We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World class establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #3 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“World class establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have homes in Cape Town and Knysna. If we have the time, these days we prefer to break the journey between them, and overnight somewhere interesting in the Swellendam to Robertson area. Encouraged by the glowing reviews in Trip Advisor, we had unsuccessfully tried to book at Rothman Manor previously (our travel is usually planned on short notice). Having secured a booking this time, we were looking forward to the stopover.

Not even the very impressive Trip Advisor reviews prepared us for the excellence of this world-class establishment. All three luxury suites had already been booked, so we were offered one of the two so-called standard suites (the "Africa suite"). It was perfect; spacious, comfortable and outfitted with quality fixtures — in reality it was even better than the portrayal on the website.

Breakfast was as superb as everything else. The cold buffet was so good that we did not bother with the cooked breakfast on offer. The obvious quality of the crockery and cutlery was a nice touch. Rothman Manor does not offer dinner, but there are excellent restaurants a few minutes away (La Sosta is a great Italian restaurant, and Powell House, with a local flavour including excellent venison meals, is our favourite in the area that we cannot recommend highly enough).

The property is magnificent. The historic buildings are beautifully maintained. The grounds are wonderful. There are antelope and zebra in an eco-reserve on the property that are a big attraction for foreign guests. Unfortunately we could not spend all that long enjoying the property as we were travelling through, but for someone looking to spend a few days in Swellendam I doubt that one could do better than stay at Rothman Manor.

The establishment was reminiscent of a top-class European boutique hotel. Everything was utterly faultless and managed with German precision and attention to detail. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMK_GBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
352
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have just returned from 3 weeks in South Africa and Rothman Manor was the highlight of the trip - its was simply stunning. The location is gorgeous as are the grounds, the pool area and the rooms, well, you want for nothing. Breakfast is superb and you can walk to La Sosta which is a great restaurant. A wonderful place to stay along the garden route and should not be missed as Swellendam is a beautiful little town to amble around. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will return. Oh and its was the best car clean we had as well :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

On arrival, the property looks nice, and as you work you way through to the reception it's full splendour is revealed. The gardens are glorious, the pool clean and blue, and there are antelope and zebra in a paddock at the end of the formal gardens. The decor is stylish and modern and the rooms huge, clean and well equipped. We alll thought this was the nicest place we stayed on our trip, and certainly had the best breakfasts - not as huge as some but with loads of nice touches. It is on the main road in ~Swellendam, so you can hear a bit of traffic noise, but nothing at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Well situated at one end of the main street of Swellendam and within easy reach of 2 very good restaurants.
Immaculate rooms of good size and very comfortable. The garden overlooks a mini-game park belonging to the hotel and contains zebra and antelope. Weaver birds in the garden.
The breakfast is excellent and the host Andreas is full of good advice and very willing to help. You even get your car washed in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

One of the two best B&Bs we stayed at during our 3wk holiday in South Africa and 5 day travel along the wine and garden routes from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. Classic Dutch mansion style with white-washed walls and thatched roofs, but stylish room with nice accents, air-con, in suite of rooms separate from the main house, surrounding the swimming pool. Excellent breakfast on terrace in lovely large garden setting. Very helpful and attentive hosts and park-like setting with zebras and antelope on view. Off-street parking. Swellendam is located in a very picturesque area with some interesting local attractions such as the Drosty museum of Dutch colonial life, the Dutch Reformed Church and a building with two clocks, one painted, for help in the past for those who could not tell the time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeRayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

The best place we stayed in during a 10 day trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. Absolutely everything you dream of in one place. Fantastic room (the one always featured in the photos), superb grounds and wonderful service. impossible to say anything negative about this gem. Swellendam is unfortunately a one-night stop; however we found two great places to eat (recommended by Andreas) and wish we had stayed a second night just for the Rothman Manor experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Andreas welcomed us with open arms and showed us our beautiful and impeccable room (large!). The bathroom was the largest we had on our trip with a large bath tub and great shower. We enjoyed the garden and our own little terrace and ofcourse the breakfast on the patio. Really worth every penny!
(note: the South Africa Suite had a iPhone compatible alarm clock and ofcourse there was free wireless internet!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chococat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Property: Rothman Manor
Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing