning stunning review!!!! Thank you so much. Your review has made our week. Come back to our little country hotel in Swellendam soon. We loved visiting with you.

With love from the Schoone Oordt family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A complete package. Caring, attentive and friendly hosts, comfortable rooms with all you could want (and more), made complete by great food. Wander and Sonette make sure that a stay here is a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much Graham. Sonette & Wander loved having you to stay and your kind words encourage us all. We look forward to your speedy return to our little country hotel in Swellendam.

With love
The Schoone Oordt family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was already dark when we arrived so we could not immediately experience the beautiful grounds. Upon arrival, we found out that we had been upgraded and were staying in the honeymoon suite. What a nice surprise. The room was gorgeous and filled with antiques. The managers were wonderful. Since we were late, they provided us with a nice tray of cheese, fruit and crackers. In the morning, we were greeted with a gourmet breakfast. We unfortunately only had the one night here. If we are ever in Swellendam again, we will definitely stay at Schoone Oordt for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. During a recent 2 night stay, I found the service to be impeccable. We arrived after dark and the managers were there to greet and assistance. The fireplace in the room was lit and we were made very comfortable. The next morning, the breakfast served was superb which included a special house muesli (homemade and best ever), Eggs Benedict along with the best bacon I have eaten. The food was beyond excellent both mornings for breakfast. The management team, manager and chef, were absolutely fantastic hosts. A neighboring property light (newly installed) shined into our room through the blinds however once the management was informed a fix was put in place and no light shone into the room the second night. Very attentive to guest needs and concerns. Nightly turn down and chocolate on the pillow, a nice touch. Will stay again on next trip to Swellendam. A great place to stay and very relaxing environment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for such a special review. We had such an interesting time chatting with you. Thank you for loving Swellendam. We do too and really look forward to your next visit. Take care of yourselves.
With love,
All of us at Schoone Oordt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful Guest House for two nights in August. Besides being a truly beautiful property, the quality of service and beautifully appointed rooms make for a wonderful experience. Our room had a fireplace, crisp white linen, lovely bathroom amenities, all the things that make you feel spoilt and pampered. The staff could not do enough for us and treated us to the most amazing breakfasts in a stunning breakfast room overlooking beautiful gardens. Highly recommend this guest house to anyone staying over in Swellendam. We loved it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed, spacious with lovely fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaWhisperGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This was truly an experience that made us feel like royality. Our meals were custom made to our request. Breakfast was served at 11am (we slept in each day). We needed a place to do email so they brought us down a desk.

Beautiful and charming boutique hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing