We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place for an overnight stay”
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roosje van de Kaap
Ranked #15 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place for an overnight stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Good stopping off point on the Garden Route. Nice, characterful rooms around a pretty garden. The on site restaurant was very tasty and good value. Friendly service. A special thanks for posting back my one forgotten shoe as well !!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    101
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
75
164
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We met old friends at Roosje. The location was great and so were the accommodations. It was close enough so that we could walk and explore Swellendam. Although the restaurant at Roosje was closed for dinner, we were close enough to other restaurants. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view on the mountains is great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouvrou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The place came recommended by friends, but we were unfortunately the only guests in this small hotel at the time. The owner had decided to leave for a couple of days and the restaurant was closed. The WiFi connection could not bu utilized because the remaining staff did not know what WiFi was and were to find the code.
The hotel is cosy, the garden very nice, but we were unlucky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene_van_Gelderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucebio, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
After having a very busy November month we went away for a couple of days; our working weeks are long (70 hours or more), so we need that once in a while. The beginning of December is quiet, people want to save for Christmas, so the perfect time to go away. Our restaurant will still be open in such periods, the chef cook is perfectly capable of managing it when we are not there and the restaurant staff knows how to handle WIFI. Our restaurant is always closed on Sundays; the day that you visited Roosje, however not all the girls working the rooms know how to handle WIFI. You have to know that outside Cape Town the level of education of most people is quite low and a simple thing as login names and passwords are hard to pass on without mistakes. Having said that, I still want to apologize for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Roosje van de Kaap is a wonderful place to stay in Swellendam! Simple but nice rooms, beautiful and quiet surroundings and a lovely restaurant attached to it. We also find the staff really friendly. Some of the serving staff was new, which was sometimes a bit ackward, but they tried their best to make you feel welcome, which we find most important. The owners are very nice as well. We even got a wine from the house when we arrived. The only advice I could give, also when reading the comments here, is that the owner could spend a bit more time with his customers, for example by making some conversation when having dinner and telling how the South-African life really is or making suggestions for visits along the way when travelling in this section of the country.
I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarloesgoesAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucebio, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your friendly response, we are happy you enjoyed your time. With respect to your remark telling our guests about South Africa and giving travel tips I can tell you that my wife and especially me do that a lot. However it's not possible to be always present, sorry that you (and the person mentioning this below) had bad luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nice rooms and a beautiful garden, right next to the historic Drosdy. The restaurant has realy good meals. Friendly staff and near to nature reserves, like the Bontebokken Parc and De Hoop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed here on a brief stopover in Swellendam whilst driving through the winelands. I decided to pick Swellendam as from the guidebooks it was dubbed "charming" and worth a visit. i therefore selected Roosle Van de Kaap as it had a good price over other places in the the town and we weren't looking for lots of frills.

Everything was fine for how much we were spending, and considering we only wanted a room to sleep in. It was all clean and the bed was comfy. Room was a little pokey - but not everywhere has massive rooms which is understandable - it's an older property.

It was definitely the atmosphere that was weird here though. Maybe it was because it was off season, but the person who met us when we arrived (not the owners - a chef maybe?) didn't seem to know where our allocated room was and so moved us to an apparently better one (i guess you can't complain there). It would have been nice to have been told about any common rooms we could use, and we had no idea about the free wi-fi mentioned by another reviewer here which we would have liked to have made use of. I guess something in the room to tell us about the B&B would be good there? Suffice to say we decided to go find somewhere else to eat as we didn't want to just hang around there that night. To be honest, the whole of Swellendam was a little weird that night so maybe the B&B wasn't to blame...?

Breakfast in the morning was actually very tasty - but again, it felt a bit creepy in the dining room. Dark and dingy considering it was such a nice day outside. Then when we wanted to leave, it took a good 15mins for the owner to come over from the house next door to let us pay, even though he'd been told we were waiting. My husband and i really wanted to get going and found this not very professional.

Overall, it seems fine, and may just have suffered from it being in the off season. Personally we found that it just didn't hit the mark for us at all, and they certainly didn't seem to have quite got it together when we were staying there.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank evlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eucebio, Owner at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Sorry for the fact that you had to wait 15 minutes, our baby boy was born six weeks ago and we have our hands full in the mornings. The chef that was helping you is new and is good but still has a lot to learn. We were probably away the day before since it is off season and the only time in the year to have some time for ourselves. So you're right it's quiet outside the season and a different atmosphere, but I don't think it's weird, it's very pleasantly calm and peaceful and that's not only my opinion, I hear that from quite a lot of guests. Sorry that it couldn't fulfill your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed one night in a nice and romantic Swellendam at rosie,s.
It,s a nice and cosy guesthouse on a wonderful location.
It,s possible toctine here as wel, so we tryed and we weren,t disoppointed.
A simple meal but very tasty and de recommendend wine was exellent.
We tank the owners for the very nice time we had and when we are in town, we definitly dropby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeside Guest House
Braeside Guest House
#17 of 38 in Swellendam
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Property: Roosje van de Kaap
Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing