We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a warm, friendly and cosy place to stay”
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #15 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“a warm, friendly and cosy place to stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

A friendly couple is the owner of the B&B, the realy made us feel welcom. We had a few pleasant days, we liked the rooms, the food in the restaurant was great. A place to recommend to family and friends when you're travelling in the western cape.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truusje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
73
164
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Holland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

In 2009 we stayed at Rosie of the Cape (Roosje van de Kaap). Ilzebeth, the owner, made the difference then. Though the accommodation was not really up to scratch (old, rather uncomfortable beds and in need of a good cleaning and some tlc) she made up for all the small but important missing detais in this well located and simple hotel/guesthouse. Her enthusiasm and flair lit up the place. This time Rosie no longer glowed in her light. The present owners are not unpleasant, though rather bussiness-like. Unfortunately this does not make up for the short -comings of this place. Room was very cold, we had no heating, and the beds were too clammy to be comfortable. Dinner in the, again, cold restaurant wasn't too good either. It sounds charming to have nothing but candlelight, but if it means you have to read the menu by the light of your mobile phone you're taking things a step too far in my opinion. Food took forever and to be honest......there are better options in Swellendam these days. Fortunately I have my good memories. But still......pity!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucebio, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
First of all I want to thank all the people who took time to write a review in the last year, of course this counts especially for the people with a positive review. We are running Roosje van de Kaap (Little Rose of the Cape) now for 1 year and three months and have made many changes and did a lot of delayed maintenance and upgrading (new heathers for example), yet we managed to keep the atmosphere as it was. More importantly we will continue to do that the coming years, we will not let our beautiful Roosje go down again (Roses are vulnerable after all). As for the remark about business attitude, the only thing I can say is that when you want to see running a Guesthouse purely from a business point of few you better do something else because the time put in it is not worth the result. We are running Roosje because we love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at Roosje van de Kaap. The welcome was friendly and although not luxurious,the room was certainly adequate. The new owners were aware that the place needs a bit of TLC.
We had a delicious dinner at the candlelit restaurant and had the special attention of the very friendly Gloria !
We can definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at this little B&B for one night during our 2 week South African holiday. This was just a stop-over before driving the Garden Route.

New owners (about 4months), both pleasant. Very peaceful setting, cozy bungalow. Had dinner & breakfast in restaurant and food was lovely.

Pity about the bus load of tourists that stopped by for dinner. They were extremely rude, but the staff handled it very well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed one night here during a car trip around Western Cape. It was fantastic. The room (a little individual bungalow) was really cute and quite comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was fabulous, and breakfast the next morning was super tasty as well. This place is easy to recommend, and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr1s77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This place is lovely. Nice rooms, great staff, good food. Excellent spot to visit the vineyards!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulus024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The owner, Ilzabeth is a wonderful lively characater that fits this guest house perfectly. She and her team were so helpful and hardworking to ensure our stay was perfect. The rooms are small and quaint by SA standards but lovely. The restaurant is candlelit, romantic with excellent food. Breakfast is great with a wonderful fruit yoghurt. Be sure to say hello to the huge owl that lives in the tree above.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crhardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing