We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top host and top location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braeside Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #19 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top host and top location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We decided to stop in Swellendam during our honeymoon and after sifting thru all the guest houses we settled on this one. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner Fiona, how lovely is she??! What a host!!! We were in the honeymoon mountain view room, splendid room, old style charm and original fixtures and fittings. The gardens are amazing, the morning view spectacular and the breakfast was to die for! I could go on for hours about this place, if you are looking to go somewhere in Swellendam then STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Mountain view room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    52
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
170
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riversdal, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was blown away with this beautiful property .... and was welcomed as an old friend, even though I did not make a reservation. The grounds were immaculate and Fiona gets the credit for this in no uncertain terms. The rooms was comfortable and clearly the guest's needs have been carefully thought out - Indeed every time I realised that I had forgotten to pack something, lo and behold ... there it was for me to use. I had the most amazing breakfast and Fiona and Jacqui can be well proud of their work. I shall recommend this fantastic place to all that I know who travel through Swellendam.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the main balcony has the most impressive view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
943 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place definitely takes the crown of all the overall nice B&B accommodations on our month-long trip. We had the largest room in the house, which was very spacious, well appointed and decorated - an absolute beauty.

There is a common lounge for the guests to enjoy, again exquisitely furnished and decorated. The hostess Fiona poured us tea upon our arrival and chatted with us about the house, the area and inquired about our trip. The house is set in a beautiful garden and is located close to the town center up on a small incline.

Upon Fiona's suggestion we had a wonderful dinner at the Koornlands Restaurant. Back in the Guest House, we helped ourselves to the complimentary sherry and port - and didn't even manage to touch the complimentary beer in the fridge. Breakfast was a beautiful affair as well, starting with a fruit cocktail with a touch of yoghurt in a martini glass, then moving through cold meats and cheeses, fruits, cereals, juices, bacon and eggs, toast and marmalade, a total delight and must be seen to be believed.

Very highly recommended as the "ultimate B&B".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a gem! Cosy rooms with old world charm, antiques and loads of atmosphere. Friendly and attentive service from lovely Fiona. Breakfast to die for with homemade scones, fresh fruit and a good selection of cheese and meet. One of the highlights on our South african trip, it was a shame we could only stay for one night. We hope to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Braeside has a beautiful garden and excellent views over Swellendam. Our room (Mountain View) was extremely spacious and comfortable. There were lots of extra touches like making us a nice pot of tea on arrival and a few complimentary beers to make us feel welcome, and an excellent breakfast!

Be sure to get there in time to enjoy the view if, like us, you are only staying one night!

Plenty of nice restaurants were within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunboy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a very well run guest house. Fiona takes pride and care in all she does and this makes for a very comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.
Swellendam itself is a quiet sleepy little place with not a lot happening but makes a good stopping off point on the Garden Route.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Fiona is a superb host. We were made feel welcome even before we came as we emailed Fiona for packing advice for the weather! Our stay of 3 nights was lovely. The room was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. There is a small pool, perfect for a refreshing dip on a hot day. Fiona made us feel like we were at home and kindly booked some of the great restaurants Swellendam has to offer. Breakfasts on the veranda are a joy....we've never seen such artistic breakfasts that tasted sublime! We loved our stay with Fiona and would recommend it to families, couples, business travellers and singles alike.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#15 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Property: Braeside Guest House
Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve. Built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs from the garden either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing