We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place with a very kind landlady”
Review of Old Thatch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Thatch Lodge
Ranked #20 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

we stayed 3 nights over New Year's Eve at the Old Thatch Lodge, we were amazed.

The rooms are individually and lovingly decorated.
the breakfeast, which was served at the veranda, was the best of our trip.

Karin is a very kind landlady, gives us helpful advices and nice conversation.

If we will come to swellendam once more, we will love to stay at The Old Thatch Lodge with Karin.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina_tosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2007

Nice lady that runs it, but overall, the place needs a huge facelift. Each room is in its own "thatch lodge". The rooms are old, and smelly. Bathrooms are old and water doesn't work well. Kitchens are basically unusable because of the condition of appliances and cleanliness.
AMAZING breakfast. She goes out of her way to ensure you are taken care of in the morning. Nothing to do in Swellendam, it was a stop-over on our way to somewhere else. Overall, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CMcKAncaster_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Old Thatch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2010

The Old Thatch Lodge facilities changed since 2007. The guest house business moved from the former guest huts to the restored historic main building. All rooms are newly build and offer accommodation in 2 guest suites for up to 4 persons as well as 3 double rooms arranged around the lobby with fire place. The rich breakfast is served on the terrace with views on the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lucas_E03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind alle etwas anders, einige sind etwas grösser als andere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HeinzHeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Corinna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandra123818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.4 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roosje van de Kaap
Roosje van de Kaap
#14 of 39 in Swellendam
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thatch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thatch Lodge

Address: 9 Moolman Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $61 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thatch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Thatch Lodge Guest House Swellendam invites you to a National Monument and guest house and welcomes you to stay in our comfortable accommodation in Swellendam. Have a rest in our wonderful guest house garden, and visit the surrounding nature reserves and the historic city of Swellendam - the third oldest town in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Thatch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing