We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place truly is a gem. We stayed for a night to break up our journey between Cape Town and Knysna, we could have quite happily stayed another night. The guest house and it's grounds are absolutely beautiful. Their attention to detail is amazing. A highly recommend stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
185
666
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stunning historic building in a beautiful surounding. Service like a 5* hotel and most sophisticated interiour made it to be the most beautiful little hotel wie had in ZA. Several nice restaurants within a 5 min. walk. And unique breakfast served as a 3 course menu. It was a good alternative for us to the seaside hotels on our way to the Garden Route. Especially recommend Cape Agulhas with its less touristic environment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We truly didn't expect such an impressive stay in a small hotel like this in the country: Such a very warm welcome on arrival, such tasteful furnishings, such a comfortable room with lovely view and with the sound of a bubbling fountain just outside.
The owners took exceptional care to restore the original buildings and furnishings, too, which led us to walk around examining and admiring their attention to detail.
Even at the time of reservations, Sonette was so helpful in recommending a restaurant for dinner and booking a table for us. (It was the Koornlands Restaurant, which was very good.)
In the morning, we went for breakfast to find that our car had been washed that morning, something which they do as a normal courtesy for their guests!
The pool and its surrounding furniture looked so inviting, too. Unfortunately, it wasn't nearly the right weather to enjoy it while we were there. It was the kind of setting that would be ideal for enjoying a few hours reading and admiring the beautiful ambiance of the garden around it.
This hotel would make me want to include Swellendam again on our next visit to South Africa,
even if it required a detour.
I'll add that we also enjoyed the visit to the town museum buildings, each from a different period and with furnishing of the time. We actually learned more here about Cape Dutch history than we did in similar visits in Cape Town and Stellenbosch. The Bontebok reserve is only a short distance away, too, and has a variety of easy walks, often along the Brede River.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so grateful for this run of truly excellent reviews. Thank you all so much, firstly, for choosing to stay with us when there is such an abundance of fabulous accommodation in Swellendam and secondly, for taking the time to write such kind and supportive words.

Thank you too for supporting Swellendam - it's a wonderful little piece of South Africa and we love it!

Hope to see you all again soon.

With love,
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough. Wow! From the friendly reception we received from our hosts, Alison & Richard (I must also mention Shadow, the wonderful husky - we're husky lovers with 2 of our own) to the beautifully restored manor house to the delicious gourmet breakfast.

The guest rooms are beautifully decorated and well-appointed. The attention to detail in the rooms is incredible, such as; proper filter coffee with real milk, yummy homemade rusks, handmade bath salts, soaps and lotions in the bathroom and luxurious bathrobes embroidered with Schoone Oordt's crest. The bathrooms are large with a free-standing bath, walk-in shower and twin basins. I'm not normally a bath guy (much prefer showers), however I couldn't resist a relaxing soak with the lavender salts before venturing out to dinner.

In each room there's a large wood-burning fireplace that certainly sets the scene! We had a slightly chilly spring evening while at Schoone Oordt, but the room was perfectly snug once we got the fire roaring.

The manicured gardens are so pretty with a great pool and loungers - wonderful for those scorching summer days with the sound of trickling of water from the fountains.

Not only is the Schoone Oordt perfect if you wish to stopover during the drive to/from the Garden Route, but is also makes a stunning exclusive weekend break from Cape Town. Just over 2-hours from Cape Town, it's closer than you think.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are worth the extra. Entrance directly from the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro35_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful rooms, stunning grounds, excellent breakfasts, welcome drinks, perfect position, very well priced, lovely town- we''ll be sending everyone to Schooner Oordt. We cannot speak now highly if this destination.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimilepieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Everything from the warm welcome to the beautiful setting, lovely room, restaurant recommendation and breakfast was amazing. Sonette even made a dinner reservation for us before our arrival, knowing that the restaurants would be busy. It's amazing to see the vision and passion that went into the renovation of this beautiful property. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoleSabbiaEMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in room 4 (one of the garden luxury suites) for 2 nights with dinner on the first night. We had stayed in Swellendam before and knew that the standard of accommodation here is high. Schoone Oordt lived up to all our expectations. A lovely welcome from Sonette who showed us to our delightful, large, friendly room with terrace overloking the garden. Excellent large bed and wonderful bathroom/shower and cosmetics. (locally produced and we called to buy some when leaving). Fridge and bathrobes in room but no safe. Very quiet. peaceful surrounds with easy walking into town and the many restauants. Ideal infact. Safe parking and a clean car every morning!! Lovely pool.
We booked ahead (you need to) and were treated to a tasting menu dinner - prepared by the very able Wander and discussed in detail with us - as well as two delightful (and very different) breakfasts. Everything here is thought out and happens very naturally. Attention to detail is everywhere. Lovely wood fire in the room which (by suggestion of Sonette) was lit at turndown to welcome us back from dinner.
Enjoyed lovely day touring the Bontebok reserve (excellent bird watching) before dinner at Field and Fork restauant on our second night. Close and good.
Schoone Oordt is a must for a stay in Swellendam. We shall not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: The wood fires in the garden /luxury suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Property: Schoone Oordt Country House
Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing