We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you old people always want something for nothing !!”
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #16 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london england
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“you old people always want something for nothing !!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

booked and paid in full nearly year in advance of our arrival date. phoned on arrival morning to see if we could get in a little earlier and the first thing the owner said to me was ¬you know you`ve booked a small room would you like to upgrade now on the phone?``we said we will decide when we see it. indeed it was tiny and we accepted the upgraded charges for another room. as we had travelled for the past 5 hours (and south africa were playing australia in capetown) we enquired as to whether we can make a drink in the room, and was there a tv and could we get wifi? he then exploded shouting very menacingly in front of his 2 young children the words which are the assessment headline. he suggested we go elsewhere and two humiliated seniors who have toured RSA every year since 1996 with no issues, decided to take his advice. his remarks were uncalled for, vicious and unworthy of a hotel patron.
never ever having encountered this before we arrived back in London with miserable memories of Swellendam
Dr Mrs Brian Silverstone london

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreerkBrandsma, Manager at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Don't want to waste many words on this review because it is completely fabricated. The person who wrote this had sarcastic remarks from the moment he came in till we asked him to leave two hours later. In those two hours we did everything we could possibly do to make them feel happy. There was no shouting, the remark he makes about old people was not one made by us. We welcome people of any age!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
73
164
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a super B & B, lovely setting, super pool, good food, great hosts, what more could you ask for, we will certainly be back. The gardens are lovely, its just over the road from the Drostdy Museum. Chris and Lyn

Room Tip: Our room was super and they all appeared to be as delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 146Chris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have been here a couple of times now and think it is a lovely, charming place with a lot of character. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant and it's nice to be able to stay in with our 3 yr old daughter. The location is also really good, in the nicer, quiet part of town, close to some good restaurants if you do want to go out and right next to the Drosdy museum. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon room which is upstairs and has a private terrace with great mountain views. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leobrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

One of the best Guesthouses we have been to in S.A. Perfectly situated next to the drosty with an amazing view over the mountain, very nice buildings and big and very nice rooms. Don't understand the people that write bad reviews.... Very charming, would love to come back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllefahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really nice hosts, Drosty Museum across the road, perfect boutique hotel style accomodation with an incredible view in a beautiful setting: a garden with cottages. Very family friendly. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cgast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth Scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good value for money in a splendid location. Easy walk to restaurants and places of interest. Enjoyed the pool. The room was small and the en suite quite basic but this was reflected in the price we paid.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

An off chance late booking caught the last room and table for two on a busy day. Made particularly welcome and settled In with tea and promise of evening dinner although short of staff. Quiet spacious room overlooking large garden proved to adequately fit the bill. Evening meal was enjoyed well cooked accompanied by a good house wine. A peaceful night and a hearty breakfast ensured a good start to a new day an we were
On our way to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#18 of 38 in Swellendam
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeside Guest House
Braeside Guest House
#17 of 38 in Swellendam
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing