We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11/10 for Rothman Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #3 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“11/10 for Rothman Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

If I could score this lovely, immaculate, friendly b&b out of 100 it would definitely score 100! It is our recent stay at Rothman Manor that has spurred me on to join Tripadvisor and write a review. The house and gardens are stunning, the welcome is warm and persona, and the hot tub overlooking the b&b's own zebra is just the icing on the cake. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever tasted, with all you could imagine on offer. The owners clearly love their job and have put their heart in to their business, caring very much for each and every one of their guests; nothing is too much trouble. They remembered our breakfast requests and itinerary from day to day and were always on hand with recommendations or suggestions of things to do. If you are looking for a super stay in Swellendam, then this is the place for you! Well done Rothman Manor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
352
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here having explored the vine route and in between heading up to the garden route.
Having driven for miles and miles with nothing around we wondered what we would find in Swellendam. Immediately after turning off the main road we arrived at a beautiful building of Rothman Manor. This place really has vow factor with pretty gardens, jacuzzi overlooking the mountains and of course not forgetting the zebras and antelopes in the adjacent field.
The owners really have though of everything and this was the best breakfast that we had on our 14 night honeymoon trip around South Africa. Please take their advise on places and restaurants to visit as we had some lovely experiences.
Great design, great service and very friendly.
Thank you very much for our lovely stay and we wish Andreas and Franziska all the best for the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimboha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

My luxurious loft suite,complete with beautifully appointed kitchen, bedroom balcony overlooking the gardens, jacuzzi in the bath and spacious lounge, had an inspired, funky cool, retro decor that worked perfectly with the historical surroundings - awesome! Wandering through the extensive estate gardens, I found a number of secluded seating areas and picked one to enjoy the beautiful mountain views and sunshine with a glass of sparkling from my well stocked fridge.
The delicious breakfast, with every imaginable treat, was served under the leafy branches of an ancient oak tree. Franziska and Andreas have created a very special and totally unique oasis, with an attention to detail second to none!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fierceandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Like a secret garden, the setting of this place was magical. You could relax here for a few days. Lots of interesting things, cats, zebras, ponds, garden features etc. Unique and a lovely place to stay. The hosts were also really really nice and helpful and we would stay here again. Swellendam itself did not seem to have much to offer but worth it for the trip to De Hoop – a definite must see as different from the rest of the garden route.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

What an absolutely amazing find. From start to finish we spent a wonderful couple of nights at Rothman Manor. Our loft suite was amazing, gorgeous bedroom with doors to sit out balcony, a fully equipped kitchen, beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath and huge shower and a very large lounge with great furniture. The garden & grounds were beautiful and we were so well looked after from the minute we arrived until the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble. They even cleaned our car every morning - Thank you to you all at this wonderful find, see you again soon

Room Tip: They all have special qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Another excellent B & B on the Garden Route. The room I had was a little small and I paid $130, the most I'd paid but it's a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. It's hard to describe the property - ponds, fountain, creek, etc. Franziska and Andreas were perfect hosts, recommending an excellent restaurant across the street and looking after my every need. A highlight was the jacuzzi where you can relax, sip a glass of wine and watch the zebras & sprongbok grazing. Second to that was capuccino on the patio as i basked in the sunshine and enjoyed the delicious breakfast. I had a hard time leaving the next morning and was exteremely grateful for the excellent driving directions. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in Swellendam for one night on our way from Franschhoek to Plettenberg Bay. Andreas greeted us and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He then advised that he had upgraded us to their honeymoon suite which was wonderful. The room was modern, airy, spacious and we had our own patio with table and chairs. In addition, we also had another door outside which opened onto a private paved area with 2 sun loungers, just through an archway in the hedge was the pool. The internet access provided here was by a long way the best and most reliable we found anywhere on our 3 week trip in SA....it's nice that a hotelier had thought of using WiFi extenders in all their rooms, given they are so inexpensive and easy to set up! A full Satellite TV package (including all sports channels) was also provided, although we didn't avail of it.

Rothman Manor is set in a beautiful estate with a large pond containing lilly pads and other plant life. There is also numerous metal animal carvings throughout the property which add to its character. On the far side of the estate is a jacuzzi which is sunken into a deck area, overlooking the small nature reserve next door which contains zebras and springboks...it was very peaceful and a nice way to unwind. Breakfast was freshly made, tasty and served outside in wonderful surroundings.

Swellendam itself doesn't seem to have a lot to do other than a couple of restaurants (although we didn't really look for any activities as our stay was so short). One restaurant, as recommended by Andreas, is La Sosta. We had the most wonderful meal, and it is by no means your average Italian restaurant....there wasn't a pizza to be seen! It was easily the best Italian meal we have had outside Italy and comfortably in our top 3 meals on our holiday - given that my wife and I are foodies and ate at what have been voted some of the worlds' best restaurants on this trip, it is praise indeed.

I would happily stay at Rothman Manor again, in fact I hope to, and Andreas is a wonderful host and an exceptionally nice man.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Property: Rothman Manor
Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing