We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, No South African Hosipitality Here, taken money from cc card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
capepoint
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away, No South African Hosipitality Here, taken money from cc card”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Arrived at guesthouse on the 2nd of Jan with my parents both in their seventies after 30 hours of travelling and driving from Capetown to Swellandam to be told our booking was cancelled, no friendly welcome here. The lady pretend to let on that she never her abiut our booking. They had taken a deposit & their cancellation charge was stollen from my cc card. I refreshed the ladies memory to the effect that we had given our friends had also booked with them because of us and she remembered and then she found were the money had been taken from my cc account. The person in charge was not fit to be in such a position, as she was unhelpful & never offered to find other accommodation. We spent 2 more hours looking for accommodation and driving a further 200kms all because of the guesthouse.

The lady in charge had no proof of our booking being cancelled as I had a confirmation of our booking just sent before we left for south africa. The guets outside the guesthouse had checked in that day and had no booking, I was shocked and surprised.

Stay away there are so many nice place to stay in South Africa. our friends stayed and said it was basic and would not stay 2 nights glad to be moving on. Very quiet other 2 other stayed the nigt they were there. place was dead. No one living on premises and only people with no experience left in charge.

Not doing very well as the booking book was empty, i think that said it all.

We were lied to, left without accommodation , no offer of other accomodation & no refund as been given to my cc account

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank capepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
This is a case where a booking was cancelled via email(on file) and the client arrived unknown to the guest house. The issue was dealt with throught the grading council where the complaint was first lodged. I believe that the issue was resolved to the satisfaction of all parties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    96
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
306
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Nice place to stay when visiting Swellendam, owner is a registered guide, so be sure to pick his brain for pointers about the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed here for one night while travelling the garden route. The guest house was full that night, so the owners invited us all to a Braai (South African BBQ) at the premises. A fine evening with plenty of beer, wine, and good food. We had a memorable stay. There are a number of restaurants about a five minute walk away, the setting, by a river with a backdrop of mountains is superb.

Friendly hosts, and excellent food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This was a really quaint little guesthouse in a lovely old Cape Dutch house. Swellendam is a bit of a sleepy town, but its cute, and if you are going to stay there, I think Aan de Oever is a perfect fit for the town and a really nice room (and great breakfast!) for the price.

The breakfast was really nice - a cold buffet plus hot food to order. Its on a quiet residential street on the edge of Swellendam, but a very easy (few minutes) walk to town. We stayed two nights hoping to do some hiking and exploring in the area. The in-room concierge book had a lot of good info, but I didn't feel like the staff worked too hard to help us plan our vacation (restaurant reservations, recommendations for hikes or directions). Some might like the fact that we hardly saw a soul while there, for us, a little more guidance would have been welcome, but we managed fine on our own. The room itself was really nice, and the bathroom spacious and nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregPasquali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Lovely place with stunning gardens and views of the mountains. In a perfect spot for great restaurants and museums. Offered great advice for our onward journey which was greatly appreciated.

Only downsides were the pool (which wasn't in great condition) and the breakfast which wasn't great. However, we were given a packup for the journey which was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rors1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain & UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Whilst touring the souther-most part of South Africa we did 3,000kl in a month with stops at 9 places for accommodation B&B/Guest houses. On our return journey to Cape Town we stayed at Swellendam which was chosen for its position in the centre of our route with the opportunity to tour aroound to see Bontebok National Park, nearby nature reserves and the most southerly place in Africa, Cap L'Aghulas.
AAN DE OEVER is a Cape-Dutch style property which came second favourite on our list of 9 places we stayed (see Froggs Leap, Hout Bay, Cape Town for our No. 1). It offered delightful, comfortable en-suite rooms with breakfast on the terrace. A delightful garden and pool close by a beautiful mountain yet in the centre of the small town of Swellendam. We were invited to a Sunday BBQ (called a Braii). It was the least expensive of all our stops and we would stay there again. The Manageress introduced us to Fynbus Tours which is run by Pete, an ex-scouser from Liverpool, who took us touring the parks for one and half days and did not run out of information! (see our separate review of Fynbus Tours, Swellendam). We found Swellendam a great, central place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Aan de oever really was our hidden gem during a two week stay in South Africa. What a fantastic setting and a very high standard guest house. The room (Hadida) was spacious and beautifully decorated. From the moment you walk in you feel like you want to stop longer! The gardens and pool are superb with so many species of birds. Breakfasts were great and the service was fantastic. We will definately be returning to enjoy a longer stay next time

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
141 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Property: Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing