We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truely great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #16 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truely great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Firstly, great, great value for money. In an expensive town like Swellendam, it was so nice to find accommodation that was both affordable and comfortable as well as being very close to the historic centre of the town. Although the room was quite small, it was more than adequate. One of the cleanest rooms I've stayed in, it was very tastefully furnished and the owners had thought of everything - including beautiful linen! The gardens are sumptuous and the setting is quiet - one is hardly aware that the town centre is so close by. Breakfast was good and the only negative I have is that the dining room was very cold - a fire in the fireplace would have been great! The owners were extremely attentive, offering us coffee, wine, extra heaters, etc. The location is also great because of all the historic buildings in the area, set amongst tree lined streets - makes for beautiful walks. All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreerkBrandsma, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, no need to add anything, except sorry for the fire, normally in the winter time we have fires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    96
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
64
163
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Tourists seem to spend only one night in Swellendam; we were no different, our Friday was our penultimate stop before relinquishing our hire car at Cape Town airport. Swellendam was busy, because the following day (November 26) a crucial annual bicycle road race began.

At Roosje van de Kaap, we were delighted to secure the Honeymoon suite, which has a lovely view of the mountains from its elevated terrace. The hotel was easy to find. We made use of the hotel’s limited but awkward gated parking, but street parking looked widely available and safe.

Our room was spacious, bright and clean, and the bed sumptuous and vast. The en suite is equally appealing. The room itself is odd: entering it appears normal, but the further you go in the more difficult it is to find a sure perspective or - indeed - any right angle. We also thought that the door to the room was insecure.

Our host, who we assume was Freerk, proved an engaging individual. We had a wonderful half hour while he engaged the cyclists in the garden below in a stream of invective. My understanding, from our subsequent conversation, is that the dispute arose because the racers had tried to sneak extra team members into the garden rooms. Freerk also said that we needed to book early for the good value on-site restaurant, when in fact only one other table was occupied. Breakfast was great, and service throughout excellent.

All of the sights of historic Swellendam are within easy walking distance. The curators of the local museums and exhibits were informative and helpful, and the admission charges reasonable. As for Roosje van de Kaap, both it and its owner are quirky and charming, and I would thoroughly recommend it as a pleasant and relaxing stopover.

Room Tip: Very happy with privacy of the secluded honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stopped off for one night at Roosje van de Kapp and on our arrival were delighted to find out that our room had been upgraded as a congratulations gift, as we had got engaged on our trip! We stayed in the Kantoor room, which was a lovely quiet little room in the garden area. We ate in the restaurant that night, which was lovely and very reasonably priced. The cooked breakfast was also nice in the morning. We unfortunately did not spend any time in Swellendam, as we were only stopping over whilst travelling along the garden route, but there seemed to be a lot of restaurants and little shops in Swellendam. It was a lovely flying visit and all the staff were really friendly and accommodating, so would definately recommend it as a stop over destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good food and good place. Roosje are superb! Lovely antique and old historical building which part of Drostdy Museum. Value for money and unforgetable place for relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 236BLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for one night on a stop over between the wine lands & the Garden Route. The lady who runs the guest house was friendly, helpful & pleasant. The breakfast was nice & overall the guest house is good value for money.

I've also read a couple of comments from other reviewers about the owners' children. We found the kids to be quiet, polite & very well-behaved!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRNJ_ADL_AUSTRALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Good stopping off point on the Garden Route. Nice, characterful rooms around a pretty garden. The on site restaurant was very tasty and good value. Friendly service. A special thanks for posting back my one forgotten shoe as well !!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We met old friends at Roosje. The location was great and so were the accommodations. It was close enough so that we could walk and explore Swellendam. Although the restaurant at Roosje was closed for dinner, we were close enough to other restaurants. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view on the mountains is great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouvrou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing