We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star ambience in a garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #31 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Second place on our South Africa trip - so relaxing after Cape Peninsular. Great attention to detail from hosts and comfort guaranteed. Nice pool gave opportunity to meet other guests - chairs a bit low to get out of! We were in a little cottage - Strelizia - v comfortable and quiet. Great bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Augusta de Mist Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 438 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a disappointment. Our room,one of the best we were told,was in the main house.The furnishings were simply awful,they need to decide on a style and stick to it. Far too many couches,mismatched ornaments and jumble but no wardrobe ......not even a hook for a coathanger.
The two guys who run the place have had a great website built for them but do not live up to the expectation.They find it a bit difficult to manage the facility but are full of good intent and keen to learn. I really do hope they can improve because they have a place with great potential.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hallbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaSwellendam, Owner at Augusta de Mist Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We were more than dumbfounded to receive these words as the guest, we believe, was a bit confused about his and his wife’s room. Notwithstanding the wonderful words his wife left in our guest book (we have posted the picture) the number of factual errors here need to be addressed. First of all the guests booked the least expensive room, and in no way did we ever say they were in one of the best rooms.

Second, there was not a single couch in his room. There was a couch and four arm chairs in the adjacent lounge. But couches in his room, no. There is in fact a wardrobe, with ample hangers and hooks. With these three factual errors in this review, the review itself become irrelevant.

Our mismatched ornaments are purely and proudly African. Our style is second to none, and several decor magazines back this up. We have been asked that if we ever leave the guesthouse, that we consider decorating people’s residences.

The other point which is irrelevant here is that in the three days the guests stayed here, we asked every morning if everything was okay in their room. They responded everything was fine. This begs the question of the legitimacy of review, and if they were so unhappy, why didn’t they ask for their money back. We also note that they gave a number of negative reviews to many small places in South Africa, but were overjoyed staying in places with a large number of rooms.

We welcome dialogue with our guests and in fact count on it in order to improve anything that may be lacking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We only stayed for one night at Augusta de Mist. It is a beautiful house (Cape Dutch architecture) with a very interesting history. The house and cottages are situated in a wonderful garden with nice trees, flowers and herbs, it smells good and it's very quiet, though near Swellendam. We had an excellent dinner prepared by our hosts and served in the garden. It has been the best dinner we had in South-Africa. Michel and Henk are wonderful hosts, they don't work with a standard reception, but should you need anything, you can just ring the bell and they will be right with you. We would certainly recommend this place to other visitors!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maritvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the cottage suites and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had a great time. There were three things that stood out for us.

Firstly the style and attention to detail of the rooms, gardens and main house. We loved this as we felt everything had been thought about, right up to where things were placed in the rooms. Not fussy but classy and stylish.

Secondly we ate in Augusta's kitchen one of the nights and it was one of the best meals we have had in South Africa and this is our fourth visit to the country, if you bring in the quality of service then it was the best. The quality and imagination of the cooking was first class and it was the best night of our holiday.

Finally the level of service was spot on. Michel and Henk were friendly and great hosts.

Overall, for us Augusta de Mist runs a close second to Akademie Sreet in all the places we've stayed over the years in South Africa and is the best place to stay for miles around Swellendam and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We enjoyed the stay but in truth not quite as much as I thought we would as it was the most expensive place we stayed in 5 weeks in South Africa.
1) Check-in is not straight forward as no reception. Actually could have done without tour before getting into room.
2) Room very nice including fridge (did not know whether water/drinks were complimentary so did not have them).
3) As wifi password not in room it was awkward finding the owner as no reception or internal phones just to get this information. Wifi bit inconsistent.
4) Blocked shower drain so I could not shower after my wife and with no easy way to get hold of staff to sort out.
5) In-house dinner was excellent.
6) Breakfast was OK - overcooked eggs cocotte were a bit disappointing.
7) Pool furniture limited and not too comfy.
8) Two large dogs were a bit threatening.
9) i am still not sure which parts of the gardens we were allowed to walk in as there was no information.
10)The owners wanted to please and I am sure they will take note of minor irritations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a few lovely days at Augusta de Mist. We stayed in the Agapanthus cottage: very romantic. The hosts are very friendly and the dinner they served on the beautiful terrace was excellent. We felt sorry we had to leave so soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We drove almost 4,000 kilometers and stayed in a couple of guest houses during our second round trip to South Africa but we haven't come across anything that matches the beauty and warmth of Augusta de Mist. We spent for nights at this country retreat and we were absolutely delighted by its unique mix of historic buildings and modern design. The cottages are "hidden" in the lush garden, and offer privacy as well as any luxury one can wish for. The interior is very tastefully decorated with a love of details that makes you feel at home immediately. The hosts are absolutely terrific: They read every wish from your lips, give advice of what to do in the region, explain the history of Swellendam etc. They also book dinner for you at the best restaurants in town and they even offer dinner at certain days of the week at Augusta which tops all culinary experience that we made and which is also a good chance of getting to know other guests.
We found Swellendam well worth a visit and Augusta definitely a must for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Uwe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 38 in Swellendam
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $100 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing