We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant in Swelldam”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #15 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Swelldam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Superb food 5-star

Worth stopping for an excellent dinner!!!!

You will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    97
    37
    6
    10
See reviews for
67
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

From the look of the website and the glowing reviews we had high hopes of our stay in Roosje van de Kaap but the cost (680R for a double) should perhaps have alerted us that the standard was not that high - expecting air con, TV or fridge was on reflection a bit optimistic, our fault not theirs. However, the accommodation in a free standing cottage was dingy and shabby with not even a fan in a blisteringly hot February. The shower door opened directly into the bedroom with no light inside the cubicle which may be off-putting for anyone who doesn't like showering with an audience! Outside the views were absolutely stunning but there were no loungers or anything to sit on apart from a couple of decrepit and excrutiatingly uncomfortable rough hewn chairs. The only way to sit by the pool would have been on someone else's patio. It generally felt unloved with peeling paint and worn furniture. When we saw how packed the restaurant was we thought that maybe the owners were putting their money and attention into that side of the business but the food really wasn't that great and swimming in butter and grease. We did ask to see the dessert menu but by then the waiting staff seemed to have lost interest and it never arrived. Breakfast was the worst we had on our entire two week trip - and we were bombarded with falling acorns into the bargain! On the plus side the general manager that we dealt with was unfailingly charming and helpful, but the experience overall was not good and made worse by having such high hopes. It may have had a glorious past but judged against everywhere else we stayed in the Western Cape, this is a two star set up at most.

  • Liked — Views from the garden
  • Disliked — Just about everything else!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreerkBrandsma, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Even though we started as new owners in June 2010, I still would like to respond to this review. Since we took over ‘Roosje van de Kaap’ we renovated all the cottages and rooms but didn’t change their style. The rooms are clean and have pleasant atmospheres. Fans are in all rooms just as lights in the showers and seats outside on the terrace and around the swimming pool, in the later case even loungers. Old furniture has been replaced by new or as good as ‘new’ antique furniture, all the buildings are painted, repaired, renewed and where necessary replaced, outside as well as inside. That doesn’t mean that it’s finished though, ‘Roosje’ is an old historic building with lots of character but that means continued maintenance as well. As for the restaurant, we improved the decoration, put in a new floor, repainted everything but remained the original old world atmosphere. From the menu we took off the cheaper dishes, dishes that can be bought in several places in Swellendam, and kept the really good dishes and added a few of our own. These changes resulted in a more special restaurant with a quieter but cozy atmosphere. To sum everything up Roosje is certainly not a 2 star set up anymore, rather a higher end 3 star place and even though we still don’t have TV and air con, it’s good value for money. Some of our rooms will have TV and air con in the near future, not in all rooms though because that would compromise the old world atmosphere and peacefulness of Roosje van de Kaap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

Phoned just an hour before we arrived in Swellendam exhausted with no place to stay. Arrived to a very warm welcome. I believe the guy's name is Lester who immediately came for our bag from the car, led us through the beautiful gardens to our exquisite room. Cape dutch cottage, nicely furnished with a view of the moon shining upon the mountains from the shower! Lester, showed us where the pool was, with oil lamps placed, glowing around the edge in the dark. A table in the restaurant was booked for an hour later.

The meal was very enjoyable, atmosphere amazing with table outside beneath giant oaks next to fellow diners. Half the menu is take up with pizzas which i thought was odd and a bit of let down and we didn't try them.

Full English b'fast in the same place with beautifully laid tables beneath the oaks, great service and a glas sof muesli, yoghurt, and honey with a small pink rose on top served with coffee while you decide what else you'd like.

Beautiful location and we checked out later th eplace which has 5 stars and claims to be the best B&B in town. Owners at the 5 star felt a bit aloof and self satisofed and the ambience and rooms were FAR superior at Roosje Van de Kaap.

It was one of the highlights of a fantastic holiday

  • Liked — Ambience and extremely welcoming staff
  • Disliked — Pizzas taking up half the menu seemed out of character with the establishment
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

Lovely cottages set in pleasant gardens. The rooms were very quaint, though dimly lit, and contained antique furniture. The restaurant is excellent and renowned as being one of the best on the garden route. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The quaintness
  • Disliked — Lighting too dim
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treborvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing