We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and hospitable hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and hospitable hosts”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms and bathroom were very spacious but would make the suggestion that airconditioning would be an asset. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, Chris and Joy, even down to supplying a cool bag and ice packs. Excellent location for exploring the area and very easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
52
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here overnight on the way down the garden route. The rooms were clean tidy and comfortable. Swellendam is a charming town with many historic buildings, we ate at a local Italian restaurant called La Sosta which was exellent.
Our hosts Chris and Joy where very hospitable and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewandjane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town, south africa
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The place was so easy to find and close to all facilities. We were warmly welcomed. The warm anf friendly hospitality from Chris and Joy made our stay wonderful. The rooms were beautiful and very luxurious. We will definitely be back to stay in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed overnight en route from Knysna to the Winelands. Very easy to find & well located set back from the road with secure access. Very comfortable room with spacious bathroom. Definitley needs air conditioning though, even with the fan on the room was incredibly hot, granted there was a heatwave while we were there.
We had dinner at a steak restaurant at the other end of town recommended by Chris & had the best steaks ever although it was 'slow food' & fortunately we weren't in a rush.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egmond aan Zee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

My Wife, daughter and me stayed here one night.The rooms are superb, spacious and very clean with likewise bathroomfacilities.The owners are very friendly.The breakfast was superb.I would always return here when I would need a B&B in Swellendam.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed one night at the Langeberg Guest Lodge as a brief stopover in Swellendam when travelling between Franschhoek and Knysna. We had opted for one of the king double rooms. The rooms are in little single storey chalets and have their own front doors. Our room was very clean and modern and reasonably spacious, but the rooms are also very basic. The room rates offer very good value so we were not expecting much in the way of luxury. We did regret the lack of air conditioning as it was a very hot night. There was a ceiling fan but it was making an awful noise so we had a very difficult night's sleep. We could have opened the windows, but I am very prone to getting bitten by moscitos and had already suffered bites when we had gone out for a meal in town. Of course, not all of these circumstances are in anyway the hotel's fault, but for us I probably would try to ensure we had air con in the future.

There is a very large and inviting shower, but sadly the shower head is very small and the pressure is not so good.

We did not have a chance to use the salt water pool, which was a shame as it did look very nice.

Breakfast is served up at the main house and was perfectly ok, but not great. Our request for runny yolks in our eggs did not seem to register. Service is all conducted by the owners of the lodge and they are very lovely people, but we were the only guests at that time and we did feel a little awkward.

If you are looking for something really good value as a quick stopover and are not bothered by the heat in the summer then I would say this would be a good bet. Otherwise I would suggest spending a little bit more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinchy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Owner at Langeberg Guest Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
As owner-managers, my wife and I take pride in the facilities and service offered by Langeberg Guest Lodge. Our rooms, fixtures and furnishings were deemed to merit a 4-star grading by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA) and it is far from accurate to describe them as rather basic.
The reviewer may have visited Swellendam on a day when repairs to the water main supply by the local authority were in progress. This is the only explanation I can think of which would account for his/her comment about low water pressure in the shower. We assure readers that the water pressure in all rooms is fine (we have the same type of up-to-date water delivery system as most other guest houses in Swellendam). All our shower heads deliver a very good spray of water at full mains pressure although we do not claim they are expensive "power showers".
We do not claim to have air conditioning and if this is an essential requiremnet for a potential guest we will assist them to find alternative accommodation (although our edxperience is that few guest houses in Swellendam do have air-con).
We think the reviewer probably had the ceiling fan set on too high a speed for quiet operation during the night. We monitor the operation of the ceiling fans and we can assure readers that set on their lowest speed they are virtually silent. We do explain this to guests when we show them our rooms.
Lastly, we are sorry that the yokes of the eggs served at breakfast were not sufficiently runny, although they were 'soft'. Our breakfasts are cooked to order and we do our best to satisfy customers' preferences.

Chris and Joy
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Stayed here with my husband for one night on our Garden Route tour. Lovely private garden cottages with very warm hospitality! Can recommend to any traveller!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alashaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.6 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langeberg Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langeberg Guest Lodge

Property: Langeberg Guest Lodge
Address: 183 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Langeberg Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langeberg Guest Lodge combines modern European standards of luxury and comfort with old fashioned South African charm and hospitality. Guests stay in garden cottages, separate from the Cape Dutch style homestead. There is a large salt water swimming pool and a lapa (poolside shelter) with a lovely mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langeberg Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing