We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #13 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very comfortable stay at Braeside, Fiona was a lovely host (even despite an error in our booking that cost her some sleep!). The room was very comfortable with nice hot shower and beautiful african ornaments all over the room and hotel. The grounds are very well kept and the home is very quiet, even with several other couples staying there. The pool is very tiny but would be good for a dip i'm sure! Breakfast in the morning was one of the best parts of staying here, it was a buffet of delicious home baked goods and assortment of other foods plus freshly made omelettes and eggs to order. Really fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

We found an older manor-house with a very nice garden in a very quiet part of Swellendam. The room and the bathroom were average. The breakfast took place in a very gentle athmosphere and was one of the best on our whole trip. The house surely has already seen better days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ian, our host was a very friendly and helpfull person. He helped us in finding restaurants and made reservations.
The guesthouse was old (decorated) but fabulous. Drinks (wine) were free and breakfeast was very good! Beautiful garden and great views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hansjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our second visit to Braeside was as enjoyable as the first a few years ago. The host is very friendly and upgraded our room so that we could have some peace and quiet (away from two kids who were also staying there). The house is magnificent and the gardens beautiful. And I can highly recommend the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ronelr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Elegant, spacious, comfortable, airy, everything everyone says. Superlative accommodation even at high-season rates and conveniently close to Swellendam's main sites of historic interest. Feast your eyes on the photos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dododog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The home was lovely, my large room was cool, thanks to the beautiful wide verandas, my bathroom had a wonderful corner tub for soaking, the food couldn't be beat, and Fiona was the best. Loved it all!


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hostess/owner was so very attentive, she showed us around the beautiful house and garden. Accommodation was perfect and the breakfast was THE BEST. To eat this on the superb enlclosed verandah was heaven. If we do visit South Africa again, we will ceratinly stay at Braeside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#16 of 39 in Swellendam
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#18 of 39 in Swellendam
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $79 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing