We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #3 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night only on our way from Cape Town to Plettenberg. A welcome respite in our travels! Fantastic room which we decided to stay in all night and not go out to eat or drink. Everything you could need and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast in the garden was amazing, the grounds are so beautiful only sorry we didn't have time to try the pool or local restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a pool view, ours had a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 471 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a truly fabulous guest house and the apartment we were given was truly stunning! It looked and felt brand new but in fact was 14 years old, but the attention to detail given makes in feel so clean and new and beautifully decorated. It was slightly out of town but we ate at the highly recommended Italian La Sosta and had a complementary shuttle and we delighted with the food and service there too. The owners are 100% commited to providing a comfortable stay and the breakfast is lovely. The Zebra and Sprinbok in the fields were lovely to see too. Perfectly manicured grounds - great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a lovely spacious room with a huge bathroom. Toiletries and towels are high quality and it was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The extensive gardens are beautiful and the pool was lovely.
The owners really go the extra mile and the breakfast was perfect. We stayed for 2 nights which was too long as there is very little to do in Swellendam as it's a real one horse town. If you must stay in Swellendam, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good place to stop on the Garden route but outside of the hotel the town has very little to offer.
We had a large spacious, luxury room with a sitting area and dressing room, so it was more like a small apartment than a hotel room. The room had its own patio and sun deck and was in a secluded part of the garden overlooking a small lake. Elsewhere in the garden, there are numerous seating areas, a swimming pool and zebra and springbok in the adjacent field.
The bathroom was huge, with a seperate shower and jacuzzi bath.
The owners have excellent customer service skills and nothing seems too much trouble. From the abundance of fluffy towels to the quality toiletries, everywhere you turn there is something to make life easier or your stay more enjoyable. We even came out one morning and all the cars had been washed! Top class hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in this fabulous guest house on the way from Knysna to Franschhoek and were extremely pleased with our visit. The owners run a fantastic business, enjoying their own stock of wildlife. The situation is very quiet, the rooms are well equipped and the breakfasts exquisite. Did not try the pool but it did look very inviting. Only sorry that we did not arrange to stay longer but will do next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was first class! It was a peaceful, relaxing place, spacious and elegant set in beautiful gardens and we wished we'd stayed longer. The breakfasts were beautiful too and the owners most helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
Keith and Iola

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked to stay at Rothman Manor for only two days/evenings (in early October) - our mistake;we should have booked to stay longer. This guest house is superb - decor, ambiance, internal and external surroundings. Super hosts, very attentive and not just at breakfast; eg great recommendations for dinner and for other places to visit. We particularly appreciated the breakfasts, the decoration/art work in our room, the pond and the weaver birds, the nearby area of zebra and bontebok and indeed the on site/off road parking. Spend time here, in Swellendam and relax and be reinvigorated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobekatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
647 reviews
2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Swellendam
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.7 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $127 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing