We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothman Manor
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$197
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
$125
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
447
36
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubmorning skyafrica suitegarden routeloft suiteone nightcape townlarge pondhis wifelily pondattention to detailswimming poolwould highly recommend a stay heredressing roomgerman couplegame reservelovely oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 484 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Attention to detail, friendly hosts, luxurious setting and accommodation are outstanding here. We will certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends. It is situated on the main road, which could be deceptive, as when you stroll the grounds you might be miles from anywhere. It's very quiet and the room we had was very private. Just everywhere were inspired touches that made you feel good about your stay, from the local art, to the impala and zebra roaming a paddock at the back. Breakfast is never a big meal for us but all the options were there (including my personal favourite of Marmite).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Rothman Manor on our way to Franschhoek. I had read the outstanding reviews so I thought it would be good but it was so much more. Andreas and Franziska run this beautiful B&B so wonderfully - every details if thought of for the benefit of the guests. I had the most enormous suite with a huge bedroom, sitting room with a vast TV and a great kitchen (I only used the kettle!). Lucy also had a beautiful room next to the swimming pool. The chic interiors are modern, light and airy and very relaxing. The housekeeping is 100% spot on with lots of delightful touches. Delicious smelling body lotion etc in large dispensers so you can actually see what they are without your glasses and you can also buy them.
Andreas suggested and booked our restaurants - The Field and Fork - we considered the best
and Franziska even organized someone to help heal my bad back. Nothing was too much trouble.
The garden and pool are beautiful and you eat your breakfast on a terrace with humming birds close by. Pure heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I never dreamt we would find such luxury in a tiny place like Swellendam! We had a charming room with a view out over the lake and countryside. We only had one night there and Andreus booked a table at a local restaurant and offered to get us a taxi as I had recently broken my ankle so couldn't walk too far. The very good breakfast was served outside on a terrace. Can't fault it - stay there if you get a chance!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Enjoyable 2 night stay. Guest house situated on main street, and within walking distance to local restaurants. Very helpful owner-happy to do restaurant bookings and recommend activities. Breakfast taken on pretty garden patio. Nice room- well equipped. Complimentary bottle of wine. Views of springbok and zebra from garden.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of house have private seating areas overlooking pool and garden.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We only stayed one night - January 1st - and when we arrived we found that Andreus had been thoughtful enough to book a table for us at a local restaurant - accurately assuming that we would want to go out for dinner. Apparently only 4 of the local restaurants were open and he didn't want to us to run the risk of not finding anywhere (not sure why they were all shut in such high season - but it's our first visit to South Africa - so maybe this is normal). His thoughtful actions really exceeded our expectations.

Our room was lovely and comfortable and the grounds offered plenty of opportunity to relax for a couple of hours. The only problem we had was that as my husband is well over 6ft tall, he cracked his head a couple of times on the door frame as he went in and out - the house was obviously build for shorter people.

Breakfast was lovely - we sat on the patio in the sunshine. The service was gracious, friendly and the cooked breakfast was delivered with a smile. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews