We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful: a place where the owners invested a lot of time and love.”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We, two adults and one baby, only spent one night at Rothman Manor - unfortunately! It is a beautiful place to stay. You can even watch wild animals while lying in a jacuzzi outside ... Be sure to be hungry in the morning, because the breakfast is very good! We were out of luck with the weather, but nevertheless could enjoy the premises as well as some food of the pizzeria next door. In summary: a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Suite Africa: decorated very nice, and the extra TV-area is a good place to sit and have a glass of...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Rothman Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Super service, good food and coffee and lovely rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The accommodation was beautiful and pristine, the owners friendly and helpful, and the breakfast absolutely amazing. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would highly recommend Rothman Manor to anybody wanting to visit Swellendam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english_girl_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Swellendam is a fairly quiet small town with not too much going on. It does have a few decent restaurants and is a useful stop over for the Garden Route or a base to visit other nearby locations such as Cape Agulhas or Bontebok National Park. Rothman Manor itself is quite simply superb and impossible to fault. The premises are immaculate, interesting, tasteful and unusual. Our hosts Andreas and Franzine were very welcoming, friendly and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast is equally perfect with extensive choice all of the highest quality. Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful, luxurious, reasonably private location, the gardens, antelope and zebra enclosure are a bonus. Don't miss it if you are in the area, free wi-fi and access to ipad helps catch up on news etc as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Beautiful B&B with very hospitable hosts. We arrived mid afternoon and left by about 10am the next day so our only regret was that we were not able to enjoy the lovely pool (overcast afternoon) and gardens as much was we would have liked - a 2 night stay would have been ideal. Our room was beautifully styled as was the main house, bed very comfortable and shower also very good.

Andreas had actually booked us into La Sosta before we arrived so when he asked if we had plans for dinner it was nice to hear that he had thought ahead. It was an absolutely amazing meal at La Sosta. We thought it was certainly on a par with the restaurants in Franschhoek and probably slightly better. Having breakfast in the garden was a lovely way to start the day and the breakfast itself was very good.

Having stayed in Swellendam three times now I do think that this is the best place in town - both the manor and the restaurant. Rothman Manor is a lovely oasis on the long garden route drive and we came back with two skinny wood carvings for our walls (Nelson and Winnie), bought from Rothman Manor, which are a fantastic momento.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

If I could score this lovely, immaculate, friendly b&b out of 100 it would definitely score 100! It is our recent stay at Rothman Manor that has spurred me on to join Tripadvisor and write a review. The house and gardens are stunning, the welcome is warm and persona, and the hot tub overlooking the b&b's own zebra is just the icing on the cake. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever tasted, with all you could imagine on offer. The owners clearly love their job and have put their heart in to their business, caring very much for each and every one of their guests; nothing is too much trouble. They remembered our breakfast requests and itinerary from day to day and were always on hand with recommendations or suggestions of things to do. If you are looking for a super stay in Swellendam, then this is the place for you! Well done Rothman Manor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here having explored the vine route and in between heading up to the garden route.
Having driven for miles and miles with nothing around we wondered what we would find in Swellendam. Immediately after turning off the main road we arrived at a beautiful building of Rothman Manor. This place really has vow factor with pretty gardens, jacuzzi overlooking the mountains and of course not forgetting the zebras and antelopes in the adjacent field.
The owners really have though of everything and this was the best breakfast that we had on our 14 night honeymoon trip around South Africa. Please take their advise on places and restaurants to visit as we had some lovely experiences.
Great design, great service and very friendly.
Thank you very much for our lovely stay and we wish Andreas and Franziska all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimboha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $113 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing