We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel in Swellendam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoone Oordt Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We were on honeymoon and having seen the website decided to stay at this guest house. It certainly did not disappoint. Swellendam is not the most inspiring town but a stay here is worth it.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Wander, who is the jovial landlord, and he made us feel at ease immediately. After he had helped us inload our car we went and had sharpeners with him in the wonderful colonial house. He was an excellent host.

We went back to our room and then for a walk at the local reserve. The room was immaculate, peaceful and just what we dreamed of. Very spoiling and very well fitted. There is a lovely swimming pool and beautifully tended gardens.

Wander is planning to open a formal restaurant for guests in January and so we opted to try his tasting menu. Boy we were not disappointed and with the help of Sonette (Wander's wife) we had the most delightful evening. We ate things we would not have normally chosen from a menu and Wander made these course melt in our mouths. They had the most excellent range of local wines and as well a stocked bar as I have ever seen. The Dining Room is lovely and looks out over the garden. There is also a traditional Brai space there.

Then there was breakfast too and that was sensational. We loved our stay there so much it could not have been bettered. All the staff are delightful, the whole estate is beautifully kept and we just loved it.

Do not pass Swellendam without staying at Schoone Oordt,

Room Tip: Just have a chat online with Sonette prior to arrival to ensure you get everything you want. They we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear Harry

What a phenomenal review. Thank you so much.
I know that Wander & Sonette loved having you to stay and we're so pleased that you had such an excellent time. We're honoured to have been able to share part of your special holiday with you and hope you'll return for your first anniversary!

With love,
Alison, Wander, Sonette and the Schoone Oordt team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is one of the loveliest hotels that we have stayed at.Absolutely wonderful interior.comfort levels and service.We were the only people at the hotel on our 1 night stay but we were assured they are usually busy.We were therefore upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was huge and beautifully furnished.You could have had a party in the bathroom and it was the largest walk in shower area I have ever seen.Everything that you needed was available- from the bath and shower gels to tea/coffee facilities in a small kitchen area.
Breakfast was superb and cooked by the chef just for us!
I cannot say how lovely this place is and would love to return.
The only negative pont is that the photo of the front of the building is a little misleading as the hotel is actually in a biult up area of Swellendam and not alone in a large plot.This did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay though.This is a small piece of heaven!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Helen

A HUGE thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Thank you too for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely apologise for not being quite what you expected initially, but we're very pleased that we still managed to impress you!

We hope that you loved your South African trip overall and will come back and see us all again!

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A fantastic place, enough luxury to last for years and a place you just have to see! Do not pass Swellendam without staying at Schoone Oordt, it will change your life!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDawg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

WOW, WOW, WOW! What a wonderful, friendly, homely yet sophisticated and elegant corner of a small town. We left Sonette and Wander's hospitality feeling very spoilt and refreshed. Small details made this stay special. From the homemade fudge being cooked up in the kitchen (which we were allowed to enter and be a part of), to the car being washed while we enjoyed a scrumptous breakfast - these are the things that make one feel pampered and yet comfortable.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If ever we return to sweet little Swellendam, there is no place we would stay at other than Schoone Oordt. Arriving in the late afternoon, we were warmly greeted by Sonette and shown to our room, and it was a lovely, lovely surprise to find that we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite (without even having to ask!). The room was UTTERLY beautiful. Four-poster bed, log fireplace, wall-mounted flat screen TV, and a bathroom so huge you could have a party in it. After freshening up, we were treated to drinks and a cheese board. Sonette really took the time to chat with us; we truly appreciated being made to feel so welcome. Dinner reservations had already been made for us as well; all that was left to do was for us to enjoy the town! Schoone Oordt is ideally situated for this as it is on one of the main roads and we didn’t have to drive to go exploring. The next morning, there was an amazing breakfast spread with absolutely the best muesli I have ever eaten (and I’ve eaten a lot!), and for a hot breakfast we were treated to stuffed poached pears and French toast. We were SO sad to leave!

Room Tip: Beautiful old building, large and well-kept grounds, an ideal place for a destination wedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heythatsmycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Schoone Oordt is reminiscent of the grand old ladies of Victorian times but with a crisp, jazzed-up twist. Breakfasts are yum-ee and made with fresh local produce. Our hosts, Richard and Alison are warm, friendly masters of attention to detail that includes: A welcome drink or two, nightly turndown service with pillow treats, a goodnight note with a weather forecast (useful when planning excursions), a well stocked mini bar with wine and bubbles (ideal for beach picnics), locally produced pamper products, complimentary car wash and much more. We were surprised at how much Swellendam has to offer not just from a historical perspective but also in terms of nearby nature reserves, whale watching, locally grown and produced products (fab jam and liqueur tasting), and an incredible dinner at La Sosta Italian Restaurant. And you simply cannot pass up the opportunity to visit the museum complex to be entertained by its curator, Miemie, who was born and bred in Swellendam. We spent three nights at Schoone Oordt. It was insufficient. You really should stay at least another day. When you do have to leave be sure to ask your hosts for directions to Happy Hog Farm to purchase some bacon - the very same served on your breakfast plate at the guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicolaPierceKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This stately mansion is elegance and sophistication at its best. The minute you enter the property you know it is special. The original house has been lovingly and tastefully renovated and updated and the perfectly manicured grounds have been transformed into modern rooms that blend beautifully with the Victorian homestead. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The massive bathroom with its antique toilet flusher offers a wide assortment of excellent cleansing products, the huge fireplace actually works and you can savour freshly baked cookies to accompany the coffee that is provided in room. The staff at Schoone Oorde understands elegant hospitality. Evening turndown service is the norm as is the washing by hand of your vehicle while you relax over your gourmet and sumptuous breakfast. Excellent management team. As travel agents we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STSMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
17.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $167 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing