We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overriding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buchloe, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overriding”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Unfortunately, we had booked only one night in this miraculous inn. The staff was so friendly, the room was furnished largely and nicely. The next morning even our car was washed. What service. Any time with pleasure again!

Room Tip: All Rooms a very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Nancy
Thank you for the nice comment. It is wonderful when guest are satisfied. Hope to welcome you at Aan de Oever again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    96
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
306
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a lovely place to stay after a long and hot journey. The staff were very welcoming, the room clean and well appointed. To be able to breakfast outside was a welcome change from th UK. All torether a pleasurable experience, regret our only allowed us a 1 night stayplans

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Such a pleasure to have you at Aan de Oever. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

we stayed at the Aan de Oever for two nights and enjoyed the beautiful garden and the smal swimmingpool. The breakfast served on the terasse was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. On top of that is the Price very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doris & Beat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Doris & Beat

Thank you very much for your nice review about Aan de Oever Guesthouse. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that we can welcome you back in the near future, maybe for a few more days.

Warm Regards
Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just on tour, not knowing where to stay and then there is Aan de Oever. Good to spend the night, large room, perfect bathroom, plundge and swimmingpool and nice people to help you around. And... best of all: the advice to go to "De Companije" for dinner. Walking distance and delicious food with personal service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Attie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you . What a wonderful thing to say.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrera Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had only booked in to this lovely guest house for one night but it was a very comfortable stay. The room was private and quiet giving a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was taken on the terrace with amazing views and the breakfast was extensive with something for everyone. Restaurants were within walking distance and Swellendam itself was worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jochambers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Interesting building, comfortable room, attractive setting, welcoming staff, good breakfast--perfect! Would definitely stay here again, it's the B+B I shall remember from our South Africa holiday and set in a town with many historic buildings


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank indiajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Only stopped in swellendam as a stopover and could not believe how fabulous this b+b was. Wish we had more time . Room was great, we had been upgraded. Lovely touches with roses from the garden, sherry and robes. Beautiful garden leading to the river, just the best b+b on our trip. Fabulous restaurant field and fork just 3 mins walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dingledol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 37 in Swellendam
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
141 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 37 in Swellendam
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Property: Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing