We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House
Ranked #31 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Intrigued by the website and wanting a closer look at Swellendam, we booked two nights at Augusta de Mist as part of our trip to South Africa this year. On our arrival, Michel one of the very congenial hosts, immediately informed us that he had upgraded us to a junior suite — and gave us a taster of the menu he and Henk were preparing for the evening meal. We were seduced just by the description — which proved a good decision. The property comprises the Park House, a renovated traditional Cape Dutch house plus a number of other traditional style buildings set in large grounds populated with mainly indigenous plants and a charming pool, set behind lawns in the 'Dorp' area of Swellendam. Room decor is a mix of contemporary/african styling done with individual flair and taste, plus all the amenities that make for a luxury stay: fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, robes in the bathroom — and a decanter of port! The evening meal was a gourmet delight: comprising a delicious fresh tomato consommé; 'Boere Bruschetta': crostini with beef, rocket and sunflower seed salad, fig and goats cheese; a sweetcorn ice cream refresher; 'Cape Malay Chicken Curry' with lemongrass and green beans, basmati rice and roasted tomato chutney; then a syrah sorbet and finally Michel's 'Chocolate Bombe' with creme fraiche and homemade banana ice cream. The wine list featured their own red or white blends and a selection from Mischa in Wellington. A wonderful meal, prepared and presented with real care. Breakfasts are equally considered comprising fruit salad, fresh orange juice and eggs cocotte or how ever you want them, coffee or tea and a fresh pomegranate juice taster. Michel and Henk are wonderful hosts, ready to chat or offer advice on what to do in Swellendam; we visited the nearby berry farm and Rain, a charming shop selling their own handmade soaps, toiletries and accessories. Get off the N2 for a great experience and a highly recommended meal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lenoreanderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed at Augusta de Mist in Jan of this year. Had am amazing time at this beautiful location. Hank and Michel were the best hosts we could have wished for. They made our stay so special and we were made to feel we were staying with friends. I will definitely come back when I next visit South Africa. I highly recommend Augusta de Mist to future travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Augusta de Mist in late December 2011, and I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our time. Unfortunately we only had one night there, and wish we could have stayed for another. We were lucky enough to be there for a night of the African kitchen and the food was absolutely fantastic. This little hide-a-way is incredibly relaxing, and the hosts have done fabulous job creating a place that feels like a home away from home. Michel was so attentive and did a wonderful job making sure that our stay was every thing we had hoped for. We would certainly return again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crpedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was the most wonderful time I had. Relaxing in the beautiful garden made me forget about the city life. The food are just out of this world even though its traditional African food - i'll have seconds please.
The owners Henk & Michel and their two dogs Tucker & Bailey are just wonderful hosts. Even though you're staying in the town, this feels like a resort out of the town that's how quiet it is when in the garden. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and so comfortable. I just love the mix of the new and old.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Augusta de Mist is a rare find. We stayed here on our drive along the Garden Route. Rarely can you stay in a charming, historic guest house and yet have all of the comfort and amenities provided here. We had a charming cottage room with fireplace and complimentary sherry in the room. Michel and Henk have done an amazing job of restoring the main house and all of the cottages. In addition, they are gourmet cooks and offer an exceptional dinner of African fare. We actually had banana soup the evening we were there. They could not have been more accommodating. Dinner is generally scheduled for 7 or 7:30PM; we were delayed on our drive, and they graciously held our dinner until we arrived. Breakfast was equally wonderful with omelettes, homemade breads, fresh butter, jams, fruit. The setting is idyllic and the hosts amazing. We highly recommend a stay with them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyeur122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed in Augusta de Mist in late December 2011 and had a fanatastic stay. The 2 nights that we stayed were part of an overall package that an operator put together - had we known how gorgeous this place was in advance, we definitely would have stayed longer. We stayed in the Agapanthus Lodge which was just idyllic - set back in the lush gardens with plenty of privacy, the suite was in pristine condition and the decor just gorgeous - so much attention to detail, from the flowers in the beautiful picture perfect windows, to the heavenly bed, and each day the room was cleaned an tidied to an extremely high standard. But more than this - the AMAZING food was quite an experience - both mornings we had eggs in cocotte as part of our breakfast - complete with lavender garnish on the plate - and we enjoyed a delicious evening meal under the vines which was a delight! Locally sourced goats cheese with olives grown in the garden, followed by ginger and carrot soup accompanied with sweetcorn sorbet - absolutely gorgeous! - followed by delicious ostrich and completed with a to die for Lemon tart. All served with the Augusta blend of wine - we had both white and red which were both gorgeous. I could go on...as you can tell I remember it all in great detail as it was so gorgeous...but have to give credit to our fantastic hosts Michel and Henk who gave us great tips on local sight seeing and restaurants and who we enjoyed great chats with about things as far ranging as rugby, wine making, local history and our divergent career paths. Must not forget the beautiful pool sitting amid the fragrant gardens and under the shade of a beautiful laburnum ( I think!) tree. Would give this place absolute top marks and when we return to SA we will DEFINITELY stay there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Agapanthus which was very quiet but I would reckon all the rooms share the same lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were travelling home and ended up in Swellendam, drove past this beautiful B&B. Luckily they had one lodge open for us. We are convinced this is top class 4 star B&B. The place was beautifully decorated with lots of privacy and VERY spacious. The thing that struck us most was the attention to detail and the service. Michel and Henk was so helpful in helping us settle, finding a place for dinner, making sure we were sorted with dinner and making us feel at home by not rushing us to leave the next morning (all without intruding in our privacy). They are extremely hospitable, friendly and detail orientated. I would love to go back. Next time we want to eat there! Michel and Henk aim to please and deliver a good service, and it is very very clear once you stay there that they succeed at doing that!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatricedekock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#19 of 39 in Swellendam
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#16 of 39 in Swellendam
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roosje van de Kaap
Roosje van de Kaap
#15 of 39 in Swellendam
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $149 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, around wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 Ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite (where Desmond Tutu stayed in October 2013), which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Afternoon tea is sometimes available in season, and is served by the team at 'Augusta's African Kitchen', with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Says Henk, 'Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied.' The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. 'The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,' Michel says. 'The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing