We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at The Schoone Oordt Country House for one night and it was the best night of our 3 weeks holiday.
This place is amazing, every detail is thought about, staff is absolutely lovely and food is fantastic!
And above all it is reasonably priced for the level of quality you receive.
We will make sure that we are staying there on our next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ponkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

A truly wonderful small hotel in a beautiful historic town. Sonnette and Wander could not be warmer hosts. The mansion has been restored with the utmost care and attention to detail and the newly-added suites are extremely comfortable and tasteful. For families with children there are the family suites which are duplex and even include a kitchenette. Like our son children will fall in love with the gentle house dog, Shadow. Meals are a highlight here, with gorgeous breakfasts consisting of three courses and uncomplicated but sophisticated dinners prepared and served with care. Wander should be proud of everything served to guests in the lovely conservatory, which even includes complimentary afternoon tea. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here and would recommend Schoone Oordt to anyone visiting Swellendam.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank 17lydia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

From the 1st contact via mail until the last handshake while leaving Schoone Oordt, we felt the warm hospitality of Wander and Sonette! No plastic fantastic service, but they really care about the welbeing of their guests. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and well decorated.The shower so great that I did not want to leave it..:-). We spent Christmas here so Wander had an evening off and we had diner somewhere else. A real pity when I saw wat he'd prepared for breakfast... We should have stayed 2 nights, being completely pampered anyway....
The day we arrived everything in Swellendam was closed and Wander prepared us a cheese platter without us asking for it... His comment: "no one in South Africa should be hungry...:-)" And it was complimentary... what made it evenmore special. There is only one tiny thing that could be improved... In a 5 star place like this, there should be limitless internet connection. Not 1 code per room that can be used on 1 machine per room. Not a big deal but something you can probably work on.
Thanks again for the warm hospitality and the lovely present we found in our room.
Next time when we return we'll defenitely stay 2 nights minimum!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear bredero5

Thank you so much for your wonderful wonderful review as well as your suggestion on updating the way guests login to our internet. We have now put a simple login and password in place which enables all guests to have limitless access from ALL of their technology. We are very grateful for your constructive feedback and glad that we could better our service!

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The best place to stay in Swellendam, lovely garden and swimming pool! Great staff and the breakfast is a real culinary experience. The rooms are a nice size and they all have en-suite bathrooms with separate shower and bath. Plus in the winter the rooms must be nice and warm as they have a fire place. For those traveling with a car there is a Private parking and your car can be washed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandycou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The B&B lived up to all the reviews including the charming Honeymoon Suite with the toiletries from Rain.

We had a 3 course dinner which was delightfully served & lived up to my expectation. The brekkie was awesome with baked apple on yoghurt & Egg Benedict on toast & ham.

We truly appreciate the washing of the car for a brand new start of the journey.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights, on rout to Wilderness in the honey moon suite.
Firstly we received a warm welcome from Alison and her staff, the house has been restored lovingly and is very comfortable and stylish. The suite is huge and very private with a beautiful bathroom. We had a most deliciouse dinner in the lovely dinning room, cooked to perfection. The pool area is relaxing and the gardens are beautiful.
The attention to detail was amazing, I would highly recommend this superb hotel and thank you to Alison and all the staff for making this a memorable stay on our tour of South Africa.
Rod and Wendy McDonald

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was perfect! We really enjoyed the hospitality. Alison, you´re wonderful! The beautiful house and our honeymoon suite and the perfect breakfast. We loved it. Even the Pool was great. Thanks for the good time!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Ah Christina, you're pretty wonderful too! Thank you for such a beautiful review.
With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 39 in Swellendam
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $199 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing