We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Guest House is worth a visit in itself. It is beatifully furnished and maintained with great attention to detail. The Owners are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. Breakfasts are first rate. A wonderful place for a stay, one night was too short.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank janjan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 457 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We also only stayed one night to break the journey from Plett to the winelands but, it was a wonderful hotel. We had a room overlooking the pool & were lucky enough to have it to ourselves for an hour or so - the downside is, if other guests use the pool & loungers it could be noisy & intrusive, but we were lucky. As mentioned in other reviews, the grounds are outstanding & the breakfast lovely in a very nice courtyard. Andreas, the owner, booked us into La Sosta, an Italian restaurant, 15 minute walk away & we had a great meal - very friendly owner & they even drove us home at the end of the evening.
Swellendam is a lovely town - the Drosties & museum are well worth a visit. As I said, it's a shame to only spend 1 night here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very beautiful guest house with very friendly and welcoming owners! We stayed one night in a very spacious and comfortable room, with wonderful design and very luxurious. Breakfast in the garden was lovely and delicious. We would have liked to stay another night!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Absolutely fabulous place to stay, even just for one night passing through. Lovely hosts who recommended an excellent place for dinner. Fantastic grounds with a clean good sized pool and hot tub overlooking the springbok and zebra. Though we had the small room it was perfect, comfortable, clean and had the best lighted mirror in the bathroom of all the places we stayed during our 3 week stay in SA. The brekkie was also the best of any we had (and they were mostly excellent) with an abundance of top quality, fresh products. We thoroughly enjoyed Rothman Manor!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AngelaLa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night only on our way from Cape Town to Plettenberg. A welcome respite in our travels! Fantastic room which we decided to stay in all night and not go out to eat or drink. Everything you could need and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast in the garden was amazing, the grounds are so beautiful only sorry we didn't have time to try the pool or local restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a pool view, ours had a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a truly fabulous guest house and the apartment we were given was truly stunning! It looked and felt brand new but in fact was 14 years old, but the attention to detail given makes in feel so clean and new and beautifully decorated. It was slightly out of town but we ate at the highly recommended Italian La Sosta and had a complementary shuttle and we delighted with the food and service there too. The owners are 100% commited to providing a comfortable stay and the breakfast is lovely. The Zebra and Sprinbok in the fields were lovely to see too. Perfectly manicured grounds - great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a lovely spacious room with a huge bathroom. Toiletries and towels are high quality and it was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The extensive gardens are beautiful and the pool was lovely.
The owners really go the extra mile and the breakfast was perfect. We stayed for 2 nights which was too long as there is very little to do in Swellendam as it's a real one horse town. If you must stay in Swellendam, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $116 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing