We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Cozy, Beautiful Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights covered by business expense, so I can't speak to the value of the room because I'm not sure how much was paid. But, I was very impressed with the property. It was extremely quiet, however I traveled to Citrusdal during the winter and I believe I was the only guest staying at the time. I had a room overlooking the beautiful garden decorated with lush green and colorful tropical plants and the vast mountainside. There were two lounge chairs just outside the sliding glass entrance door to the room which is perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and taking in Citrusdal's natural beauty. On the property there is also a swimming pool and outside braai. The room was super clean and equipped with a mini-fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. I enjoyed the full English breakfast which offered more than enough food and was a great way to start the morning. For dinner there's a number of restaurants within walking distance as well as the Spar supermarket. Lastly, Nella-Marie is a sweet and hospitable host.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back overlook the garden and beautiful mountainside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShalalaMaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

A one night stay here on a recent trip - the room was very comfortable and bathroom area was huge and spacious. Lovely gardens with the breakfast area over looking the river. Breakfast choice was good starting off with cereals and fruit and finishing up with tea/coffee after a cooked breakfast. The toaster was a little let down - either burnt or not cooked with no stop button, so I had to use the main power socket - this was not an issue really.

The bed side lamp in the room I stayed could do with a little maintenance and was hanging a little loosely. Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valued_Guest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

So glad we decided to stop in Swellendam during our drive across South Africa. A real lovely place to unwind and rest. This B&B was lovely. Really charming room, good size and amentities. Great breakfast. Lovely area out back to relax but the stream, look at the mountains and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The rooms have everything you might ever want, and even though we arrived very late we were met and shown warm hospitality. The guest house is located next to a river and must be absolutely delightful in summer. Unfortunately we were there in winter, though I doubt whether the locals thought so: the door of the dining room was wide open during breakfast, to let in the chilly 14 degree fresh air. The breakfast service was slow and erratic. I think it must have been an off day for them as everything else seemed to well run.

Swellendam is a truly delightful place and the guest house provides a written guide around the old town which is very useful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately it was an overnight stay only. Smooth check-in, our Bokmakierie Room on upper level of the Cape Dutch style house was lovely, private and had the best views. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and it was more than adequate in quantity and choice. Great allround service and accommodation and what a gorgeous location. Loved it

Room Tip: Choose the upper level, your own private patio and views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Thank you Miles for a wonderful stay at your establishment.
Your hospitality was outstanding and your accomodation beautiful, clean and very well equiped.

Big clean beds, bath and shower, good internet reception, good bar facilities, walking distance to good restaurants, quiet and lovely gardens to boot.

We will definately return on our rregular biking trips in the Western Cape.

Room Tip: We booked off the internet and was lucky enough to speak to the owner, Miles, who upgraded us free o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Staying at Aan de Oever was a truly memorable experience - a warm, welcoming, helpful host; a spacious room with a fantastic shower (we stayed in the Blue Crane room); an amazing breakfast (THE best omelette either of us had ever tasted!); and some added value touches which just continued to blow us away (I won't spoil the surprises for you, but the little things they did for us were certainly over and above any service standards we have experienced anywhere else!)...

The location of this guesthouse is perfect for a visit to Swellendam. It is within walking distance to several restaurants and local attractions, including the museum. The street is quiet and the area very safe - our room faced the street, yet we heard no noise at night and slept peacefully in the comfortable bed.

We would definitely recommend this little gem to anyone considering a visit to Swellendam - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Oh Wow, not sure how this was missed,
obviously a little late, giggle, but we do want to thank you all the same.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
639 reviews
2 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing