We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What an wonderful guest house. It was a fantastic stay and the staff were all accommodating and very friendly. Although I was inconvenienced by having to stay at another guest house for an evening, the staff went out of their way to make sure that the interruption in my stay was as smooth as possible.
I will definitely refer Aan de Oever to everyone I know and I look forward to visiting there again,. Well done

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Aan de Oever. It was great to have you here. Hope too welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 588 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. The birds in the gargen was an absolute bonus.

The room was clean and very cosy.

The bath was lovely and the gowns in the bathroom were very soft and comfotable.

Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nadia_delport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Top class accommodation with lovely special touches like the fresh roses on our pillows. Tranquil surroundings - feels as if you are on a farm. Beautiful birds around. Friendly hostess and hearty, yet delicately prepared breakfast. Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: all rooms lovely, with upstairs rooms quite romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berna506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is one of the best guesthouses that I have visited. The rooms, breakfasts and garden were brilliant. So much attention is given to small detail and I really felt at home. If I have another opportunity to visit Swellendam I will definitely choose Aan de Oever Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having the car cleaned was a really nice surprise.
Resturants conveniently situated within easy walking distance into the town.
Excellent breakfast.
Very large rooms.
.An excellent spot for birding enthusists as a variety are attaracted tto the property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hamish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi
Thank you so much for the positive comment. Was so nice to have you here en we hope to welcome you at Aan de Oever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff at Aan de Oever Guesthouse were terrific and we enjoyed our stay very much. The location was wonderful and the guesthouse gardens are beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We attended a wedding in the church just around the corner, so decided to give this B&B a try. We were quite a big group that stayed there. My mother, my brother and his family, us and two of my friends. We all agreed that it was excellent value for money and loved our rooms. When we got back after the reception, the aircon was on, heating up the room and the electric blankets on the beds as well. JOY! :o) The garden is also very nice and if you are into birding, the birds in the garden was a joy to watch. The breakfast was great, but the best part (that little extra something) was the muffins that we all got to snack on whilst driving back to Cape Town. I will recommend this B&B to anybody and will most certainly stay there again in future.

There were only two things that 'bugged' me. Our room only had blinds at the door and no curtains, which meant that it wasn't totally dark and I want DARK when I sleep. The other thing is that the kitchen is right next to the dining area and the smell of frying bacon etc went into our clothes, so we smelt as if we have been cooking up a storm that morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMouton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
656 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 40 in Swellendam
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $77 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing