We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2008

A beautiful B&B in Cape Dutch style on the main road through Swellendam. We drove through Swellendam looking for accommodation, having passed this place once; then we made a bee-line back to it. Guests stay in chalets, separate from the main house. Our room was luxurious with an amazingly comfortable king-size bed and a spacious ensuite bathroom. Chris and Joy, the owners, invited us to have a drink with them on the veranda of their lovely home, a nice touch. On their recommendation, we had a meal at La Sosta, an Italian restaurant just 5 minutes' walk from the Lodge. It was superb (the owners are from Milan). We slept like logs and in the morning before breakfast took a dip in the B&B's salt water swimming pool: clear blue water and very refreshing. We had a superb full English breakfast cooked by Joy and served by Chris. The fresh cantaloupe melon went very nicely as a side dish with the bacon and eggs. The coffee was the best we've had so far in South Africa. Overall, this is the best B&B we have stayed in during our tour of SA. We will definitely return to Langeberg Guest Lodge when we next visit the Cape.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank Morgan424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 121 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2007

Swellendam is worth the stop. many pass it flying along the N2 between the Cape and the Garden route but it is now officially worth the stop. Take time out and explore the Breede river, Bontebok Park and perhaps a trip over the mountains to Robertson eagle spotting on the way.
What makes this easier is the newest accomodation in town, Langeberg Guest Lodge. Run by newlyweds Chris and Joy, your hosts know how to make a stay pleasant. Chris a retired Yorkshireman and Joy his Afrikaans wife have designed and developed simple effective cape style chalets to accomodate your needs. It pressed all our buttons, comfy beds, choice of king size or twins, plenty of room and hot showers and fresh fluffy linen.
Breakfast each morning is freshly cooked for you whilst you enjoy the fresh juices and fruit and Chris and Joy are on hand to give you the best suggestions on dining locally and trips out for the day
We put it on itineray as the bird watching in the area is good especially at Saarbrak.

Our next trip will probabaly see us staying a few days in the self catering guest cottage.

website due online for 2008 - [--]

1  Thank noetzielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank franzjkempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandrok289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Langeberg Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank snowmann92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Langeberg Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#22 of 39 in Swellendam
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langeberg Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langeberg Guest Lodge

Address: 183 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $58 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langeberg Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langeberg Guest Lodge combines modern European standards of luxury and comfort with old fashioned South African charm and hospitality. Guests stay in garden cottages, separate from the Cape Dutch style homestead. There is a large salt water swimming pool and a lapa (poolside shelter) with a lovely mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Langeberg Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing