We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in the South African wine country!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling around in South Africa and the Schoone Oordt Country House was by far our favorite lodging. The accommodations were simply charming and the service was impeccable - right down to washing our car before we left. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Schoone Oordt in March. At the time we were contemplating whether to take all 3 children, 1, 3, 6. We did end up taking everyone. We stayed in a beautiful family 'cottage' with an upstairs for the children, small kitchenette, did not need anything bigger, it was just to put baby's milk in the fridge etc. We had just come from the Arabella and the small touches and attention to detail at Schoone Oordt were so appreciated, candles, flowers etc. it does not take much, but makes such a difference. Off to the pool area, which is really beautiful, huge grass area for kids to run and big balls and blow up toys in the pool are always a hit. Throw in a gin and tonic and we were all very happy. Wander was cooking dinner that evening and said he had made arrangements for the children’s meals as well- really I had to bring them all to dinner!? Not sure how stressful that was going to be, but sure we would give it a try....The 'conservatory' area where dinner is served reminds me of those colonial houses, with white floor, big palms and ceiling fans that are on all the time. Big windows that make you feel like you are in a green house overlooking the garden, it’s such a lovely space. To my children’s delight Wander gave them medallions of fillet, shoestring fries and crisp broccoli, followed by chocolate cookie and ice cream. They then ventured to the garden to collect acorns and were very happy to run around until we were finished, was the most relaxed dinner we have had in ages! Our dinner was also superb, only downside was that the following evening we had to eat somewhere else! Room was turned down and very welcoming when we got back. Breakfast the next day, was also excellent. Sonette helped us plan some family things to do and by the Sunday, we had had the most amazing weekend in Swellendam. Very fond memories for the whole family and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Oh my! We're so happy and humbled to have had this recent run of really REALLY amazing reviews. Thank you very much, Sasha, ChrBrd & Taryn.

Your words of encouragement and praise mean so much to me, Richard, Wander, Sonette and the rest of the Schoone Oordt family. We're constantly striving to make our little country hotel the best of Swellendam accommodation and your words encourage us to do more and better. Thank you. Thank you.

We so look forward to spending more time with all of you. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This has to be one of my best travel experiences in a long time... everything was fantastic, from the reception -- staff waiting with umbrellas in pouring rain -- to the warm water bottle put in your bed during evening turn down. The breakfast was the best I've had in years: a good buffet, and then a choice of excellent breakfast courses. I had the poached pear, served with yoghurt and nuts: sublime. The rooms (little cottages on the grounds of the old Victorian house that serves as restaurant and sitting room) are large and very well equipped, including a fireplace :-) Great bathroom too, with an excellent shower. Free wifi, of course, as well as a beautiful garden and pool. And did I mention the fantastic service... What a great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1 and 2, which were a bit higher up and had great views and the garden and the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What an amazing little gem! So glad I stayed here, it's the little things that stood out, the well prepared fireplace everynight, bath goodies next to the bath etc. Breakfasts are simply out of this world, dinner the Saturday night an absolute feast! I was so well looked after, everyone was so friendly and happy to help, I felt pampered from the moment I arrived, and completely replenished when I left. Well done Sonette, Wander and the team!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarynC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a wonderful treat!! From the moment we made contact with Schoone Oordt, via a website enquiry, until we dragged ourselves away back home we were treated like royalty! Every interaction was professional, they were very accommodating and everything just happened smoothly. Sonette and Wander really spoilt us into the ground and Wander is certainly a true master of his vocation. Breakfast will never be the same again – ever! Dinner too was a truly gastronomic experience and the cherry on top of a delightful weekend visit to the lovely, quaint and historic town of Swellendam. We can highly recommend a visit to Schoone Oordt and we certainly cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvarML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this wonderful place for 3 nights and its absolutely superb. From arrival to departure it doesn't let you down! The breakfast was the best I've had and the tasting menu was even better. What makes a place is the people! Warm, friendly and always accommodating. We want one in England and we want to go back! Keep up the amazing work! X

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

As soon as I looked to the hotel facade, I got absolutely impressed. What a fantastic old house. Then, we stepped in and were received for a very attentive staff which offered us an afternoon brunch free of charge, and it was delicious. The rooms are impeccable furnished and clean. Breakfast was also very good. There’s a beautiful backyard with a pool where you can spend a good time. Regarding location, since Swellendam is a pretty small town, everywhere you stay is close to everything. Moreover, they serve a very popular and delicious dinner, so book in advance. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 39 in Swellendam
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $189 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing